Sunday Suppers: Hit the Deck

Let’s take this week’s meal outside. Screened in porches are all the rage down here and a recent trip to our local home-improvement store demonstrated that outdoor furniture costs more than some indoor furniture these days. Fire up the bug zapper.

Asian Honey Chicken Wings

Taste the flavors of the orient

Taste the flavors of the orient

Pasta Salad with Feta and Red Pepper

Olives are good too

Olives are good too

Marinated Eggplant

Really good, but I can only eat about 2 1/2 slices at a time

Really good, but I can only eat about 2 1/2 slices at a time

Chickpea Salad

Guess who my favorite working comic is at the moment

Guess who my favorite working comic is at the moment

Euro Pane’s Lemon Squares

They are like pie on a cookie

They are like pie on a cookie

Strawberry Lemonade

A little rum never hurt either

A little rum never hurt either

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Hit the Deck

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    Having seen snow flurries this morning, we’re still far from outdoor, or even porch, dining. That’s OK. The dinner you’ve assembled for this Sunday will be very bit as good indoors as out. Thank, Greg.

  2. Getting closer to dragging out the lawn furniture….gonna do that chickpea salad soon!

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    A beautiful round up. A few years ago we built our cocktail deck and I wanted a sectional but as you mentioned they were crazy expensive so I found an amazing plan on line for a wood version (fashioned after the one at West Elm) and JT made it for me. Mind you we spent nearly $500 on the cushions!

  4. windykitchen says:

    Mmm, great collection!

  5. Oooh, those chicken wings look appealing, even at 6am in the morning! 🙂

  6. It is “dining al fresco” here in the South again! Love this time of year getting the outdoors ready for living. Cleaning the deck, the furniture, sprucing up everything. It is rather amazing how expensive good looking outdoor furniture is isn’t it?

  7. Tammy says:

    Wow! Those look good. My husband is on his way to your place for wings!

  8. I like how bright your chickpea salad looks!

  9. Kristy says:

    I think I need to eat each one of these!

  10. Yes please – lemon squares ! Love your description. Also I was worried about the lemonade until I saw you mentioned adding rum! That’s the Greg I know…:-)

Leave a Reply

