Chocolate Figs with Amaretti

So gooey

We love watching Lidia Bastianich cook up Italian classics on PBS. This recipe was inspired by one we saw her make a year or so back. We can’t be sure that it was this recipe, since we didn’t write it down at the time. We just know it involved chocolate and nuts and looked delicious. In any case, the figs and chocolate melt and caramelize into one wonderfully gooey delight. Serve over ice cream, with mascarpone cream or alone.

Chocolate and Amaretti Figs

  • 10-12 black figs
  • 2 ounces dark chocolate
  • 1/4 cup plus one tablespoon sweet marsala
  • 8 amaretti, crushed

Mix chocolate, amaretti and a tablespoon of marsala in a small bowl. Set aside. Wash figs and slice off stems. Slice each one almost in half. Fill each one with a teaspoon of the chocolate mix. Place in a medium sized casserole dish, just large enough to hold the figs. Pour marsala over the figs. Bake at 350 until the chocolate melts and the figs are tender. Serve warm.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Chocolate Figs with Amaretti

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    Warm sweet gooey goodness !

  2. Lauren says:

    Dear God. You have made figs even more sinful than they naturally are… and you even added chocolate. I like it. A lot.

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    A perfect end to an Italian menu. I think a spoonful of mascarpone cream would finish it off wonderfully.

  4. That is too sexy…..

  5. OMG I opened up this page and my tastebuds thought they were going to have an ****** when I saw this picture. Jeeesh, this looks delicious!

  6. I would eat the lot all on my own!
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    Yum, I just adore figs! I have to check my local market for our figs, they can be so expensive when not in season (sometimes $1.99 EACH!). If I left the chocolate out, I can see this as a garnish on salad or even a topping on pizza.

  8. I posted a PBS recipe today as well! Great minds πŸ™‚

    And YUM.

  9. aFrankAngle says:

    OMG … Amaretti is sprinkled magic.

  10. This looks fabulous if you lose the amaretti (not my fave).

  11. You. Are. KILLING. Me…
    (in a good way, of course…)

  12. Sara says:

    This looks amazing. I love every single ingredient on its own, and all together? Wow!

  13. billpeeler says:

    This sounds so decadent – would be a great way to impress with a dinner party. Thanks for sharing this!

  14. Gorgeous. Figs and chocolate… thank you!!!

  15. Karen says:

    The figs look totally decadent.

  16. Oooh yes, bookmarking this one for when the neighbour drops over fresh figs in December…

  17. Like her show, but I love Simply Ming’s even more!

  18. Christina says:

    Oh good lord these figs look incredible! πŸ™‚

  19. Kristy says:

    I was just thinking I need some figs the other day… πŸ™‚

  20. They look DELICIOUS!!

  21. Holy Mole, this is a fabulous recipe. I cannot say how wonderful this makes me feel to just see the figs glazed with chocolate just looking so ready to eat. Great post.

  22. Courtney says:

    That looks fantastic!

  23. Amy says:

    Holy crap, these look AMAZING. Seriously.

  24. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow that looks so divine!

  25. Nancy says:

    I have a fig tree and stumbled on this recipe while looking for something to do with all the figs. Well, it was fabulous! why not put this on Pintrest?

  26. Pingback: Baked Figs with Amaretti | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  27. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: An Italian Summer | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  28. Pingback: Warm Figs and Prosciutto | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  29. Pingback: Higos con Chocolate negro y Amaretti « HIGOS & FIGS

  30. Pingback: Higos con Chocolate negro y Amaretti « Higos de AlmoharΓ­n

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.