Cookies for Santa

There is no guarantee they will still be there when he arrives

We decided to make some cookies for Santa after all, wish us luck. The lighter cookies, Old Fashioned German rosewater cookies, are one of our favorites and a recipe we’ve had for years. We’re not sure where we originally got it, but recently ran across it on Cooks.com. They claim the recipe dates to 1850.

We made only two changes, we doubled the amount of rosewater and used lemon juice instead of lemon extract. The chocolate crinkle cookies are ones we made earlier this year, but we swapped out the sambuca for Amaretto this time. Merry Christmas Yummy Chunklet and all you other anise haters. (We also ditched the orange zest, but keep it if you like. The recipe is here.)

Old Fashioned German Rosewater Cookies

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 c. sour cream
  • 1 1/2 tsp. rose water
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 3 cups flour
  • cinnamon sugar for dusting

Cream sugar and butter in a stand mixer. Beat in yolk, lemon juice, rosewater and vanilla. Combine baking soda and sour cream and beat to incorporate. Sift salt and flour; mix with batter. Roll out on floured surface and cut into rounds or desired shapes. The dough is a bit softer than sugar cookies and we can’t use our flat-top cookie cutters so see what works for you. Dust cookies with cinnamon sugar and bake on greased sheets in preheated 375 degree oven for about 15 to 20 minutes.

Cookies galore: If you haven’t already, check out our Christmas Cookie roundup. There’s still plenty of time to make Santa happy.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Cookies for Santa

  1. nrhatch says:

    LUCKY SANTA! Ho~Ho~Ho!

  2. Rosewater sounds like a tasty cookie addition. I like it in adult beverage too. πŸ™‚

  3. Those are some good-looking cookies!

  4. Amy says:

    Mmm, i’ve never cooked with rosewater. Where do you get it?? Hope santa brings you everything you want πŸ˜‰

  5. rutheh says:

    We went to a cookie exchange last night
    My friend and I felt our cookies were the most delicious and some of the others beautifully packaged but not “calorie worthy”.
    Bummer.
    Nice post!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Anything dusted with cinnamon sugar just has to be good! Love how the kitchen smells as each batch is about ready to come out of the oven.

  7. egg me on says:

    What, no cocktail for dear ol’ Santa? I’m a little surprised. Haha. These cookies sound great. Merry Christmas, guys!

  8. Joanne Ozug says:

    I have rosewater and never know what to do with it. I will definitely be trying these, especially with the endorsement you gave them!

  9. Kristy says:

    Ooooh! German rosewater cookies? I’ve never had those. I’m not sure how I haven’t…Hopefully Santa will be good to you both. πŸ™‚

  10. Courtney says:

    I’d leave you both some presents if these were waiting for me. πŸ™‚

  11. That looks so cozy! And the cookies are great too πŸ™‚

  12. I don’t think i would make Santa happy because I’d be too busy eating the cookies myself LOL. These german rosewater cookies look amazing.

  13. joshuafagans says:

    Wow, what an interesting sounding cookie, sour cream and rosewater. You never cease to amaze me!

  14. I bet Santa will have one memorable visit with those delicious looking cookies. My son was happy last year that Santa took a bit. Imagine when Santa take the whole tray, right?
    Wishing you and your family all the love , joy , peace and good health this Holiday season and everyday. A toast to a memorable 2011 and to an awesome 2012 to come.

  15. Ha! Love it! You guys are the best. Merry Christmas!

  16. Very interesting cookie with the addition of the rosewater. Perfect along side of some egg nog or one of your other liquid recipes for Santa…Have a Happy holiday

  17. spicegirlfla says:

    The stockings were hung with care in hopes that St Nicholas soon would be there….I think with those cookies, he will certainly be stopping by! I love old fashioned cookies; the recipe and photo are just perfect!!

  18. Charles says:

    Ah, glad to see you hadn’t taken leave of senses and wisely switched out the yucky sambucca! Amaretto is amazing stuff. I wish I could be dropping down your chimney (thought you’d probably be pretty shocked if I did! :D)

  19. Eva Taylor says:

    Not a big fan of Rosewater, but the cookies sure look wonderful. Lucky Santa, if they survive!

  20. Kas says:

    Wow, I bet Santa LOVES to stop by your house!!

  21. martko1964 says:

    These cookies look great. If Santa doesn’t eat them, give me a call.

  22. niasunset says:

    Seems that Santa is real in your side… If I cook for him, does he visit me too πŸ™‚
    These cookies are so beautiful dear Rufus, and also the year impressed me so much, from 1850… WOW! To be honest, in Turkish cuisine we use rosewater for desserts but I don’t like… at first time you made me to try something with rosewater! You are amazing, when I cook them I will tell you my thoughts again… but for now, it sounds so delicious, and so beautiful… especially when I think of the Santa πŸ™‚ Thank you, with my love, nia

  23. Pingback: They made cookies for SANTA! « photographyofnia

  24. Fox@n says:

    Cookies for Fox@n

  25. Ooh, rose water… how lovely! Love the fireside photo.

  26. I bet Santa will love them!

  27. I made moroccan rosewater cookies last week, I love rosewater in cookies and I can’t wait to try your recipe

  28. zestybeandog says:

    Ohhh rosewater! Sounds so nice and delicate! Happy holidays!

  29. Caroline says:

    Yup, I fall into the ‘anise haters’ category. The recipe sounds much better without it. πŸ˜‰ I’m considering pulling a Grinch move–posing as Santa so I can come eat all of these delicious cookies….

  30. I’ve never thought of putting rosewater in a cookie before, these sound lovely.
    And amaretto, I’m having a quiet love affair with at the moment- love that stuff!

  31. Mel says:

    The Santa in your hood is a lucky, lucky man.

    Haven’t tried rosewater before – will have to give that a try one day soon!

  32. Ooh, I’m sure Santa will be VERY happy with those! Merry Christmas! πŸ™‚

  33. Sissi says:

    I’m sure with such delightful treats you will be the first to attract Santa Claus this year πŸ˜‰

  34. dhphotosite says:

    With a plate full of cookies like that, I don’t think Santa will get very far on his rounds!

  35. These look absolutely delicious. Lucky Santa! : )

  36. peasepudding says:

    Lucky Santa, I love rosewater in anything it gives it such an exotic flavour. Have a fabulous Christmas. Alli x

  37. Never heard of rosewater cookies — nice to expand my cookie horizon! Thanks!

  38. I want to be Santa and get to eat those cookies! The ones with rosewater sound so interesting and I love your photo with the stockings…Merry Christmas!

  39. Santa is a lucky fella this year.

  40. eva626 says:

    those look lovely!

  41. I love the idea of rosewater cookies – lucky Santa.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  42. Santa will be very, very happy. Have a very cozy Christmas weekend with your friends and family. Teresa.

  43. Carolyn Chan says:

    Surely you two have concocted a Santa cocktail as well ?? πŸ™‚

    They look awesome.

  44. Goodness…Santa sure has an appetite! πŸ˜‰

  45. The Little Spork says:

    yum, those rosewater cookies sound good and that plate of cookies looks very tempting πŸ™‚

  46. nancyc says:

    I’m sure Santa will appreciate those cookies! πŸ™‚

  47. SimpleP says:

    The old recipes are the best. These look fantastic!

  48. These look great. I made so many cookies and don’t have any now!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.