Stuffed Peppers with Ricotta and Italian Sausage

Leaning towers of cheese

Here is a great way to use up some leftover ricotta for a quick weekday meal. Remember to pick peppers that have flat bottoms so they do not tip over while baking.

Sausage and Ricotta Stuffed Peppers

  • 3-4 large red bell peppers
  • 12 ounces ricotta
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup shredded Romano
  • 2 Italian sausages
  • 5 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 bunch turnip greens
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • Salt/pepper

Cut tops off peppers and remove the seeds and membranes. Dice up the cut off top and place in a large bowl with ricotta and Romano. If you want to leave the tops on the peppers while baking then dice up another red pepper for the filling. Wash and dry turnip greens. Remove the stems from the greens and chop the leaves roughly. Discard the stems. In a large frying pan heat two tablespoons olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about a minute. Add cut up greens and cook until they wilt. Cut the casing from the sausages and add meat to pan. Break up the sausage into little bits and brown. Add wine and deglaze pan. Cook until most of the liquid has evaporated then remove meat mixture from heat and allow to cool to room temperature. Add meat to cheese and stir well. Crack in egg and beat well. Season with parsley, salt and pepper then spoon filling into pepper halves. Place stuffed peppers in a greased baking dish and cook in the oven at 360 degrees until done, about 30 minutes.

Yes, we like stuffed peppers in this house. Here’s a recipe or ours that calls for ground beef and rice and here’s one that uses pork and vegetables in the filling. We haven’t repeated the same color pepper yet. Pretty impressive!

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Stuffed Peppers with Ricotta and Italian Sausage

  1. Wow! These stuffed peppers have everything in them. And they’re red — my favorite flavor. I don’t usually eat stuffed peppers, but I might have to change that come fall when the peppers come rolling in.

  2. I will be making these within the week! Mmmm!

  3. eva626 says:

    this looks delicious. your own pepper. My family would want two of each for themselves….that would be fourteen bell peppers…wait but then they also want seconds…and would want leftovers…uh. thats a lot of peppers. Anyway great recipe. and LOL at the caption. you are too clever!

  4. fivereflections says:

    i could slip one of these right off the monitor and on to my plate 🙂 they look delicious.

  5. Yuri says:

    Red peppers are my favorite! That is one delicious looking picture. Love the other two recipes as well 🙂

  6. Those are some mighty fine looking peppers…and they must be healthy, too, with the turnip greens in there! 🙂

  7. I have a pepper thing too – keep ’em coming! I would have never thought to use turnip greens… which I bet would be great with bacon too.

  8. Kristy says:

    You are trying to kill me this week. First with the brie. Now with these stuffed peppers. We’re leaving on vacay this week and I happen to have some unused ricotta AND leftover Italian sausage in the fridge and no meal planned for Wednesday night. Hmmm…..and then there’s that stupid brie that won’t get out of my head. (It’s not really stupid – I LOVE it! I mean really LOVE it! It’s just that I’m going to a beach…first time since having two kids…You’re killing me.) 😉 In all seriousness though, I’m having my parents over to my house for dinner Wednesday night, I think they would enjoy these as much as I would. Thank you – you have just given me my meal for the night (and added bonus – it helps cleans out my fridge!).

  9. I make a stuffed pepper recipe.. I love the ingredients in these!

  10. BrainRants says:

    Awesome. I may try those.

  11. Okay, I am going to do the happy dance for these stuffed peppers. Give me a moment. *dancing*. Okay and I’m back. Yes, this is the type of recipe I will make for me and my moms “mother and daughter” movie nights. My mom already makes a great, classic stuffed pepper.. but yours is stepped up a notch. I think she will love it and I know I will too. You just made me make deviled eggs lol.. don’t make me want to make this now lol

  12. Raymund says:

    I had never tried stuffed peppers before, not sure why though but it would change soon. Great recipe with all those ricotta and romano

  13. Tandy says:

    I am really weird – all those ingredients for a pasta sauce work for me, but I just cannot do stuffed peppers 🙂

  14. Now that’s what I call stuffed bell peppers. These look tasty.

  15. niasunset says:

    What a beautiful photograph, made me hungry! Should be so delicious too… Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice week, with my love, nia

  16. ....RaeDi says:

    What a beautiful picture and they look so delicious! Would be a wonderful pop to a winter meal!

