Venison Burgers with Roasted Red Pepper

Yes that is an extra large kosher dill there

Here is a great substitute to beef hamburgers with the same amount of flavor, but less fat. Well until the addition of sauteed mushrooms and homemade aioli sauce.

Venison Burgers

  • 1 lb ground venison
  • 1 egg
  • bread crumbs
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • 1 red pepper halved and seeded
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms, grilled or sauteed in butter until browned
  • Aioli or mayo
  • salt/pepper

Mix meat with egg and season with sage, salt and pepper. Add enough breadcrums to form a rough mass. Form mass into three large or four medium patties. Grill burgers and pepper over barbecue. Top with mushrooms and aioli.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Venison Burgers with Roasted Red Pepper

  1. I like the layers of mushrooms and red pepper.

  2. nrhatch says:

    Hope you and Katharine had a happy and SWEET Valentine’s Day! 😀

  3. Kristy says:

    A venison burger…I don’t think I’ve ever had one of those. I like the sound of homemade aioli sauce too. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. Mmm…meat….drooling now!

  5. Courtney says:

    Gotta have the pickle! Yum. Happy V-day to you both.

  6. Michelle says:

    We have a lot of venison in the freezer (from my Dad, who kills them with bow & arrow, I think) which needs to be moved given the 1/2+ of pig that Steve brought home today, so thanks for the inspiration. Hope y’all had a happy Valentine’s Day!

  7. JamieAnne says:

    These look amazing!!

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    You guys really know how to make a burger! This looks fantastic!

  9. Ooh, now this is a burger I could sink my teeth into.
    🙂 Mandy

  10. rsmacaalay says:

    I’m loving your venison posts specially this one as I tried a type of venison burger here in NZ (fast food called Murder Burger) and it was a real good experience

  11. Tandy says:

    I am going to add some sage to my next venison dish – thank you!

  12. Carolyn Chan says:

    Glad you mentioned that that was an extra large pickle, I was about to comment about how cute and small your burger was ! Looks delish.

  13. Fantastic – can I have one for my breakfast please?!

  14. Karen says:

    You are making me wish my grill wasn’t put away for the winter. A delicious sounding burger.

  15. Nice burger! I no longer have a source for venison, since the old hunter who used to bring it to me ‘retired’….but this would dress-up some lean ground beef, too!

  16. Judy says:

    Haven’t tried venison as burgers before, but seems like a great idea. Did you have to cook it on lower temp or more medium doneness to keep it from drying out? Or did the egg help with that? I know bison can be that way because of how lean it is.

  17. Lea Ann says:

    I wish I could find some venison to purchase. Did you use elk or deer meat? I also wonder if venison is lower in cholestoral like Buffalo. Anyway, love the mushrooms and the aioli. Great looking burger.

  18. zestybeandog says:

    Venisonnnnn one of my favs, especially with mushrooms!

  19. Linda says:

    wow…now that is an open-wide, take a bite, burger!!

  20. Looks great, I love venison. But come on, only one pickle on the plate:)? More pickles!!

  21. Chef Scar says:

    Oh Boy! I can’t wait until one of my hunter friends delivers the next batch of venison. My mouth is already watering!

  22. Mmmm…roasted red pepper on a burger! I’m going to have to do that next time. 🙂

  23. I bet JT would love these, he just adores venison. I’ve had bison burgers which are also lower in fats than ordinary beef, but never venison. That looks like a mean burger, Greg. Nice pickle.

  24. egg me on says:

    Man! I need to get my hands on some venison. I’m going to Montana this summer for a friend’s wedding and I’m hoping to try a bunch of game burgers … venison, bison, what-have-you. But I want this one NOW.

  25. Poor Bambi. I’m glad it turned out great for you though! 🙂

  26. Very nice and simple recipe. Anyone can die for it..

  27. Amy says:

    Yum! Perfect with a pickle on the side 🙂

  28. Purely.. Kay says:

    The only thing I can say about this burger is.. I am in Love!

  29. Lisa says:

    Looks delicious … I love venison, though I’m not into such large pieces of cooked pepper. We’re hoping to bag a deer next season. I’m tired of them eating my vegetable garden.

  30. Christina says:

    I have never had a venison burger…looks like I am missing out though! Yummy!! 😀

  31. Venison burgers are good. That pickle looks good, too. We love pickles and burgers. We used to always have venison in the freezer when we lived on the farm.

  32. Love venison! These look fab…..

  33. Caroline says:

    Sooooo wanna ship me one for lunch today?? Seriously. All joking aside. Looks amazing!

  34. Now that’s dinner!!

  35. Pingback: An Ode to the Burger | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  36. Pingback: 56 Healthier Burger Recipes for Summer | Complete Recipe

  37. Pingback: 6 Recipes for Venison Burgers You Need to Try | Griffin's Guide to Hunting and Fishing

  38. Pingback: AJC Grill Week: Recipes for healthier burgers | Atlanta Restaurant Scene with John Kessler

  39. Pingback: AJC Grill Week: Recipes for healthier burgers | Atlanta News

  40. Pingback: 56 Healthier Burger Recipes to Kick Off Grilling Season - Perfect Your Lifestyle

  41. Pingback: Fly Spear | 56 Healthier Burger Recipes to Kick Off Grilling Season

  42. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Got Venison? | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  43. Pingback: These 56 healthy burger recipes are all you need for grilling season | Rare

  44. Pingback: 56 Healthier Burger Recipes for Grilling Season - Health Club

  45. Pingback: Game Days | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  46. Pingback: 56 Healthier Burger Recipes for Grilling Season - google healths

  47. Pingback: Here Are 6 of the Best Venison Burger Recipes Ever ⋆ Outdoor Enthusiast Lifestyle Magazine

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.