Fried Baloney Sandwiches with Pimento and Egg

The hot sauce can go on the sandwich as well

The hot sauce can go on the sandwich as well

By Katherine

Here’s a little breakfast beauty I made for Greg recently. We used some flax seed bread he made because it was on hand, but sourdough or a light wheat would work well too.

Fried Baloney Sandwiches with Pimento and Egg

  • 1-2 slices of baloney per sandwich
  • 2 thick slices of bread
  • 2 tbsp pimento cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp butter

Set a griddle over medium heat and grease with the butter. Spread each slice of bread with pimento cheese and set over the heat (cheese side up). On the other side of the griddle, fry baloney slices until they begin to brown, about two minutes a side. Place the baloney on top of the cheese. If your sandwiches are getting too browned take them off the heat while you fry your egg. Crack egg on the griddle and cover with a pot lid with just a tad bit of water to steam the egg. Leave it alone for about two minutes. Remove lid and use a spatula to flip egg to allow the other side to cook. The yolk should still be runny. Place the egg between two cheesy bread slices. Serve with hot sauce if desired.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fried Baloney Sandwiches with Pimento and Egg

  1. Angeline M says:

    I just finished cleaning up the kitchen after dinner, and this makes me hungry!

  2. Misky says:

    Gosh, that looks good, but how do you eat this without the yolk running down your arm?

    >

  3. Raymund says:

    Now I want this for breakfast

  4. Gerlinde says:

    That looks really good, I love to have that for breakfast.

  5. This is so country! I was thinking about a fried baloney sandwich the other day πŸ™‚

  6. Oh my. Deeply love this. I’m out of everything but this is worthy of still another trip to the store. I wish I could post the sign I instagrammed at Hardee’s in Greensboro NC on Wednesday. It read:

    Bologna and Velveeta Biscuit. 2 for $3.50

    We pulled right in and my husband rushed to the counter (I hate to wait in drive thru lines) but came back out with sadface. Breakfast only, 6 to 11 a.m. This is right on time for me.

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m not a fan of baloney yet this looks delicious to me! This spreadable pimento cheese sounds interesting, we don’t have it up here.

  8. Cecile says:

    I’m the only one who eats fried baloney ….of all my friends and family….. unless some of them are ‘sneak-eating’ fried baloney. We don’t have pimento cheese up here in New England but, luckily, it’s easy enough to make. I bet Greg was one Happy Camper!!

  9. Pimento cheese makes everything better! Love this combo with an egg. Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

