Mussels and Using Up Leftovers

What a pretty plate

What a pretty plate

With spring here so are fresh fava beans. After they are shelled though what to do with all the pods? Normally I make a vegetable stock. Then I thought why not use them like other beans. Of course you can add the whole pods with the beans to stir frys much like snow peas, but what about just the skins. So I sliced the pods into thin strips and sauteed them with onion and carrots. The flavor is fantastic, think green beans but with a slightly fuzzy texture. The texture was a problem for Katherine but I liked it. Then I thought why not use them as a base under steamed mussels. The result was perfect. You can substitute green beans if fava beans are not available.

Steamed Mussels over Fava Bean Pods

  • 3 dozen mussels scrubbed
  • 15 fava bean pods cut into thin 2″ strips
  • 4 carrots cut into thin 2″ strips
  • 1 cup red onion sliced very thin
  • Remaining red onion chopped roughly
  • 6 garlic cloves chopped in half
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Salt/pepper

In a large stock pot heat 1 tbsp olive oil and saute garlic and onion chunks until they begin to brown. Add wine, water, lemon juice and lemon, and bay leaves. Bring to a boil, season with salt and pepper and cook for 5 minutes. Add mussels, cover pot and turn heat to medium low. Steam for 5 minutes then stir mussels. Recover and steam 2 minutes more then remove pan from heat and let sit for 10 minutes covered. In a frying pan heat 2 tbsp butter and saute red onion slices over medium heat until they begin to brown. Add carrots and cook until they soften then add fava bean pods. Saute until the pods turn bright green and then remove from heat and season with salt and pepper. Strain mussels reserving the broth. Remove mussels from vegetable matter and discard any that did not open. To serve spoon fried vegetables into bowls top with mussels and pour broth over top. Serve with thick toasted bread.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mussels and Using Up Leftovers

  1. what a clever idea!!!! I never thought of using the shells, cut up finelly, like this. And the mussels……oh! delicious.

  2. Is there some Andalucian blood in the family? There must be, you’re using the skins of the beans! What a beautiful recipe, will have to add this to my bean collection 🙂

  3. Very good looking mussels. Love the idea with the beans.

  4. The texture would be a problem for me to, but I applaud you for your resourcefulness. Happy Friday!

  5. Those mussels are huge!

  6. sallybr says:

    Very creative! I must be a bit more diligent about searching for fava beans, recipes keep popping up using them and I’ ve never cooked fava beans, only enjoyed it in restaurants. It is (at least for me it was) an acquired taste, and I bet I would side with Katherine on the texture issue.

  7. Pingback: The Very Inspiring Award Thank You | The Crafty Cook Nook

  8. TasteFood says:

    I adore mussels and love how used the pods – very resourceful (and delicious I bet!)

  9. Mad Dog says:

    Fab – I keep thinking I should eat more mussels 😉

  10. Now that is a way to prepare mussels!

  11. christine wellman says:

    hi rufus
    where do you get your mussels – fresh i presume?
    we live in massachusetts and i cant find mussels that look like that after cooking – very frustrating

    thanks
    christine

  12. Raymund says:

    The broth of this I recon would be so tasty!

  13. Kristy says:

    You know we can’t resist mussels!

  14. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Irish Memories | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

