Redneck Riviera Sunset

This is tattooed on my bicep too

This is tattooed on my bicep too

We always like to see what Shaun the Bartender is shaking up over at Your Home with Karie Engels. This drink was inspired by his Caribbean Sunset. We made ours less sweet, replacing the sodas with sparkling water. But it still made for a nice drink to sip (or guzzle) while playing croquet. Now if only we could remember where we put those wickets… (Also Shaun, our apologies for bastardizing the name, but that is where folks in our neck of the woods like to vacation and the Caribbean is pretty hoity-toity.)

Redneck Riviera Sunset

  • 1 1/2 ounces spiced rum
  • juice from 1/2 lime
  • 1 1/2 ounces orange juice (fresh squeezed is best)
  • 1/2 ounce grenadine
  • 2 ounces sparkling water

Pour all ingredients in a tall glass with ice. Slosh around to mix. Top with soda water. Repeat.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Redneck Riviera Sunset

  1. Greg you are delightfully funny. It is always so enjoyable to read your posts. Always perfect timing a delicious new drink for the weekend festivities. Next time you will so have to show us that tattoo! Take Care, BAM

  2. Brilliant and love that glass!

  3. Excellent piece of tasteful glassware – love it:)

  4. Awesome! Thanks for sharing and you have my blessings for bastardizing! Cheers!
    -Shaun The Bartender

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    What a refreshing shade of reds, oranges and yellows. I bet this concoction would go down smooth on a hot day, even if it was in the Caribbean and not your redneck of the woods! 😉

  6. egg me on says:

    Woo woo — nice glass! The drink sounds good too.

  7. Amy Tong says:

    This is a beautiful and refreshing cocktail. 🙂 I love that color. Cheers.

  8. Young Wifey says:

    Looks & sounds refreshing… and the name is hilarious. I might have to make it for my in-laws!

  9. I love the sound of this almost as much as I love the glass it’s served in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

