How Fruity is Your Chicken?

The pears really taste great roasted in chicken fat

The pears really taste great roasted in chicken fat

This is a great way to use up some leftover dried fruit. The sweetness of the stuffing complements the roast carrots and pears perfectly. Do not remove the skin from the breasts, but you can trim some of the fat away to make it healthier.

Chicken Stuffed with Pears and Prunes

  • 4 chicken breasts deboned skin still on
  • 1 pear cored and chopped into small dice
  • 1 pear cored and cut into large chunks
  • 5-6 carrots chopped into large chunks
  • 10 prunes diced fine
  • 3 green onions chopped
  • 4 basil leaves chopped roughly
  • Salt/pepper

With a sharp knife cut into each breast on the side in the middle creating a slit about 1″ long. Use the knife to create a pocket that goes all the way around the breast without cutting through the sides, top or bottom. This takes a little practice but go slow and use your finger to feel in the pocket to judge how far it has separated. Mix the small diced pears, prunes, green onion and basil. Season with salt and pepper. Take filling and stuff it into the cavities equally. The chicken breasts will be packed very tight. Use 3 toothpicks to seal the opening up. In the center of a baking dish place the breasts skin side up and carrots around. Roast chicken for 30 minutes at 365 degrees. Add pears and stir with carrots in rendered fat. Continue to roast until chicken is done, about 15-20 minutes more.

Yes, we love chicken with fruit. Here are some of our other favorites:

Braised Chicken Breasts with Fig Sauce

I know two servings of vegies and only one piece of meat, where has all the trans fat gone?

I know two servings of vegies and only one piece of meat, where has all the trans fat gone?

Stuffed Chicken with Prunes and Feta

Little pockets of heaven

Little pockets of heaven

Chicken Legs Stuffed with Plum Salsa

Cut the twine away before serving

Cut the twine away before serving

Grilled Chicken with Grilled Pineapple Salsa

One more scoop should do it

One more scoop should do it

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to How Fruity is Your Chicken?

  1. I just shared this with high hopes I’ll have one of those recipes made for me for dinner sometime soon……… mmm šŸ™‚

  2. Love the filling – did you put any olive oil on the breasts to crisp the skin?

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    I love the combo of poultry and fruit whether dried or fresh, it’s an incredible flavour profile. I’ve also had very excellent results in removing skin from chicken. šŸ˜‰

  4. niasunset says:

    seems so delicious…. Thank you, have a nice weekend, love, nia

  5. egg me on says:

    Well … how fruity is it?!?! Just kidding. These all look delicious.

  6. Alison says:

    These look and sound great. Thanks for sharing!

  7. TasteFood says:

    Apparently not fruity enough – I must take inspiration from all of your fruitiness.

  8. Caroline says:

    Stuffed chicken is fantastic, this sounds delicious! What a great filling.

  9. brittneerene says:

    Reblogged this on b.Rene and commented:
    mmm!

  10. That is some fruity and tasty looking chicken!

  11. Kristy says:

    I need to remember that I can stuff chicken breasts. I never think to do that and I should because then I might actually enjoy my chicken dinner. šŸ˜‰

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    I agree with Kristy. I’m not one for chicken breasts but it would be a totally different dish if they were stuffed. You certainly have given me enough options to try. Thanks, Greg.

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    I love that one with figs

  14. Carolyn Chan says:

    Thanks for the new ways to eat a staple like chicken !

Leave a Reply

