Lemon bars worth driving to Pasadena for

They are like pie on a cookie

Tangy, rich, creamy. Lemon bars combine so many succulent traits, it’s hard to know where to start. (A good crust helps.) We’ve seen a number of recipes recently, but making lemon bars kept getting pushed farther down on our to-do list. Until, my wife saw a letter in the LA Times from a reader looking for the lemon bar recipe from the Euro Pane bakery in Pasadena. The reader loved them so much she’d call ahead to make sure they put some aside from her. Apparently they were popular with other diners too. The LA Times responded with the recipe. Eight eggs, two sticks of butter more than a cup of lemon juice. We had a winner. Our only change, we added a bit of lemon zest. Also, we needed to cook the bars a little longer than 40 minutes. You don’t really have to drive to Pasadena, just click here.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Lemon bars worth driving to Pasadena for

  1. JamieAnne says:

    I LOVE LEMON BARS!!! oops I was yelling. Love em. Great post

  2. wow. look at all that lemon-y goodness!
    question: did you use a citrus juicer to squeeze the fresh lemon juice?

  3. The Writer says:

    Looks wonderful! Thanks for the recipe link. If you do ever find yourself in Pasadena, Europane also has lovely macarons!

  4. Mmmm, these look delicious!

  5. yagerbabies says:

    I just HAD to subscribe! Lemon bars….drooling……I kept scrolling and my eyes hung out of my head and my mouth watered! How have I not been checking out all this delicious food! GREAT blog!!! 😀 I am a fan!

  6. pcadams says:

    Rufus, here’s the recipe I use. Similar, I think.

    http://www.floras-hideout.com/recipes/recipes.php?page=recipes&data=h-l/Lemon_Curd_Bars_Cockaigne

    Very similar. The secret, of course, is plenty of freshly squeezed lemon juice. I always use extra zest. If you don’t pucker just a little with every bite, it’s not right!

  7. Yuri says:

    I love tangy-sweet desserts! Great photo 😀

  8. ChefMom says:

    I know what we’ll be making soon. I’ve been on a lemon kick lately too. Yummy!

  9. spicegirlfla says:

    So pretty for spring! I’ve made Ina’s lemon bars in the past but I’m definitely going to try this one out as I cannot get to Pasadena anytime soon!

  10. Alison says:

    I know what I will be making as soon as I can get my hands on some lemons! Thank you for this! They look and sound perfect. You rock! 🙂

  11. Sara says:

    I have not had these in so long, I think even an mediocre recipe would make me happy. But I will hopefully be making this very soon. I have a lot of lemons (though probably only enough to make half this recipe) and I’m afraid some of them are starting to go past their prime (another reason they are probably past their prime!).

    I saw a neat trick for extracting more juice from lemons, by the way: boil them for 2 minutes, cool, and juice.

  12. I have no idea why I haven’t tried a lemon bar before.. And I love lemons. This really looks delicious though. Nice job guys 🙂

  13. Mm, those look so good! I love lemon bars, they are the perfect summer dessert. Or dinner.

  14. Caroline says:

    You’re really making me crave something sweet right now, especially since lemon bars are one of my all-time favorite desserts. These look fantastic!!

  15. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  16. eva626 says:

    my sister used to make lemon bars all the time…they were so refreshing, yummy and tart!

    how many lemon bars were you able to eat in one sitting??..the zing gets to me after the second piece.

  17. maureen says:

    if I could just eat these all day and never gain weight…
    one of most favorite delights….
    maureen

  18. Korena says:

    Oh YUM. I love a good lemon bar. I will definitely be trying these.

  19. The Little Spork says:

    My mouth is watering looking at these. I love lemon bars and I can’t wait to try these!

  20. These look ridiculously good!! I am a huge fan of lemon bars. I usually don’t like lemon-flavored sweets but these are an exception.

  21. Leona says:

    I discovered the Ina Garten recipe for lemon bars through Smitten Kitchen last year, and they were amazing. This recipe also sounds amazing – it might be even better. I’m looking forward to trying it sometime. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  22. ChefMom says:

    We made these tonight and are taking them to an event tomorrow night. Thanks for the recipe. Delicious!!!

  23. I just love lemon bars..a new wonderful recipe to add to my must try!

  24. Jen says:

    These look fantastic! Too many lemon bar recipes skimp on the filling part — in fact, I usually double the filling of the recipe I use, and it turns out very close to this. It’s a lot of eggs and a lot of lemons, but man, it’s good!

  25. Pingback: Our Take on Minnesota Bars | Eat, Play, Love

  26. Jessica says:

    Yum!! I’ve always loved lemon bars, but don’t think I’ve actually ever made them. These look fantastic!

  27. Pingback: The only Fig Tart recipe you’ll need | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  28. Pingback: Seven Links (and then some) Challenge | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  29. Pingback: Lemon bars « Chef in disguise

  30. Pingback: keep coming back. [lemon bars] «

  31. Pingback: Lazy Sunday: Fourth of July Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  32. Pingback: King of Sour « Eat, Play, Love

  33. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Hit the Deck | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  34. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Easter’s Coming | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  35. Pingback: Half Baked | Eat, Play, Love

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.