Pumpkin Dip

That cookie needs to cool off so it went for a dip

One of Katherine’s sisters has made pumpkin dip for years. We love the recipe, which calls for pumpkin puree, brown sugar, cream cheese and cinnamon. But we wanted to cut back on the sugar. (The original recipe calls for a cup.) Also, we prefer mascarpone to cream cheese, too bad the prices aren’t reversed.

Serve this withΒ gingerbread biscotti, cinnamon crostinis or whatever floats your boat. We used the gingersnap recipe from our tried and true Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.

Pumpkin Dip

  • 1 15-ounce can of pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 8 ounces mascarpone
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • pinch cloves
  • pinch nutmeg

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Blend using a hand mixer until combined. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Pumpkin Dip

  1. Lauren says:

    Ohhhh, that looks like a match made in heaven.

  2. rutheh says:

    Perfection! Again. Always.

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    That dip sounds so decadent. If I ever want to put on some weight, I’ll team my own gingersnaps with it. Until then, it’s just tea or a big glass of cold milk. πŸ™‚

    Speaking of the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, I make their walnut crescent cookies and want to try their spritz cookies this year. Have you ever made spritz cookies?

    • No, but we’ll have to try. We don’t make too many desserts, but do make more over the holidays.

      • A_Boleyn says:

        I think I’m looking for an excuse to make cookies these days. Then I have to find a good home for them because if they sit around here I’ll get bored and start munching until they’re all gone. If I was working, I could take them in with me to the staff room and let others put on the pounds. πŸ™‚

  4. sallybr says:

    INdeed, a match made in heaven… I’ve never had pumpkin dip, and now I’m craving it! πŸ˜‰

  5. Kristy says:

    Those are some of my favorite cookies. Never thought to dip them. That could be really dangerous.

  6. I’ve never seen a dip for a cookie.. how perfect is that match!

  7. Carolyn Chan says:

    The picture threw me off – dipping a cookie ? Then I read the post and it would work really well ! Genius !

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    A dip for cookies. I love how you guys think!

  9. Maybe you can put the dip in-between 2 cookies kind of like a sandwich. The cookies look really chewy. Sounds delicious.

  10. Ooh that sounds good – never think of making sweet dips!

  11. Karen says:

    I’ve never had pumpkin dip but I bet it is a real crowd pleaser. I like that yours isn’t as sweet.

  12. Mmm! I haven’t seen sweet pumpkin dips before πŸ™‚ looks great! Bookmarked! πŸ˜€

  13. Eva Taylor says:

    Now that’s decadent, a cookie dip. I love ginger snaps and will be posting a gorgeous recipe in a day or so. It’s just that time of year.

  14. nancyc says:

    Yum! Both the dip and the cookies look great!

  15. Pumpkin dip? Interesting concept!

  16. Pingback: Pumpkin Muffins | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. rsmacaalay says:

    It looks like a pumpkin peanut butter, love this. I think this will go well with toast

  18. What a perfect combination of flavors. This would be my ideal fall snack.

  19. peasepudding says:

    nice idea, it would be great to sandwich 2 biscuits together too!

  20. egg me on says:

    Holy crap! Why didn’t I know this dip existed until right now?! I NEED to make it. And EAT it. Right NOW.

  21. Pingback: All Pumpkin, All the Time | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: Our Favorite Pumpkin Recipes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