  17. Gorgeous, I could just sink my fork into one of them right now. Lovely flavours in the stuffing.

  18. Love stuffed peppers – great recipe.
    🙂 Mandy

  19. Oh my gosh, I just had dinner, but looking at these and reading what’s in them I’m hungry again!!!

  20. SimpleP says:

    Oh wow, those look absolutely amazing.

  21. alex says:

    delicious, I have never used turnip greens before. I think I will try and make some for my husband.

  22. peasepudding says:

    Perfect idea, love the sausage and ricotta filling.

  23. I have some leftover homemade ricotta and a bunch of peppers from a photo shoot…now I know what to do with them. Your peppers look delicious.

  24. I love the idea of sausage and the ricotta cheese and using red peppers instead of green!

  25. Sissi says:

    It looks so sunny! I cannot believe it’s the middle of Winter!

  26. Michelle says:

    Those look great! (Just don’t give me green peppers. Yuck.)

  27. You know how much I enjoy stuffed peppers – and love a new “variety”! This look great – and something very different from my own!

  28. G-LO says:

    All I can say is, “Oh hell yes!”.

  29. Stuffed peppers with ricotta and sausage sound absolutely mouth watering, Greg. Great combo any day of the week.

  30. TasteFood says:

    These look scrumptious!

  31. whats better than Italian sausage? I will tell you- Italian sausage stuffed in a pepper! Amazing flavors and so beautiful

  32. spicegirlfla says:

    Love the colors in that photo!! Great combination of flavors and ingredients. I will keep this in mind when I have some ricotta and peppers hanging around!!

  33. ChgoJohn says:

    These sound really good, Greg. Love that you use turnip greens. Have you tried kale or broccoli rab? I bet they would work, too.

  34. zestybeandog says:

    Looks tasty! 🙂 I love stuffed peppers, so versatile!

  35. egg me on says:

    Whoa. My aunt used to make stuffed peppers and they never looked anything like this! (Hers were quite scary, actually.) Now my question: why did you have so much leftover ricotta? What were you making?!

  36. Asmita says:

    Wow, that looks so pretty and must be so delicious! Love Italian sausage, and stuffed inside the pepper with ricotta- yummy!

  37. Yum! We have baby pumpkins growing – I might steal your stuffing recipe for one of those! 🙂

  38. Just another great recipe that I wish I was enjoying this evening. well done!

  39. Well, what do you know. I have a couple of pretty capiscums sitting in my fridge just *waiting* to be filled with good things and roasted up. Goody!

  40. Oh my heavenly taste buds!! I really want to make these. Or should I say have someone make them for me. I fell and broke wrist and no cooking for 4 weeks.

  41. Courtney says:

    I always forget about stuffed peppers – so versatile – as you already know. 🙂

  42. nancyc says:

    Those stuffed peppers look delicious!

  43. Amy says:

    These look awesome! I love the italian take on stuffed peppers. I’ve never included sausage in them but I bet that’s a delicious filler. Yum!

  44. GroundCherry says:

    Nice! It’s always great to have another use for ricotta.

  45. These are gorgeous and inspiring! (PS. You can take a slice off the bottom to make them stand; I do that with peppers and tomatoes that I am stuffing. Mind you, a little tippiness is quite charming…)

  46. samology says:

    Great lookin stuffed peppers! Never made it before but I’m inspired to now after seeing your pictures!

  47. I only made stuffed peppers with rice and meat. I love all the options you have here

  48. i have been craving stuffed peppers for the longest time! and bourbon. . .

  49. Carolyn Chan says:

    Ground beef and rice is my favourite stuffing but the sausage meat would be so tasty.

  50. fabulous! can’t wait to try these. Great photo.

    ~Melissa
    http://www.ChinDeep.com

  51. I love ground beef and rice in peppers, too. Never thought about sausage but will try it. I sure hope I can raise some peppers this year. Mine were terrible last year. So ready to start spring and garden stuff.

  52. Pingback: Stuffed Peppers {with Beef, Rice, and Romano} « Misadventures in Cooking

  53. Pingback: Don’t You Just Love When You Can Tell Someone to Stuff It? | A Table in the Sun

  54. A Table in the Sun says:

    I’m making this tomorrow night. I have included your recipe in my blog post on stuffed pepper recipes.

  55. petit4chocolatier says:

    Love the red peppers! I cannot wait to make these 🙂

  56. Pingback: 36 Low Carb Stuffed Pepper Recipes, Gluten Free | Peace Love and Low Carb

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.