Roasted Balsamic Sweet Potatoes

Please sir can I have some more.

Each year for Thanksgiving I like to try something different with one of the standard staples on the table. Usually it ends up being how and what type of vegetable to prepare. This year I decided to try a new sweet potato recipe instead of the normal candied approach. My wife found this recipe after searching for a good amount of time. It turns out that when it comes to sweet potatoes people don’t really branch out from either mashed or candied.

The final result was fantastic and the potatoes were the first thing we ran out of, partially because my wife and I kept eating them like little square fries. That being said they were a little too simple and I will not make them for Thanksgiving next year. When it comes to Thanksgiving I am all about show stoppers. The dish is far better as a side with hamburgers or barbeque and its quick preparation and cook time make it ideal as a weekday course.

Roasted Balsamic Sweet Potatoes

  • ¼ cup decent balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp packed dark brown sugar
  • ¼ cup butter
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3-4 large sweet potatoes peeled and chopped into 1/2-inch cubes

Heat oven to 400 degrees. In large skillet bring vinegar and sugar to a boil. Reduce till sauce starts to thicken. Add butter and salt. Over medium heat mix till even. Place potatoes in pan and toss with sauce. Spread mixture into a baking pan and roast stirring occasionally till potatoes are slightly browned on edges, about 40 minutes. Serve immediately.

Thanks to everyone who found us on Pinterest. Here are some other sweet potato recipes you might love:

Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Chinese Five Spice

They looked fried, but looks are deceiving

They looked fried, but looks are deceiving

Hasselback Sweet Potatoes

This is really easy to make

This is really easy to make

Sweet Potato Pie

This is a crime against nature without whipped cream

This is a crime against nature without whipped cream

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Sailing the seas of yams

Sailing the seas of yams

Sweet Potato and Squash Pizza

Not the most circular pizza

Not the most circular pizza

Roasted Pork Belly with Sweet Potatoes

Yes that is a layer of fat, glorious tasty fat

Yes that is a layer of fat, glorious tasty fat

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Roasted Balsamic Sweet Potatoes

  1. This looks absolutely delicious. Will have to give it a try.

  2. Leo says:

    These sound and look delicious!

  3. Mary says:

    Just stumbled onto this one via Pinterest. WOW. I just added this to my menu for next week. Can’t wait to try it! Thanks.

  4. Pingback: Meals for a Month: April « Food. Fun. Family.

  5. Aha! I was trying to decide what to serve tonight with grilled, rosemary turkey breast and sauteed asparagus accented with lemon and olive oil. Perfect!

  6. LOVED this dish. We made it to accompany rainbow trout with mushrooms, tomatoes, ginger, garlic and green onions, and sliced avocado on the side. We had a great mix of flavors.

  7. Marlene Johnson says:

    Made this last night with beef brisket. It was delicious, but I put Silpat down on baking sheet and it kept the potatoes from getting crunchy. Next time (and there will be a next time) no Silpat!!

  8. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: From Soup to Pudding | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  9. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday #11 | Pa-BLAM!

  10. Any recommendations for easy cleaning of pan afterwards ? Recipe looks delicious, and I want to try it.

  11. E Campbell says:

    Would love to try this but know nothing about balsamic vinegar – decent or otherwise. Any recommendations?

    • I missed this, sorry. For salads we get an aged one. You can spend $15 or $500. Whole Foods or a store like that should have a good one. For cooking, we just get the cheapo kind. We don’t really have a favorite brand.

  12. Fabienne says:

    just cooked this dish today for lunch: delicious! So instead of baking, I just broiled them and added a little bit of olive oil. The key is to check on them often so they don’t burn, but that way it cooks faster and is crispy on the outside. What kind of grains/seeds would you suggest to sprinkle on them? I was thinking cumin seeds?

  13. erica says:

    On my phone its not showing amounts for the balsamic or butter, it just says __cup balsamic, __ cup butter. It also says cut sweet potatoes into __” cubes. Weird! Can you please fill in the blanks for me! Id love to make these for my fiance tonight!

    • Does this show up? Vinegar and butter it’s both a quarter cup. One tablespoon brown sugar, one teaspoon salt, 3-4 sweet potatoes chopped into bite sizes, about a quarter inch.

