Grilled Pineapple Salsa

One more scoop should do it

This is a simple salsa that develops a more complex flavor with the grilling of the pineapple. Make sure to leave the rind on while grilling so the pineapple does not fall apart. A fresh jalapeno can be added if you really want it hot.

Grilled Pineapple Salsa

  • 1 Pineapple
  • 1 Mango skinned and diced small
  • 2-3 peaches skinned and diced small
  • 3-4 green onions diced fine
  • 2 chipotle peppers
  • 3 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro
  • 1 fresh lime juiced
  • 2 shots quality reposado tequila
  • Salt/pepper

Chop the top and bottom from pineapple. Cut the body into 1/2″ thick slices and cook over a grill until tender and slightly browned, about 3 minutes per side. Remove the rind and dice pineapple. Wash the adobo sauce from the chipotles and dice fine. Add everything to a bowl and mix well. Excellent with chicken and fish dishes.

So much salsa you can not see the shrimp in the taco

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Grilling/Smoking, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Grilled Pineapple Salsa

  1. TasteFood says:

    Oh boy, this is right up my alley. Can I pour in more tequila and then just call it a cocktail with lots of substance?

  2. Maureen says:

    Can it get any better than this? I don’t think so. How about we add more tequila and call it soup. šŸ™‚

  3. JamieAnne says:

    Yum, except for the tequila…I’m not a fan of tequila….nope not a fan.

  4. I bet this tasty salsa would be delicious on grilled pork tenderloin as well!

  5. ChefMom says:

    I want the taco! That looks so good rolled up in a little shell. I’ll leave out the jalapeno. The thought of them still makes my eye burn. Ouch!

  6. Tori says:

    Yes, this. I like it with grilled chicken or seafood (or tofu or black beans, but that’s me) all Arizona summer. Though I am a fan of it with red onion and poblano pepper. (But I won’t lie. I buy what’s on sale.) šŸ˜‰

  7. joshuafagans says:

    Grilled pineapple = yum. Nice idea!

  8. Good looking salsa! I like the idea of grilling the pineapple and the tequila.

  9. Perfect combination of wonderful summer flavours.
    šŸ™‚ Mandy

  10. I simply love pineapples and I love new ways to incorporate them in a dish. This salsa just looks amazing and fresh. I would so eat this now if I had it.

  11. I see this as delicious on anything or even by itself

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    My daughter would really love this, she loves anything with pineapples. Is that a chicken underneath?

  13. Looks great, really fruity and fresh (and I love the red spotty plate) You always make fruit and vegetables look really appealing.

  14. Mental Xpress says:

    That looks delicious and I love pineapple šŸ™‚

  15. I could eat this salsa by itself. This salsa is perfect with grilled pork!

  16. Kelly says:

    Oh, what a gorgeous salsa. I love the addition of chipotle here!! Pineapple is one of the few fruits I find almost too sweet to eat – I suspect the chipotle tempers that effect quite a bit… yum!

  17. rutheh says:

    Looks wonderfully delicious and summery.

  18. Lea Ann says:

    I love fruit salsas and that taco looks mouthwatering!

  19. Jen says:

    Just the way I like my tacos – more salsa than shrimp! Looks yummy

  20. perfect perfect perfect! Awesome on any meat or seafood and incredible flavors! I am drooling and wishing i had some right now to eat at lunch! You always come up with the best recipes

  21. ChgoJohn says:

    This sure wold brighten your dinner plate.Delicious idea!

  22. spicegirlfla says:

    I have to comment on the pic as I love the polka dots!! Like my “drapery” pic, it just matches perfectly! I love a grilled pineapple and this salsa recipe sounds yummy. Nice addition of the tequila…wow!

  23. bakingdevils says:

    Very unusual! Love the sound of it…enjoying eating lots of salsa in this hot summer…made mango salsa before…will have to try this…looks amazingly refreshing…

    -Shilpa

  24. It would be like you were eating art! It is so colorful : )

  25. I have not had breakfast and I am starving from looking at your stuff on here. Must go get something to eat. lol.

  26. nrhatch says:

    Fresh grilled pineapple = ***** (5 stars!)

  27. Rachel says:

    I wonder if you could throw it in a blender with yogurt and watermelon and make a cold “soup”… Hmmmm… mmmmm! Spicy!

  28. Looks like an outstanding line-up of ingredients. Well done. Cheers!

  29. Caroline says:

    Maybe even a few more scoops would do it! Pineapple salsa is so delicious. Love its sweet flavor, with the kick of peppers. Grilling the pineapple gives it such a unique flavor, too.

  30. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Haha….the best way to top a taco is with overflowing salsa šŸ˜›

  31. ....RaeDi says:

    WOW!!! This would be perfect with my roasted pork tenderloin…. what do you think?….RaeDi

  32. All I can say is …AMAZING
    That has to be the best looking taco I have ever seen

  33. Looks awesome, especially in a taco šŸ™‚ I’m allergic to pineapple though so I can’t try it myself…

  34. gisellecagli says:

    Bravo!! Loved the fact that you combined pineapples, mangoes with hot peppers, lime, and cilantro. Yummy! I am going to try this!!!

  35. Now that dish is just singing of summer

  36. Amazing – looks so juicy and packed full of flavour. I have two pineapples on my counter, I think one may already have its destiny planned out!!

  37. Charles says:

    This makes me think that I should really eat more salsa – and I’ll definitely be adding in the jalapeƱo – I do enjoy a good kick in my salsas šŸ™‚

    • Charles says:

      Figured I’d check back in to see if you’re still active and it appears you are! Nice going! After so long, so many of the names I once knew from the blogosphere have gradually dropped out of sight. Really nice to see you’re still around! Hope you’re keeping well!

  38. Yuri says:

    I’ve never grilled pineapple before… looks so good! I’d definitely add the jalapeƱo šŸ˜€

  39. I can’t believe how many ways you could use this amazing looking salsa. And grilling the pineapple seems like the perfect way to start it off. Over some fish, over flank steak….so many ways. Thanks for sharing this!

  40. I have made salsa at home before… never with pineapple though- must try- I really enjoy fresh home-made salsa on some grilled fish… lovely fresh summer flavours…

  41. ericascime says:

    I am not crazy about salsa but, then again, I only ever eat it out of the bottle and on tortilla chips. This pineapple salsa looks unreal! And with jalapenos it would be ever tastier. My boyfriend is big into salsa and spicy food so I will have to give this a try. It just looks so good!

  42. Holy pineapple! What a great summer recipe — love it!

  43. Jessica says:

    Yum!! My dad and I have made something similar for topping Chilean sea bass, but the grilled pineapple would really make it that much more amazing.

  44. Pingback: Pico de Gallo | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  45. kat says:

    I love pineapples! I am probably the only person in the world that’s never had fruit salsa! The salsa looks delicious! I think I’ve now fallen in love with everything you make šŸ™‚

  46. Pingback: Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Pineapple | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  47. Pingback: How Fruity is Your Chicken? | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  48. Pingback: A Kitchen Disaster | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.