Carne Asada and a Cinco de Mayo Roundup

That's a lot of beef

A very important holiday is coming up: Cinco de Mayo. Like most holidays we celebrate in America, it has historical significance. But it’s used mostly as an excuse to eat and drink. (See Thanksgiving, St. Patrick’s Day and my birthday.)

Carne Asada

  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • juice from two limes
  • juice from 1/2 an orange
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 chipotles packed in adobo, rinsed and diced fine
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds, ground semi-fine with mortar and pestle
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp chile powder
  • 1 tbsp Tapatio or other hot sauce
  • 1 pound flank or skirt steak, pounded out very thin

Combine all ingredients for marinade and pour over steak in a nonreactive dish. Refrigerate for 4-24 hours. Grill meat to desired doneness over high heat. Serve on warm tortillas with cilantro, onion or other desired toppings.

Here are some other ideas for Cinco de Mayo.

Grilled Corn Salsa and refried beans

All hail the mighty taco

Blackened Shrimp Tostadas with Emergency Refried Black Beans and guacamole

The secret layer is made of avocado

Mezcal and Lime Chicken

Tequila will work too

Avocado Salad with Drunken Pintos

I like my salad in my taco

Smoked Pork in Verde Sauce

Everybody loves tacos

And how about some sides?

Mexican Slaw

Just whip, whip it good

Saffron Rice

Who put veggies in the starch?

Or toppings….

Pico de Gallo

I prefer regular tortilla chips but the blue ones make a better photo

Burrito Sauce

A little goes a long way

By now, you may be getting a bit thirsty. Tomorrow we’ll have a cocktail roundup fit for the fifth.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Food, Mexican, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Carne Asada and a Cinco de Mayo Roundup

  1. Fantastic round up – I thought I could be strong and resist my nacho chips but that burrito sauce was my definite undoing 😛

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Oh my goodness! I was just thinking of having tacos for dinner tonight and here you are tempting me with so many other Mexican feasts! Great shots!

  3. Kas says:

    Beautiful!!!

  4. A_Boleyn says:

    The link for the burrito sauce goes to the pico de gallo recipe, FYI. A great round up of Mexican recipes. After my own recent binge of Mexican cooking and eating, I thought I could resist, but the shrimp tostadas look SO good, though the sour cream on top seems a little strange in the picture.

    I cheat at making Mexican rice and use a package of Sazon seasoning con Azafran. 🙂

  5. Amy says:

    YUM!! Thanks for sharing. Will definitely try this week. 🙂

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Your shrimp tostadas are every bit as amazing as when I first saw them. Great round-up!

  7. bulldogsturf says:

    YUm YUm YUm that had the mouth watering, not good for those trying to eat less, fantastic.

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    I cant take my eyes out of those tostadas

  9. Charles says:

    “(See Thanksgiving, St. Patrick’s Day and my birthday.)”

    LOL 😀

    Damn, that’s a mighty fine spread – I want to come to your place for cinco de mayo. We don’t celebrate it in this country alas…. we had a bank holiday on the 1st of May, although there is another one on the 11th… I can swing by for leftovers?? Right?

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    What’s not to love about Mexican food? I’m making a special ceviche for Saturday night; it’s only Tuesday and I can’t stop thinking about it!
    That steak marinade sounds seriously delish!
    We don’t officially celebrate Cinco de Mayo in Canada, but on May 21 we have Queen Victoria’s birthday. It’s almost the same, right?

  11. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a terrific feast and making me very hungry!

  12. The blackened shrimp tostados are beautifully yummy looking. This is my favorite of your Cinco de Mayo edible inspirations. I love crunchy yellow corn tortillas!

  13. That is a serious feast – some really delicious ideas. My God, you put some work into your feast days:)

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    Seems like a good plan for me!

  15. Oh, yum. Great roundup!

  16. I want to celebrate if we get to eat all these fantastic dishes!

  17. billpeeler says:

    I used to think Italian was my favorite food – but now I honestly think it’s Mexican. I love it and love everything about it. Any excuse for another margarita . . ..

