Gingerbread biscotti

If only Lincoln logs tasted this good

What’s in your cookie jar?

Gingerbread Biscotti

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose white flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar, plus one tablespoon
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp all spice

Preheat oven to 375 and line a baking sheet with parchment. Mix flour, sugars, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Use a fork or your fingers to break up any clumps of brown sugar. Make well in the center and add eggs, molasses and spices. Stir until incorporated. This is a bit wetter than some biscotti, but don’t worry. Drop dough onto prepared baking sheet into two even logs. Dust with tablespoon of sugar. Bake until crisp around the edges and firm throughout, about 20 minutes. Remove from oven and reduce temperature to 325. Allow logs to cool, then cut into diagonals to your desired thickness. Place the cookies back on the baking sheet. Stand them up to brown both sides evenly, about 10 minutes. (We used to bake them flat and flip them to brown each side, but Linda over at Savoring Every Bite always toasts hers this way to save time. Thanks, Linda!

A note: If you have more of a sweet tooth, you can increase the white sugar, even double it. We tend to cut sugar in our recipes, when possible.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Gingerbread biscotti

  1. Kristy says:

    LOL! If Lincoln logs tasted this good. Oh, the dozens of places that sent my mind within the span of about 2 seconds! 🙂 You crack me up! These do look delicious and a darn sight more tasty than Lincoln logs, and most other biscotti for that matter. (Excepting Linda’s of course!) Perhaps I can just get the two of you to fill a cookie jar for me. I mean how fun is the thought of a cookie jar. I need to get one of those.

  2. I like most things with molasses and ginger in them, so I’ll probably like these biscotti. I’ll put almonds in them though to create a contrast to the sweetness.

  3. peasepudding says:

    What a great idea, gingerbread biscotti, would go lovely with my rhubarb ice cream!

  4. rsmacaalay says:

    I love biscotti specially with a cup of fresh coffee, mmmmm.

  5. YES PLEASE!
    Awesome recipe – hmm, I don’t have any molasses on hand and want to make these NOW! I am sure syrup will work even though the flavour will be a bit different. Will report back ASAP.
    Have a happy day.
    🙂 Mandy

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    I love gingerbread so this recipe sound scrumptious. Our Neighbour Luisa always bakes us biscotti every Christmas, it’s such a lovely treat!

  7. Ooooh, I can almost SMELL them…is there anything that says ‘fall’ better than the scent of gingerbread?

  8. rutheh says:

    These are on the MUST MAKE list now! Bet they smell divine.

  9. Wonderful – can imagine hwo good they smell. And love the tip about toasting them!

  10. Mmmmmmmmmm….. these look goooood
    Glad you mentioned the sugar part 🙂 I don’t have the tendency to do that at all! 😛

  11. easybaked says:

    YUM!!!!!!!! I laughed at the sugar part — I was thinking these would be awesome dipped in a powdered sugar glaze– my tendency is ADD sugar whenever possible– wait until you see my recipes this week– using up Halloween candy in desserts– sugar plus sugar covered in crushed up sugar. In any case- these would be a perfect Christmas morning treat with our coffee– saving this recipe to my files- thanks!!!! 🙂

  12. Dog treats are in my cookie jar, but Grace would probably enjoy these, too! These look wonderful, but honestly, I feel like I say that for everything you post. This is another one I’m likely to try!

  13. Ritchey’s biscotti jar is empty – and he will love these! How do you manage so many great recipes! Thanks for all of them!

  14. D’oh! I had vowed to not make cookies again till the weekend, but you just reminded me of my ever-present desire to make biscotti. Gah!

  15. spicegirlfla says:

    Oooh…. a new recipe for my biscotti jar!!! Gingerbread is my love for the holidays!! I like your Lincoln Logs look! I seem to always have a hard time taking good pics of them!

  16. This is going to be in my cookie jar this week! And then I’m going to snack on it with a cup of your hot cider with a kick! 🙂

  17. nrhatch says:

    They look great . . . I’ll have mine dipped in chocolate. 😉

  18. No way! Did you really just say gingerbread biscotti- how cool is that. Never thought to do it but what a fantastic idea. To be able to dip your gingerbread cookie into your latte or hot chocolate at the end of the day or beginning (who is paying attention anyway) is mouth-watering! I love it

  19. egg me on says:

    Gingerbread already?! It’s barely Halloween and you guys have gone straight to Christmas! Haha, just kidding. This sounds great.

  20. zestybeandog says:

    Love gingerbread anything, and love and appreciate the sugar cut, I do the same and prefer the taste. 🙂

  21. I prefer to cut sugar as well. I had always preferred salty to sweet until I attended culinary school, where we made and consumed a French dessert every day. Now sugar is almost like nicotine for me. If I have sugar, my body physically craves more. This can be challenging since I bake so often, but I manage to give most of my desserts away after a taste. It’s a little bit scary! I like biscotti because they’re usually not too sweet.

