Mom’s anise biscotti

Two for now

Katherine on cookies….

When I first met my husband I was puzzled at his apparent lack of a sweet tooth. Then I was mystified that the only sort of cookies he seemed to like came in a box, from the Dollar Store. More than a decade later he’s kicked that habit, so he says. He’s not a huge fan of chocolate chip or anything overly chewy, although he humors me. Nope, he likes the kind that are best dipped in milk or vin santo. So of course he loves biscotti. And growing up a family favorite was anise. (BabyGirl over at Pure Complex got us thinking about cookies with this post. So here’s the recipe for one of our favorites, courtesy of his mom.)

And speaking of bloggers and sweet things, if you haven’t checked out Sweet Caroline or Chef in Disguise you really should. Caroline’s got a great eye for photos and posts some wonderful recipes, sweet and savory. And the chef, aka The Food Doctor, is always coming up with something new and inventive. They both gave my husband Versatile Blogger awards recently. And thanks too to the other bloggers who’ve mentioned him. Update Charly Walker, one funny woman, also gave the blog a shout out. Thanks, Charly.

Mom’s Anise Biscotti

  • 2 1/3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp anise seeds (ground coarsely in coffee grinder)
  • 1 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 pound butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon anise extract

Grease baking sheet with butter and preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Stir together flour, baking powder, salt, anise seed and almonds. In a separate bowl combine sugar and butter and beat until light in color and fluffy.Β  Continue beating and add one egg at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl. Beat in vanilla and anise extracts. Reduce speed to low and beat in a third of the flour mixture at a time until incorporated. Divide in half and start to drop spoonfuls onto the greased sheet, shaping each into a roughly two-inch by 12-inch log, flattening to about an inch high at most. Bake until golden, about 18 minutes. Cool on racks for 10-15 minutes. Cut into diagonal slices and arrange cut side down on baking sheet. Bake 10 more minutes, flipping half way through.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Mom’s anise biscotti

  1. Caroline says:

    Oh gosh, I wish I lacked a sweet tooth (I say this as I’m snacking on some peanut butter M&Ms at 9pm. shhh). Anyways, this biscotti looks fantastic, Katherine! So good to see your guest blogs, and thank you so much for the shout out, you are far too kind. Greg’s blog was more than worthy of the award. πŸ™‚

  2. Hey Katherine :). And no Greg I didn’t forget about you lol.. *waving*. Am I wrong if I make some chocolate sauce and dip this biscotti in it because for whatever reason I am loving the idea lol. I really love this recipe and this blog deserves every award it gets. I visit Caroline’s blog and think it’s great.. have to visit ‘Chef in Disguise’. Love this post

    • Katherine says:

      Thanks, Kay. Chocolate would be just fine. I get lazy and know I’ll eat them that much faster if they’re dipped in chocolate. (P.S. Greg gets his blog back tonight.)

  3. ChefMom says:

    Hmmm….sure there’s not a stash of dollar store cookies hiding somewhere in the house? I’ve heard that’s a hard habit to kick. πŸ˜‰ I love biscotti! Great stuff. I never thought about making it though. May have to give that a shot. I recently started reading Sweet Caroline’s blog and it’s definitely great. I’ll have to check out Chef in Disguise as well. Always up for more good eats. πŸ™‚

  4. joshuafagans says:

    Nice to meet you Katherine! Nice work on converting Rufus. I haven’t made biscotti in a while that is a great idea. If only I could find vin santo I enjoyed as much as the stuff I had in Italy.

    • Katherine says:

      Thanks, Joshua. Greg and I say the same thing. We see vin santo when we visit different Little Italys sometimes, but we’ve been burned buying it here.

  5. I love biscotti and yours looks beautifully crisp – Moms recipes are always the best. I am however not a fan of anise so would just up the vanilla, hope your Mom won’t mind.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  6. These biscotti sound tasty except for the anise. I just can’t get on board with that licorice flavor. Other than that, I’m excited to try it!

