Grilled Corn

I like my corn as yellow as a brick road

This is a great way to cook corn on the cob. The husk traps the heat and steams the kernels and the fire gives a nice smoke as well. The corn can also be cut from the cob after cooking to make a number of salads and salsas.

To make the herb butter bring one stick to room temperature add whatever spices sound good and mix with a fork. Any leftover butter can be used as a condiment or wrapped in plastic and kept in the fridge for another day.

The start

Start by removing the tough outer leaves until the stem is visible. Break off the stem at the base.

Like a pretty flower

Peel down the leaves as far as possible without removing them from the cob. Work around the ear of corn unwrapping each layer one at a time.

If only you could make clothes from this silk

Once all the wrappers are pulled down remove and discard all the corn silk.

That is a small amount of butter according to the French

Rub a generous portion of herb butter into the ear of corn. I like a mixture of cilantro or rosemary with salt, pepper, but the sky is the limit.

Wrap wrap wrap wrap it up baby

Carefully wrap the leaves back up. Try to get the layers back as evenly and tightly as originally on the cob.

Ready for their close up

Cook over a medium bed of coals turning every couple of minutes until cooked and leaves have charred. Depending on  how hot your fire is it should take about 10 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, How to, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Grilled Corn

  1. Ooooh, I will be putting this to good use, very, very soon!

  2. ChefMom says:

    Perfection. I love grilled corn, but we’ve always done it up in foil. I have a few leftovers from today that I think we’ll try this way! It looks yummy. Glad you posted the pics of the “how to” as well. That was helpful. 🙂

  3. I will trade you those two gorgeous cobs for two mint juleps! Oh how I love grilled corn. Well executed 😉

  4. fatisrecipes says:

    This is such a smart way to grill corn without it turning black! But I sadly love burnt food… so I wouldn’t make it for me personally, but I think the rest of the family would love it!
    Looks great. 😀 Thanks.

  5. Grilled corn is my FAVORITE! Yes, I just shouted with excitement. I love your comment about the French. I always use a butter, lime, chili powder and cilantro rub for my grilled corn. In Arizona men would ride around on bicycles with little carts filled with fruit and grilled corn and they would sprinkle Lucas on them and sell them; it’s like Arizona’s version of a street vendor. I guess they were my flavor inspiration.

  6. I just love the first picture!
    Grilled corn is one of my favorite things that I never attempted..can I make this in the oven? under the broiler maybe?

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    I never had grilled corn like this we usually remove the husk then grill it. But doing it your way makes more sense specially when you flavour it with butter. Will be doing it this way the next time.

  8. I cannot wait to try this!

  9. Yum, yum, yum! We grow corn here but it won´t be ready until late summer. I love this way of cooking them, delicious little parcels of buttery flavour. You´ve started a craving and I won´t be able to satisfy it for some time yet. How frustrating! Loved the step by step photos, corn is so pretty too!

  10. Like everybody else, I love grilled corn and how ingenious to butter them with herbed butter and wrap them up again in their own husks! Great step by step photos.
    🙂 Mandy

  11. Ginger says:

    These cobs look fantastic! Very festive and tasty I’m sure! Thanks for all of your wonderful cook out recipes!

  12. Maureen says:

    My family always cooked corn like this on our annual Memorial Day picnic at the shore in Maine. Just looking at those fantastic photos brought back wonderful memories of Boothbay Harbor. 🙂

  13. Colline says:

    Looks good! Unfortunately we do not have a grill 😦

  14. jenlenew says:

    we made grilled corn to go with our lobster last night! never thought of buttering it first though!

  15. Liz says:

    Looks delicious.

  16. lindalyell says:

    So beautifully illustrated! I now want corn for breakfast!

  17. Your pictures of this corn looks delicious. I’ve always thrown away the husks and never knew I could grill corn that way. A definite must try recipe for me this summer. Thanks!

  18. I absolutely adore corn on the grill and your butter and herb spread looks like it sends it over the top to crazy place. Thanks for the “how-to” and the great photos. I always question whether to leave on or off the husks (then i would wrap them in foil).

  19. Bethea says:

    This looks great! I love grilled corn but never have used this method. We just got a new grill for the summer (a great one that can do charcoal or gas and also has a burner on the side) so I’ll have to pass this recipe on to my dad to try.

  20. JamieAnne says:

    I love, love, love grilled corn.

