“S” is for strawberry

The word to remember is fresh

If strawberries don’t make you salivate stop right here. For those who wish strawberry season lasted forever, or at least as long as it does in California, and can never have enough strawberry recipes here are three super simple ways to enjoy your berries. The first is a recipe we found on Epicurious and adapted. It’s originally from the May 1997 issue of Bon Appetit.

Strawberries with grapes, mint and vanilla

  • 2 pints strawberries, hulled and halved
  • 2 cups seedless green or red grapes
  • scant 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3-4 teaspoons finely chopped fresh mint
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients in large bowl; toss to coat fruit. Cover and refrigerate one to four.

The more balsamic the better

Strawberries with basil and balsamic

  • 1 pint strawberries, hulled and sliced
  • 1 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 6-8 basil leaves, cut into long strips

In two quart saucepan cook balsamic on low heat until reduced and thick. Once thick, toss with strawberries and basil. Refrigerate for a few hours before serving. I never add sugar, but feel free to if the syrup is still a little sharp. This is great to toss over salads if you have leftovers.

Those three are for me

Strawberry granita

  • 1 cup hot water
  • 2/3- 3/4 cup sugar
  • juice from 1/2 lime
  • 3 cups strawberries

Stir sugar, lime juice and water. Puree berries and simple syrup. Pour into an 8-inch pan and cover with foil and place in freezer. When icy around edges, stir and place back in the freezer. Repeat a few times. (Although, if you forget it won’t be the end of the world.) To serve scrape top and scoop icy shavings into dessert bowls.

Still want more? Try strawberries in Grand Marnier or mixed berry zabablione. And if you’re really good, I’ll post the strawberry shortcake my wife made for our anniversary.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to “S” is for strawberry

  1. Jasmine says:

    What a spectacular post. I think I’ll be picking up some strawberries the next time I’m at the grocery store!

  2. Yuri says:

    Lovely photos! I like to macerate strawberries in balsamic vinegar with freshly cracked black pepper. Will have to try them with basil 🙂

  3. ChefMom says:

    I LOVE strawberries! I think I’m going to have to try each one of these. 🙂

  4. I love strawberries and I love simple recipes that produce knock-out results! Your 3 recipes are all that.
    I very rarely get strawberries here in Mauritius but will make up for last time when I return home later this year.
    🙂 Mandy

  5. Bethea says:

    Oh wow. I’m out of strawberries now too! Aghhh!

  6. Alison says:

    Oh! These all look amazing. I want them all!!! I can’t wait until the summer to try these! Thank you for sharing.

  7. imakeeper says:

    Im drooling. Fresh mint is such an excellent mix-in to any fruit dish, love that suggestion!

  8. So, are the local berries already in? Nothing like Arkansas strawberries! Brings back plenty of memories of my Grams…

    We’re not even into local asparagus or rhubarb yet… 😦

    • Yep, we got two big pints at the farmers market this weekend. It’s amazing how early stuff comes in down here. Although, aside from greens and berries, there weren’t many local crops. The berries alone were worth the trip.

  9. gingerbreadbagels says:

    The strawberry granita looks so good! I’ll have to try making that. Thanks for the recipe. 🙂

  10. I discovered strawberries and balsamic a while back, and I am hooked! That salad looks super Yummy too!

  11. Rita says:

    Of course I adore strawberries (I planted some this year and I hope for a great result… :P). I especially appreciate the balsamic recipe and more than evrything the combination of strawberries and basil leaves. All ingredients that are extremely easy to find in Italy. 🙂 This recipe is also perfect for a fantastic balsamic vinegar we have at home (a very expensive and precius one we use only for precious recipes… :P)

    • I bet that’s amazing. We have our oils and vinegars broken into categories too. Every day and special occasions. We like an olive oil from an Italian family that moved to Napa. I doubt it compares to ones you can buy!

  12. Pingback: Delicious links! « Chef Pandita

  13. Strawberries are my absolute favorite. I love the granita you made, that looks wonderful. I usually eat mine the plain way, with a little sugar and the strawberry is my gift. I do wish strawberry season lasted longer.

  14. Nadia says:

    I wish it was strawberry season here. Both the fruit salad and the granita look so refreshing. 🙂

  15. Yumm-o! Does this mean it’s almost strawberry season? 🙂 My husband hates strawberries for some reason … can you imagine?

  16. Love the second recipe! I’ve got a basil plant that I don’t know what to do with the fresh basil, so this is perfect. Rufus’ Food and Spirit Guide is fast becoming my go to ercipe source!

  17. omgcsa says:

    Ohhhhh can’t wait for strawberry season here in Boston.

  18. Dianna says:

    Just one word: YUM!

    Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting today. Come back soon!

  19. eva626 says:

    strawberry are the best type of berries..after blueberries of course. And such a neat spoon!…where’d you get it!!??

  20. Oh. My. Gosh. Your photo is amazing! Definitely salivating! I can’t wait to make the strawberry granita. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’ve added yours to my Google Reader and look forward to reading your future posts!

  21. Busy B Cook says:

    Yum! Recently I made a fresh pureed strawberry mousse, it was to die for!! 🙂

  22. TheAngryAsian says:

    Wow that looks delicious! I love that they are simple to make and the salad looks so refreshing!

  23. JamieAnne says:

    I have fresh mint in my garden and two strawberry plants. Great ideas.

  24. rutheh says:

    thanks for stopping by my Zest of an Orange post today. I am going to make this granita! Sounds inviting and delicious.

  25. This is an absolutely amazing post, among many. You have a new subscriber!

  26. BigFatBaker says:

    I love the strawberries with the balsamic. Great idea! I have some raspberry balsamic that would be perfect, now all I need is some strawberries.

  27. Britt says:

    I love strawberries! These look great. Definitely make me want summer now! I like the idea with the balsamic especially over spinach for a salad.

  28. Joanne says:

    I LOVE GRANITAS!!!!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE. Where in California do you live? I’m originally from the bay area and miss those farmer’s markets…fortunately right now I live in the Florida/Georgia area and we have TONS of strawberries from Tampa.

  29. oh wow! i think some strawberry granitas will be on the menu next time i host wknd brunch! thanks for the fab post.

  30. Puneet says:

    Thanks for your comment. Fantastic post and pictures. I just picked up strawberries from the grocer, so I’m going to try your first recipe tonight with grapes and mint. Thanks for a fresh take on strawberries!

  31. Strawberries mint and grapes! amazing combination… and that granita is going on my make very soon list

    thank you for stopping by my blog so that I could discover yours

  32. Mel says:

    This looks and sounds delightful!

    Mmmm, enjoying reading your posts.

  33. Pingback: Great Food and Inspiration…A Blog To Visit | Just Ramblin'

  34. Pingback: Simply strawberry | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  35. Pingback: Homemade strawberry syrup and a strawberry round up « Chef in disguise

  36. Heading over from Chef in Disguise’s strawberry round-up! Love the sound of that strawberry granita… perfect for the weather we’ve been having… thanks for sharing 🙂

  37. Pingback: Balsamic Strawberry Basil Pizza | bake me away!

  38. Pingback: Ushering in Strawberry Season | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  39. Pingback: Strawberries First | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  40. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: It’s getting hot | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.