Sunday Suppers: Fiesta Time

We never get tired of tacos! So welcome to our Sunday Supper taco bar.

Pick a meat:

Mezcal and Lime Chicken

For those folks with a more gentile constitution, there are brands of mezcal without a scorpion in the bottle.

Carne Asada

That’s a lot of beef

Blackened Shrimp

The secret layer is made of avocado

Pick a side:

Spicy Black Beans

Yes that taco is garnished with extra slices of avocado

Mexican Slaw

Just whip, whip it good

Saffron Rice

Who put veggies in the starch?

Refried Beans

That is how I check to see if they are done

Pick your poison:

Sangritas

Taco night is alright with me

Blood Orange Margaritas

It can also be blended

Mezcal Mules

Yes Virginia that is a scorpion in the bottle

And don’t forget the guac!

Really, it’s healthy, I mean they are fruit.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Mexican, Recipes, Sides, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Fiesta Time

  1. I’ll have two of the blackened shrimp, black beans and a side of guaca please sir.
    What time shall I come over?… I can bring a bottle of Australian wine?

  2. Oh my goodness, that ALL looks amazingly delicious! Yes, please pass me a plate.. 🙂

  3. peasepudding says:

    Now look at that, we have both gone Mexican this weekend on our posts! I’m going to try those blackened prawns with my next lot of tacos.

  4. I want one of everything please — including the drinks 🙂

  5. Carolyn Chan says:

    Your salsa you posted the other day would be great in a taco!

  6. Mad Dog says:

    I like the idea of taco Sunday 😉

  7. Andrea says:

    Love fiesta day! Everything looks amazing!

  8. nrhatch says:

    Fiesta . . . then Siesta! 😎

  9. What a great collection — love those red dishes you use for taco night. 😉

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    We have one of those bottles of tequila with a worm! Don’t think I’ll try it though!
    We had Mexican at our favourite Mexicsn place on Friday night…yum! But it wouldn’t stand a chance against this dish and the wonderful colourful cocktails. Happy Canadian Thanksgiving to you!

  11. Wow.. all of these great recipes in one spot. Which to choose!! I’d better start with a drink;)

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    This really is a feast! I’ve never tried to cook carne asada but that looks like one great dish. And any post that includes a DEVO reference is all right in my book.

  13. The color of your blackened shrimp is simply outstanding.

  14. sallybr says:

    You guys know how to have some serious fun! 🙂

    Great collection of tempting dishes… I am game!

  15. Rachel says:

    You coulda called… I’d a brought the chips! Mmmmm… 🙂 And taht slaw is beeeeeauuutiful!

  16. Be there in an hour – is there any left?

  17. Kimby says:

    Love your idea of a taco bar! Honestly, I didn’t realize Mezcal had a scorpion in it. (!) (I get enough of those in my house without it, ha!) But, I’d be glad to take some of that blackened shrimp and saffron rice and guacamole off your hands… 🙂

  18. Ole! Great weekend inspiration!

  19. egg me on says:

    Muy bueno! What a great fiesta!

  20. Amanda says:

    Oooh thanks for the ideas! My boyfriend and I always fall in the same routine when you do mexican nights, gotta try some of these!

  21. Lovely roundup! Love these fiesta themed flavors!

  22. So sorry I couldn’t make it-you know we could have done a few shots! It all looks fantastic!

  23. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Game Day’s Approaching Part Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Dave says:

    It all looks good, but I’m particularly tempted by the blackened shrimp tostadas. Thanks for the roundup!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.