Hasselback Sweet Potatoes

This is really easy to make

This is a really quick side that will work well on a weeknight or as part of a fancy meal. The flavor of roasted sweet potato and balsamic is quite addictive.

Hasselback Sweet Potatoes

  • 1 large sweet potato peeled and cut in half (it doesn’t have to be as large as the one in the photo)
  • Olive oil
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • Salt/pepper

Score paper thin slices across the back of each potato half almost all the way through. Rub olive oil all over each half and over a foil lined baking sheet. Season with salt and pepper and roast in an oven at 390 degrees until done, about 45 minutes. Remove from oven. Melt butter in a sauce pan and add balsamic. Cook over medium heat until sauce thickens then pour over potato halves. Serve immediately.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Hasselback Sweet Potatoes

  1. I’ve 2 sweet potatoes sitting there… and I’m still thinking which recipes I should try out on them… this one looks promising 🙂

  2. sallybr says:

    I’ve only tried Hassleback potatoes with the “regular” potato, and royally messed it up. The potatoes were hard in the center, kind of turned me off to the recipe.

    But I bet sweet potatoes would be more forgiving, and I like them better than the regular potato anyway.

    I am saving this one….

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    An impressive presentation when done with regular baking potatoes but these sweet potatoes are even more interesting.

  4. rutheh says:

    Sweet potatoes are just about my favorite. Looks delicious. I bought three ruby ones today.

  5. nrhatch says:

    I laughed at 390 degrees instead of 400. 😉

  6. Lauren says:

    Mmm, this looks lovely!

  7. peasepudding says:

    Love Hasselback potatoes and the sweet ones would get a nice caramel taste..yum

  8. eva626 says:

    wait, where is the whiskey ?

  9. I wish you’d posted this BEFORE I baked my sweet potato tonight. 🙂

    Maybe I’ll scoop out the leftover half, mash it with balsamic, and twice bake it…

  10. I’m excited to try the sweet potatoes with balsamic- I’ve never seen that before. Thanks!

  11. I will try with a Japanese sweet potato!

  12. Once again you hit it out of the park! Awesome and so simple.

  13. Purely.. Kay says:

    Okay, don’t take away my southern card away, but I don’t like to eat my sweet potatoes this way. My mother, on the other hand.. LOVES THIS. She would probably tell you.. this is the best post ever lol. That’s why I’m going to print it out for her and tell her you sent this to her LOL

  14. This reminds me of a fanned potato but kicked up a few notches, I love the idea of this sauce and the whole idea of sweet potatoes would be so unique!

  15. Carolyn Chan says:

    Holy moly look at the size of your sweet potato! The balsamic dressing would go so well with sweet potatoes…why haven’t we thought of this before ?? 🙂

  16. Sissi says:

    Balsamic vinegar and sweet potato sound like a wonderful pairing. Very appealing photo!

  17. Raymund says:

    I guess youre right, it looks like a very addictive substance. Mmmmmmmm

  18. I can just imagine those lovely sweet tastes – and it looks so pretty too!

  19. Sophie says:

    Waw, What a grand & tasty idea! You are very clever!
    A must make! 🙂

  20. Love how thinly you sliced the sweet potato like it is meant for several people- NOT. I don’t think I would want to share.

  21. BrainRants says:

    This looks simple yet delicious – one of my favorite approaches to food.

  22. Simple delicious!
    🙂 Mandy

  23. I will dream of this today! Love sweet potatoes

  24. These look wonderful and easy. I love wonderful and easy!

  25. I love how simple these are, and balsamic + sweet potatoes are a great combination!

  26. Never heard of them – you say Hasselback, I think football…Where does the name come from?
    Not that it matters – I’m SO going to try this!

  27. Cut paper thin? I will give it a try.

  28. Michelle says:

    Can’t wait to try this one.

  29. Judy says:

    I think I could put balsamic on just about anything (used it with crab cakes last week), but hadn’t thought of sweet potatoes–YUM!

