Baked Eggs in Tomatoes

Pancetta helps a lot too

We’re already seeing tomatoes at our local farmers markets. Like any other early-season produce, they leave a bit to be desired. We find roasting, or marinating, tomatoes will help perk up the flavor.

Baked Eggs in Tomatoes

  • Tomatoes, tops sliced off and seed and membranes scooped out
  • pancetta, cooked
  • eggs
  • oregano
  • salt/pepper to taste

Place one slice of cooked pancetta in each tomato. Place tomatoes, including the tops in a greased ovenproof pan. Crack an egg in each tomato. Season with salt and pepper to taste and top with about a teaspoon of chopped oregano per tomato. Cook at 350 until the eggs are set, about 20-30 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Baked Eggs in Tomatoes

  1. My husband will reconsider divorcing me if I make these. He loves grilled tomatoes with breakfast but these are even better. (okay I lied about the divorcing bit)

  2. Michael says:

    This looks so good.

  3. MixerUpper says:

    These look great, and the colors make them very festive!

  4. This looks amazing! I can’t wait to give it a try!

  5. Kiki says:

    Love this idea! Will definitely try. One question, though: I guess the bacon will be soft rather then get cripsy inside the tomato, right?

  6. machisan says:

    Looks just wonderful!

  7. I absolutely love eggs and tomatoes together. Hope I can wait out the 20 to 30 minutes…
    🙂 Mandy

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    That is an amazing idea!!! So simple and fresh and delish! I adore baked tomatoes, it takes the mealie tasteless taste out of the picture. I’m going to try this one. Too easy. Thank you!

  9. Nice. I always mean to do this but I forget.

  10. That’s the most creative thing I’ve seen in weeks!
    Will be adding it to the line-up!

  11. Looks wonderful! Great presentation.

  12. Sounds delicious and what a gorgeous meal! Plus, pancetta seals the deal. 🙂

  13. This looks so perfect. I can’t wait to pick up some tomatoes and basil at the Farmer’s Market tomorrow and make these with my farm fresh eggs!

  14. Courtney says:

    Can not wait for tomato season! These look very tasty!

  15. Lindsay says:

    Love this idea! May I repost this to my blog with just the pic and the link to your site? Followers would click on the link and/or picture to come here to your post;)

  16. Karista says:

    Brilliant! And looks so delicious 🙂

  17. Beautiful and I bet the tomatoes taste so sweet after cooking them like this!

  18. billpeeler says:

    I’ve never seen this before – what a great idea ——-

  19. Lauren says:

    Great idea! I’d have to do it minus the pancetta, but I think I could make it work…

  20. TasteFood says:

    Brilliant idea!

  21. sallybr says:

    Maureen’s comment made my day!

    Great recipe, simple, straightforward, and creative, would be great for a brunch, except for the fact that we rarely do brunch. still… 😉

  22. Mad Dog says:

    They look stunning!

  23. Gourmantine says:

    This is such a great brunch idea (and cute to look at too) 🙂

  24. These are ridiculously fun! What a novel presentation…and a great combination!

  25. Tandy says:

    What a great breakfast idea 🙂

  26. Carolyn Chan says:

    Terrific breakfast idea!

  27. egg me on says:

    You know I can’t resist a good egg recipe. I’m just waiting for that nice egg yolk to spill over the side of the tomato … mmmm.

  28. Pingback: Baked Eggs in Tomato - Lindsay's Kitchen Workshop

  29. How cute! It’s like a surprise inside.

  30. What a great, quick idea for brunch or breakfast…or breakfast for dinner. Beautiful.

  31. Kristy says:

    I’ve seen a few baked tomato recipes, but not one with eggs. Pancetta is a perfect addition!

  32. Cheryl/My Love Affair With The Vine says:

    I love your blog! Love the food, love the booze and love the pics. I found you through a comment you made on my Sister’s blog, Foodie For Two, I just can’t believe it took me this long to click through – I’m glad I did. Going to make these tomorrow for breakfast – YUM!

  33. c & s W says:

    Fantastic idea. Good for early season tomatoes in the U.S. or late season tomatoes in Melbourne (same problem, different zip code). Thanks!

  34. Jessica says:

    Tomato cups! I sort of had a version of this for lunch today, minus the cuppage.

  35. Pingback: golden star for effort « An American in Australia

  36. Pingback: Breaded Tomatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  37. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Tomato Time Part Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.