  21. Wow and wow. That looks SO good. I love your idea of cutting it off the Cobb for salsa or other dishes too. 🙂

  22. eva626 says:

    we had corn like two days ago…but it wasnt anything fancy…no sauce or add ons..just plain old corn on the cob grilled to perfection..i have to try this recipe…cant wait to taste something different

  23. I LOVE grilled corn! I tried a recipe a few years back that you actually used…ummmm, I have to say it quietly….**mayo**….sorry…had to say the “m” word…it was actually quite good! 🙂

  24. Rachel says:

    Great idea and great photos! Corn is not usually good eats in my part of TX but this might make it acceptable… Thanks!!

  25. That herb butter looks sinful. I may have to grill up some corn this way next to my Home Run Inn pizza that’s grilling!

  26. joshuafagans says:

    Very interesting! I usually put the butter on after grilling but this looks like something to try and I happened to get some corn this morning for tomorrow’s festivities.

  27. midaevalmaiden says:

    Corn still isnt in season in yet, but I cant wait. This is my favorite method for it. I like to mix parmesan cheese into the butter. Great photos.

  28. Mama J says:

    Cilantro in the butter- fantastic!

  29. Charles says:

    Mmm, I love corn on the cob, and this looks like a great way of grilling it but still keeping it succulent. Too bad I have neither an outdoor grilling facility, nor a supply of delicious, tasty corn-cobs (the ones I buy around here seem to be as tough as old boots 😦 )

  30. SimpleP says:

    I’ll be this recipe will be divine on some good Maryland Silver Queen corn. Can’t wait to try it!

  31. Yuri says:

    Just yesterday we were grilling corn. Wish I had seen this post on Saturday!

  32. I like your step by step photo’s on how to grill with the husks. I’m totally a visual person when it comes to following recipes.

  33. Kas says:

    This right here is the PERFECT corn-on-the-cob!!

  34. I love making grilled corn- I usually soak the whole corn/husks in water for ten minutes and grill them plain, I find they don’t *need* butter , salt or anything . But this sounds like something delicious to try, since I have a booming herb garden! Can’t resist. 🙂

  35. Pingback: Memorial Day party with good friends | joshuafagans

  36. ChefMom says:

    Makin’ this for lunch today!

  37. Love the windy rows of corn kernels – looks like the yellow brick road. Grilled corn is a summer staple around here. Looks fantastic!

  38. Pingback: Grilled Crab Cakes with Lemon Aioli « the domestic epicurean

  39. Pingback: This post is kinda all over the place and I can’t pull it all together in a short and witty title…. | Ginger Couturier: Trapped in Suburbia

  40. Mmmm. Great pictures, great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  41. niasunset says:

    Seems so delicious, I take a note, for to try this one! We love corn but I haven’t known to cook like that. Thank you, Rufus,
    Greetings and Love,
    nia

  42. ericascime says:

    This is just what I plan to do as soon as I get my first batch of fresh, local corn on the cob! I have never had grilled corn on the cob but it looks amazing. And so do the photos!

  43. Kelley says:

    Perfect summer post!

  44. spree says:

    My mouth is watering! And I haven’t even had breakfast yet! Will try for sure. And loved your yellow-brick-road photo!

  45. Congratulations on being featured on food press 🙂

  46. I am such a fan of corn on the cob, and this looks so great! The herb butter rub sounds delicious! I’m going to have to try this right away!

  47. This looks AMAZING. Can’t wait to try it!

  48. Pingback: Steak with Grilled Corn Salad & Steamed Potatoes | strivefortone

  49. We couldn’t help but comment–this looks so good. I guess it just goes to show that simple recipes make the best recipes. We’ll be sure to try this out!

  50. Pingback: BBQ babyback ribs and an Independence Day preview | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  51. Nice touch with the herbed butter…
    Congrats on being featured!

  52. Pingback: Great Food and Inspiration…A Blog To Visit | Just Ramblin'

  53. Pingback: Grilled Corn with Feta | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  54. Martha says:

    DElicious! I’ll have to try this!

  55. Pingback: Lazy Sunday: Fourth of July Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  56. Pingback: Grilled Corn with Herbed Butter « annashortcakes

  57. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Kid-Friendly Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  58. Pingback: Grilled Corn Stew | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  59. Pingback: Grilled Vegetable Red Cabbage Slaw | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  60. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fantastic Fourth | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  61. Pingback: This post is kinda all over the place and I can’t pull it all together in a short and witty title…. | Ginger Couturier

  62. Pingback: A Colorful Array of Sides for Labor Day | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.