Artichokes with Hollandaise

It’s a sea of butter and egg and the only way out is through the bottom

Such a classic way to eat an artichoke. The sauce is adapted slightly from Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Start the sauce when the artichokes are almost done so that they are still warm when the sauce is ready to pour.

Artichokes with Hollandaise

  • 2 artichokes cleaned, trimmed
  • 1 lemon
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • Salt pepper
  • 1-2 tbsp, finely chopped dill

Cut ¼” off the tops of artichokes and trim all the points off the leaves. Cut bottom stem so each artichoke can sit upright. Fill a pot large enough to hold the artichokes in one layer with water. Squeeze lemon in and add halves to water as well. Bring to a boil and cook on medium until a knife can pass through the base of each artichoke, about 20 minutes. When artichokes are cooked, place on a plate and carefully pry apart to expose the inside purple tipped leaves. Remove all purple tipped leaves and scrape away the entire choke over the heart. When done the artichoke should look like a flower petal with a bowl in the center. Spoon sauce equally into the center of each artichoke. To eat, pull leaves from the outside, dip into the center and scrape the soft tissue from the leaf. The leaves will get softer the closer to the heart.

For the sauce: Place egg yolks in a blender. Season with salt and pepper and add lemon juice. In a small sauce pan melt butter until it foams. Turn blender on to high and after a few seconds add hot butter in a slow drizzle while keeping the blender running. The sauce will thicken within a minute. Stir in dill when just ready to pour.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Artichokes with Hollandaise

  1. Two of my favs and I have not had either in years! Is it possible to ‘like’ this more than once!?

  2. Oh wow that looks so good! Now I have to go out tomorrow and get some artichokes for dinner! Thanks for the great post!
    Michelle
    http://www.indiegogo.com/bellegroveplantation

  3. This is so beautiful! Maybe it’s only beautiful because I couldn’t wait to eat it but I just love it!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Perfect presentation! Her Hollandaise was the first real sauce I ever attempted. It was amazing then and still is.

  5. I very much like artichokes. Good summer food and a good looking Hollandaise.

  6. Oh yes pelase, and what a great shot!

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Honestly I never tried artichokes like this, looks like I need to try it soon.

  8. ooh… that paired up with a nice cold glass of crisp white wine…. heaven!

  9. peasepudding says:

    Perfect, no better way to serve fresh artichokes. You do need a bit of patience to prepare them though.

  10. You’re killing me. I want that for breakfast. Now.

  11. Looks delicious. I love stuffed artichokes, but this sounds like a wonderful alternative. My father used to say that artichokes were the only food that you had more of when you finished eating it.

  12. Gorgeous appetizer! Oh I want to fix that asap…like maybe for tonight or the “eve” of the 4th of July.

  13. I’ve made these before but never thought to add lemon, that would keep the color nice and bright! And having the little center cup become the dipping “bowl”.. outstanding.. I’m visualizing the last bit where you get to eat the heart with the creamy last drops of sauce on it.. oh I’m visualizing!!

  14. spree says:

    Very very tempting this! Nice on those hot hot days of yours when all you want is food you eat with fingers.

  15. Eva Taylor says:

    I’ve never made artichoke like this before, but I can already see I would love it. What a gorgeous presentation too.

  16. egg me on says:

    May I dive head first into that sea of butter and eggs?? Pretty, pretty please? Looks fantastic.

  17. billpeeler says:

    Wonderful presentation – love, love artichokes although I’ve always been too intimidated to cook my own (for whatever weird reason). This looks so rich and delicious —–

  18. Love it! Just perfect.

  19. This looks heavenly!

  20. So decadent!! I don’t think I’d be able to stop.

  21. Beautiful, creamy hollandaise sauce….perfection with your just right artichokes. Well done once again.

  22. A great idea for presentation.

  23. Carolyn Chan says:

    Stunning photo ! And what a delicious combination and way of serving the dish. BTW my blog has moved to http://foodismyhappyplace.wordpress.com. Stop by for a visit !

  24. Charles says:

    Normally I eat artichokes just with some melted butter but I can imagine it must be amazing with hollandaise sauce too – looks really good with that little well of sauce in the middle!

  25. Kristy says:

    I’ve never seen this preparation before – stuffed full of bread crumbs, cheese and butter sure, but hollandaise? Learned something new today. I agree with Charles – that well of sauce looks divine!

  26. happygoluckygal says:

    never knew artichoke caan be seasoned like this..;):):)

  27. gorgeous looking artichoke!

  28. Karen says:

    Nice presentation with its own little bowl.

  29. Only one stick of butter? That idiot Julie makes it sound like it’s drenched with butter. Love Julia, can’t stand that Julie person.

  30. this looks divine. that hollaindaise recipe has got to the best i’ve ever tried.

  31. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: French it up | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  32. Pingback: Poached Eggs with Lemony Roasted Asparagus | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.