  18. Courtney says:

    Nice roundup… hoping for a crazy margarita recipe tomorrow…

  19. that mexican slaw and burrito sauce are telling me I must make them for Cinco! Well, at least I know whats on the menu!

  20. nrhatch says:

    I love setting up a burrito/taco bar with beans, veggies, cheese, salsa, etc. OLE!

  21. Your post is making me HUNGRY!!!

  22. I love cinco de mayo and any opportunity to eat mexican!

  23. TasteFood says:

    Love this – thanks for the recipe!

  24. Great roundup and pictures.

  25. SimpleP says:

    Holy guacamole! This is a fantastic round up. Now we just need some high quality Mexican cervezas to polish it off! I’m on it!

    • A_Boleyn says:

      What’s your favourite brand of Mexican beer? I like Tecate but then I’m a lightweight. 🙂 I’m more likely to open a bottle of Jarrito soda … tamarind or mandarin are tasty.

      • SimpleP says:

        Ah, well on a cooler day I’d go for a Negro Modelo, but in the heat of summer, Corona with lime. I’m actually reviewing a fantastic Cocoa Mole Ale from New Belgium Brewing Company. Perfect for Cinco de Mayo!

      • A_Boleyn says:

        I’ve never heard of Negra Modelo so I checked their web site for more info then “The Beer Store” website in town and it’s available locally so I’ll have to pick up a 6 bottle pack for the weekend. Thanks for the recommendation. 🙂

      • SimpleP says:

        Add a little lime and salt around the rim of your glass, like a margarita, but not too much. It’s a darker beer, but still refreshing. Enjoy!

      • A_Boleyn says:

        I enjoy the lighter beers more than the darker ones though recently I resampled Guiness stout and it wasn’t as cloying as I found it 20 yrs ago so I think I’ll enjoy this one. 🙂 I usually sprinkle some salt and a squeeze of lime into my Tecate as well so enjoying the Negra Modelo like that won’t be strange.

  26. niasunset says:

    Oh My God! I can eat all of them… Thank you dear Rufus, wonderful recipes and amazing photographs… with my love, nia

  27. Those blackened shrimp tostados are calling my name, I swear. I must heed the call of the shrimp…

  28. Heh, I forget sometimes that you’re really a San Deigo boy…A butcher I used to work with made Carne Asada (another SD guy) and I loved it. Dave took the recipe with him, and I haven’t had it in years…Gonna do this over the weekend!

  29. zestybeandog says:

    Awesome line up! I wanna come to your party! I’ll bring the tequila 😉

  30. I just ate lunch but this is making me hungry! I just love all of these flavors. 🙂

  31. egg me on says:

    I love the American tradition of holidays based around eating and drinking. What better way to celebrate (or commiserate)? The carne asada looks awesome. I also totally forgot about the Blackened Shrimp Tostado Tower of Wonder! Great stuff.

  32. Ay. Dios. Mío. This round-up is getting me wound-up!!! I am inspired!

  33. Kristy says:

    I’ll take a little bit of each of these please! Or should I say por favor. 🙂

  34. Thanks for showcasing those shrimp tostado s again. These would be a huge hit in my house. Also a great photo for a cookbook! So when is that coming out?

  35. So many great recipes to choose from and they all look delicious.

  36. Karen says:

    A great roundup and whatever you end up cooking will be terrific I’m sure.

  37. Any excuse to eat Mexican food is good enough for me. These all look fantastic – how did I miss this roundup?!

  38. Amber says:

    Your carne asada and the recipes in your round-up all look fantastic! For us, Cinco de Mayo was an excuse to cook Mexican-themed food. I prepared guacamole (which was a meal for just the two of us!) and spicy chicken enchiladas the next day.

  39. I know you two have been blogging for some time and have lots of recipes for round-ups, but, seriously, I could be blogging for 10 years and not have recipes as cool as these ones! You’re really top-notch! I’m going to start trying some of these.. mostly because I will now be thinking about them constantly. xo Smidge

  40. Pingback: Carne Asada « annashortcakes

  41. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fiesta Time | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  42. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Ole! | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.