  7. Charles says:

    Agreeing with yummychunklet – sounds awesome except for the anise. When I used to tend bar and had to serve shots of Sambucca I’d have the smell all over my hands which was really not cool. They look really great though!

    • Katherine says:

      Thanks, I abhor licorice. It’s just not my favorite flavor. I like these for some reason. His nana’s recipe, which is heavier on the anise, is way too strong for me. And while I like sambuca in granita, I couldn’t drink it straight or on the fly, like Greg does.

  8. I love biscotti and usually make them with dried candied fruits, so these will be a nice change. Anise liqueur is a national institution here in Spain – the old boys in the bars drink a huge glass of it first thing in the morning with their little shots of coffee (!) so no problems getting hold of it…

  9. Katherine, these look fabulous, and this is coming from someone who prefers the big, chewy, full-of-chips, -nuts, and -all the wonderful things you can put in a cookie! The other blogs (and bloggers) also sound fabulous. I wish I would make a living spending my day reading blogs….

  10. Linda says:

    Katherine, I’m starting to think that Rufus is Italian? Because just like myself, I love Biscotti the best and dipping in wine or espresso is definitely the way to go! My cookie jar is always filled with biscotti! I like that you used the actual anise seeds; I’m going to try our your recipe!

    • Katherine says:

      Hmm, four vowels in last name, check. Calls marinara gravy, check. Heartbeat rises in fury when he passes an Olive Garden, check. Yes, Greg, aka Rufus, is third-generation Italian. His grandmother came from Sicily when she was 20. If I’m remembering right you’re familiar with the Sunday dinner tradition too.:)

  11. Yavonda says:

    These are yummy! Thanks Katherine, for making some of these for me during my invalid days. What a way to recuperate! πŸ™‚

  12. My husband loves biscotti. He will be amazed and surprised if I can do this. And my brother doesn’t have a sweet tooth but does love anise. Thank you for the nudge. This recipe is calling to me to surprise two people.

  13. G-LO says:

    What’s not to love about a well made biscotti? Love em! My Mamma makes them all the time. Great for dipping in my espresso. I know that’s probably a crime against good coffee, but it’s a nice diversion every now and again.

    Salut!
    G-LO

  14. I just love biscotti..it is a love affair that started a few years back..These look heavenly, I’ll have to try them soon..
    Katherine, thank you so much for the link and for your kind words..I really appreciate it..and Greg’s blog deserves every single award πŸ™‚

  15. minadovich says:

    i love anisette! i always try to make things with anisette but not many folks like the strong flavor. i think anisette has been under-appreciated and this recipe has inspired me to try again- thanks guys!

  16. Young Wifey says:

    Love love love biscotti!

  17. I remember eating these growing up as well! You definitely get a taste for them! I am baking these this weekend!

  18. Kas says:

    These sound/look great, Katherine! We are definitely adding this to our “recipes to try” list.

  19. The Little Spork says:

    Homemade biscotti is one of my favourite things in the world. Rufus is a very lucky man to have you as a wife πŸ™‚

    • Katherine says:

      Thanks, TLS! I think I’m the lucky one. I make some nice things for Greg, aka Rufus, in the kitchen, but day in and day out he’s the one cooking. He creates things I never could!

  20. Rufus's Papa - A.K.A. - Frank says:

    Greg -your mom got this recipe from my mom who in turn got it from Nauni. Both made several versions with and without Anise; also with almonds. Nauni’s brother, Uncle Jimmy, liked the plain best dipped in coffee Royal.
    Dad

  21. Yuri says:

    Hey Katherine πŸ™‚ These biscotti look delicious, baked to perfection!

  22. Pingback: Frigid Russian | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Italian Night | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  25. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: More Biscotti for Santa | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  26. Cheryl J says:

    My nonna made these all the time. She actually got anise oil from the neighborhood pharmacy. This gives a somewhat stronger flavor of anise.

  27. Marge Maresca says:

    If I were to use Annisette instead of extract what would the conversion be? Thanks
    Jmarsca@aol.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.