      ¼ cup decent balsamic vinegar

      1 tbsp packed dark brown sugar

      ¼ cup butter

      1 tsp salt

      3-4 large sweet potatoes peeled and chopped into ¼” cubes

  14. Cindy says:

    Could you do this recipe with butternut squash?

  15. Balsamic with sweet potatoes sounds like a great combo! I can’t wait to try it out. 🙂

  16. Heather says:

    I did this with butternut tonight, and it worked beautifully. Thanks for the recipe!

  17. Sue Doyle says:

    Do you really mean 1/4″ cubes?? That”s about the size of a kernel of corn. Otherwise, it sounds delish!

  18. Pingback: Lunches and meal plans | Whit Likes Fit

  19. Cristen says:

    Just made these with dinner and I must say they are quite tasty! I thought the balsamic taste would be over powering at first but nope not at all! I also broiled them instead of baking them because I didn’t want to wait 40 mins for them to finish and the broiler worked just as well but cooked in half the time! Thanks for the great recipe!

  20. Betsy says:

    Could these be prepared ahead of time and then reheated before serving, or would that ruin the texture?

  21. Pingback: No gluten? No problem! « faithfamilyandrunning

  22. I’m going to give these a try tonight. I’m going to make a half batch since I only have 2 sweet potatoes. I’m also going to add a clove of garlic minces and a bit of parika and chile power to the mix. I like to have my sweet potatoes have a little kick to them. I am excited for crispy oven sweet potatoes.

  23. Elaine Wilson says:

    I used a new recipe for our sweet potatoes this year too. We loved it!

    Sweet Potatoes with Maple-Jalapeno Sour Cream

    6 sweet potatoes scrubbed and dried
    Olive oil
    1 cup sour cream
    2 tablespoons pure maple syrup – YES – pure, it’s worth it!
    2 teaspoons jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
    2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
    Tabasco sauce to taste – go easy, you can always add more or individuals can add more…opens the pores for a rosy complexion!
    1 cup bacon, crisp and crumbled
    1 cup scallions sliced tops and all

    Rub potatoes with oil
    Roast for 45-55 minutes until soft
    Combine all the topping ingredients until ready to serve
    Peel skins off of sweet potatoes lightly slice and place in serving dish.
    Slather with topping
    Serve and watch the surprised faces, as this is not your Grandma’s Yams.

    I got this recipe from a friend, who told me it was on a RFD cooking show by Johnny Nix.

  24. Pingback: Menu: Week of February 3 | Schlepping Three

  25. Pingback: Eat Like Me

  26. Pingback: Roasted Balsamic Sweet Potatoes | I Made This!

  27. Could you offer some ideas on how to add regular potatoes to this dish as well? I was thinking about making a mix of roasted regular/sweet potatoes. Thanks!!

  28. Jacintita says:

    It didn’t work for me. I think it is a good idea to boli them first. I had them aprox 40 -50 minutes on the oven, and they were still hard, and the sugar burned. It tasted good any way, but I am sure that could be better. Thanks.

  29. Pingback: I choose to be healthy. | Welcome to Polly May and the like

  30. Pingback: ALL about L | Prisoner of HOPE

  31. sylviadewy says:

    There is one more amazing sweet potato recipe that you can add to this list. Its an Indian dessert, super scrumptious called Sweet Potato Halwa!

    http://healthyrecipesforall.wordpress.com/2013/08/26/sweet-potato-halwa-vegan-indian-pudding/

  32. Pingback: Cider Glazed Chicken, Pecan Rice and Balsamic Sweet Potatoes | Life & Lauds

  33. Kerrismatic says:

    I’ve made this recipe a couple times and it always comes out perfect. Love it!

  34. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  35. Pingback: Simply Roasted Broccoli | the eastside mom

  36. Pingback: Patate dolci arrosto al balsmico | iBalsamic

  37. Sammi says:

    I have made these for every holiday dinner the past several years! They are always a hit. I literally could eat the whole pan 😉 Thanks for the recipe! PS…Your site is awesome!

  38. Pingback: Sweet Potato Casserole with Brown Sugar and Pecan Streusel | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  39. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  40. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  41. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday 11/11 – Pumped for Thanksgiving! – wordpress-164266-474937.cloudwaysapps.com

  42. Rhea says:

    These were AMAZING! The caremlization……heaven!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.