  30. These look fun because of the sweet potatoes. I’m on FB now!

  31. Amy says:

    Too funny, I was gonna post my hasselback potatoes this week! If i do, i’ll def link to you. Sweet potatoes is a great way to do it 🙂

  32. These look gorgeous!

  33. ChgoJohn says:

    Such a simple preparation but, boy, do they lood good! And those are some mad knife skills on exhibit there!

  34. JamieAnne says:

    Yay! I have sweet potatoes!!!

  35. If there had been a “love” button to click, I would have!

  36. Joanne Ozug says:

    I love hasselback style potatoes, and I’ve never done it with sweet potatoes. I’ve got one in the pantry that I now know what I’m going to do with!

  37. Yum! Those potatoes are making me so hungry. I love that you added a balsamic butter sauce over the top. Seriously good eats.

  38. I’m on a health kick and this seems like a really easy and healthy side to my dinners! I love balsamic- I love sweet potato, what’s not to love about this!?!

  39. spree says:

    I love this! I’m a huge fan of baked and roasted sweet potatoes but I’ve never tried them sliced thinly and drizzled! So simple, and I imagine already how addictive they could turn.

  40. Sweet potatoes and balsamic are a wonderful pairing, Greg. That is one HUGE, ginormous sweet potato. If you had any left overs you could probably blend it with some stock and make a wonderful soup with it.

  41. JEN says:

    I love sweet potatoes! I like the “hasselback” version! Simple and delicious!

  42. This is a great recipe, I absolutely love balsamic and sweet potato together such a great combo. I’m really enjoying your posts. You have some really great recipes I look forward to trying.

  43. Caroline says:

    Hassleback potatoes are great–never tried the method with sweet potatoes though. Sounds like my kind of side dish! 🙂

  44. Lynda says:

    What a great version of hassleback potatoes. I love the balsamic.

  45. Courtney says:

    I’ve seen lots of Hassleback regular potatoes, but these are the first sweet potatoes I’ve seen. They look so good – and I bet are amazing with the balsamic.

  46. niasunset says:

    WOW! This is amazing and should be so delicious… I want to try this one and seems easy for me too. Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  47. k.m. says:

    I’ve never heard of these! Do you know why they’re called Hasselbeck potatoes? They look good though.

  48. karencooking says:

    I have to try this. Looks wonderful!

  49. Stefanie says:

    Wonderful idea!! This is a great way to serve sweet potatoes!

  50. jo-lyn says:

    Nom Nom Nom…that’s all… =)

  51. Charles says:

    You’d think I’d have tried hasselback potatoes, what with my wife being Swedish and all, but you know – I never did. Perhaps I’ll brew some up this weekend… thanks for the idea Greg 🙂

  52. If it’s a sweet potato, I like it! My friend, Bob, doesn’t like sweet potatoes! Drives me nuts that anyone would not like them. Of course, he’s from “up” North! Guess that’s why. lol.

  53. Christina says:

    I LOVE sweet potatoes. I have seen hasselback potatoes using regular potatoes but not sweet potatoes. I can’t wait to try these! 🙂

  54. nancyc says:

    Those sweet potatoes look and sound so good! I’ve never had Hasselback potatoes…I bet they are great with the balsamic vinegar…will have to try them out!

  55. Great idea to make the sweet potato Hasselback – why didn’t I think of that before? 😉

  56. Stef says:

    This potato looks like a beast! What the heck kind of soil do y’all use in Arkansas?

  57. Kristy says:

    Oh my goodness! As if I needed something to make sweet potatoes more addictive. 😉 Yum!

  58. ....RaeDi says:

    I love sweet potatoes and this looks delicious!

  59. Pingback: The Tale of the Little Chicken That Could! | bits and breadcrumbs

  60. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: P is for Pesto | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  61. Misky says:

    I have one humongous sweet potato sitting in the fridge veg bin, and it’s going hasselback tomorrow with pork chops. Thanks, Greg!

  62. Pingback: Roasted Balsamic Sweet Potatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  63. Natalie Ward says:

    Oooo, how did I miss this one? Hasselbacking (from the verb ;D ) sweet potato is genius, and the balsamic sounds gorgeous. One for this week I think, thank you!!

  64. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Pork and Beans | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  65. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Other White Meat (Thanksgiving edition) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.