  22. Kristen says:

    Just a few a of my favorite things combined into one pretty package! Love it!

  23. These look delicious and make me want so chai tea with them for dunking!

  24. What’s in my cookie jar? These biscotti, as soon as you two send them my way. 😉

  25. ChgoJohn says:

    I don’t have a cookie jar but, if I did, there’d always be room for these beauties. So many biscotti; so little time.

  26. JamieAnne says:

    Yum! Love gingerbread.

  27. Courtney says:

    I have always wanted to make homemade biscotti – and my kids love gingerbread… do you think we can shape them into little men to dip? 😉

  28. Charles says:

    Ok, now I need to look up lincoln logs :p I have molasses (or at least, the European equivalent of) and all the stuffs I need… yay, I can actually make my first ever biscotti 😀 Favourited this – will come back to give it a whirl soon!

  29. eva626 says:

    that pic reminds me of the game JANGA! lol. ofcours my tower only made it as high as the second story

  30. Holly says:

    What are Lincoln logs then?
    These look awesome. The baking instructions are confusing me a little [as is the usual cup notation] but I’m thinking I may bake these on the weekend…

  31. Yum! I bet it’s good with espresso, but I think I’d like it as an evening treat with my decaf chai tea.

  32. You are already rounding the curve to the winter holidays I see…I like your style! 🙂 These gingerbread biscotti look heavenly and perfect for a holiday cookie tray. I have been out of town with very little connection to electronics…it felt weird and I have a lot of posts to catch up on!

  33. TasteFood says:

    In answer to your question: THOSE will be in my cookie jar – very shortly.

  34. ceciliag says:

    I have just got my sorghum delivery, so maybe I shall use that instead of molasses, I don’t like them too sweet either.. i am in love with all things biscotti.. c

  35. k.m. says:

    I loved Lincoln logs as a kid! I bet I will like these just as much 🙂

  36. Caroline says:

    Nothing is in mine. :’-( I really wish these were though. Ohhh, Lincoln logs. Pretty positive we still have them in storage. Happy Halloween! x

  37. nancyc says:

    Yum–gingerbread biscotti sounds really good! Perfect for the holiday season!

  38. Stef says:

    I love the way you stack them in your picture. And I’m with you – I tend to cut the sugar in recipes, too. Usually I find less really IS more. 😉

  39. These would make for a great afternoon pick~me~up with a great cup of coffee. : ) Yum!

  40. Kelly says:

    very cool method – how do you get the biscuits to stand up though? (I always lay them flat as well and flip). I’m trying to imagine them standing but can’t somehow…. I guess the edges of the logs would have to be really flat (mine are a bit rounded maybe that’s why I can’t picture it). Love this ginger version; great spices.

  41. Now espresso or a little sweet dessert wine for dunking?…

  42. Sissi says:

    Your gingerbread biscotti look gorgeous. I also cut down sugar in most recipes. Not even for health reasons.

  43. More biscotti to drool over!! I can tell this is something you have down to a fine art… I admire it muchly!

  44. niasunset says:

    Sounds so delicious dear Rufus, I love biscotties… Molasses, is it grape mollasses… or raw sugar? I noted again one of your recipes 🙂 Thank you, with my love, nia

  45. I have ADD now with all these wonderful dessert recipes, not sure what to bake for upcoming holiday! Reading your dessert recipes, Geni’s recipes and Linda’s recipes, I’m going crazy wishing I could bake them all and now I gotta add this recipe to my list! LOL

  46. Yuri says:

    I think I’m going to bake these for a gingerbread loving friend 🙂

  47. Carolyn Chan says:

    Would be great with a big mug of tea.

  48. Brown sugar, molasses and spices makes anything good. Wish I had some with my coffee right now.

  49. Karen says:

    Wish I had one of those with my tea right now.

  50. Rufus these look AMAZING! I am a big gingerbread fan and biscotti has always been a favorite too…can’t wait to try.

  51. Sally says:

    Love ginger and have never had this flavour in biscotti – bookmarking now.

  52. i wish i had these gingerbread biscotti in my cookie jar!

  53. Jessica says:

    Ohh, good biscotti baking tip! These look and sound great.

  54. Pingback: Gingerbread Biscotti « The Complete Cook Book

  55. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  56. I like making AND eating Biscotti and the thought of you reducing the sugar is wonderful for those who want to be bad but still be good! Can you hand me a piece to go with my coffee right now???!!! Thank you! Vicky D

  57. Pingback: Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti « homemadeadventure

  58. Pingback: Pumpkin Dip | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  59. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: More Biscotti for Santa | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  60. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: Hot Cider with Rye | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.