Like coffee, licorice and chocolate? Read on…

So very healthy

We started to label this, but coffee and Sambuca granita with chocolate crinkle cookies and Amaretto whipped cream was just too long. My wife whipped this up for company recently. She wanted something that wouldn’t be too heavy after lasagna. Keep in mind our definition of heavy is slightly different than others. The cookies were adapted from this recipe on Epicurious, originally from Gourmet magazine.

Coffee and Sambuca Granita

  • 4-5 cups strong coffee (we used an espresso blend)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • zest from one orange
  • 1 ounce Amaretto
  • 1/4 cup Sambuca
  • grated nutmeg to taste

Brew coffee and pour while still hot into a 13×9 pan. Stir in sugar to dissolve. Mix in zest and nutmeg. Refrigerate for two hours. Mix in liquors and move to freezer. Once icy, stir around the edges, about 45 minutes, and return to the freezer. Repeat about 45 minutes to an hour later, smoothing the top after each stir. To serve scrape with fork to form crystals.

Chocolate crinkle cookies

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 ounces dark chocolate (we used Hershey’s special dark), chopped
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup almonds, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup Sambuca or other anise-flavored liqueur
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon orange zest
  • grated nutmeg to taste, or 1/8 tsp dried nutmeg
  • 1-2 to 1 cup powdered sugar

Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Melt chocolate with butter in a two-quart  saucepan over low heat, stirring until smooth. Mix eggs, nuts, Sambuca, and granulated sugar in another bowl. Stir in flour mixture and chocolate (dough will be thin). Chill, covered, until firm, about 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Sift powdered sugar onto a plate. (I started with a heaping spoonful at a time to keep from wasting powdered sugar and keep it dry.) Roll a tablespoon of dough into a ball and roll each ball in confectioners sugar to coat. (I shook off excess.) Arrange balls two inches apart on two lightly buttered baking sheets and bake in upper and lower thirds of oven, switching halfway through baking, until puffed and cracked but centers are still a bit soft, about 10 to 12 minutes. Cool on racks.

Amaretto whipped cream

  • half pint heavy cream
  • tsp powdered sugar
  • tbsp Amaretto

Combine ingredients in a medium-sized bowl and mix with hand mixer until soft peaks form.

To assemble: Fill coffee cup or martini glass half way with granita, put on a generous dollop of whipped cream and finish with a cookie.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Like coffee, licorice and chocolate? Read on…

  1. Abby says:

    Um, I’m dying. This looks AMAZING. Bookmarking it right now!

  2. YUM this looks so delicious
    xoxo
    bB
    please stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  3. Laura says:

    Sounds like an interesting combination of flavors. I love chocolate crinkle cookies but have never made them with anise and orange zest. Great idea!

  4. Yvette says:

    fantastic flavours…a superb adults granita!

  5. Karen says:

    Oh wow, what a spectacular dessert! Such great flavors and interesting contrasts of texture. I love the spiked granita, soft cream and crunchy cookie on top. Your wife is one fabulous cook!

  6. Amazing – I love coffee granita served with cream (they call it Blanco y Negro here) but with the little flavour twists and the biscuits, think this takes it to another level. Definitely on the menu for a hot summer evening dinner party!

  7. Ooh what a decadent summer dessert – I love the Amaretto cream.
    🙂 Mandy

  8. Joanne says:

    I’m pretty sure that granitas by definition are not heavy! This looks like the perfect way to cap off a meal!

  9. I’m pretty sure I’m officially obsessed with your blog. I WANT THIS!

  10. fatisrecipes says:

    Ooo…. Looks very elegant 🙂

  11. crustabakes says:

    a granita to finish off a heavy meal. what a great idea!

  12. Sara says:

    Can I have this on a piazza in Rome please?

  13. Ooh this looks great but I can’t get on board with anything licorice flavored. I’ll have to play around with different liquors!

  14. The Little Spork says:

    wow this looks amazing, and despite the fact that I`m sadly not the greatest fan when it comes to licorice flavour, your picture alone makes me want to have this for dessert!

  15. eva626 says:

    chocolate always adds a plus to everything!

  16. Amazing presentation..
    loved the addition of orange to the cookies

  17. what an amazingly gorgeous and delicious looking combination! great idea!

  18. Kathryn says:

    Oh my goodness this looks awesome. We have a great cold-brewed coffee here in Austin that would be perfect for that granita!

  19. Kim says:

    Oh my stars and sprinkles that granita recipe looks like genius. I’m going to have to try this whole thing soon – it looks AMAZING.

  20. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow this looks so divine! a perfect dessert.

  21. This looks divine, and thanks for visiting my blog!

  22. spicegirlfla says:

    Oh yes… so very healthy!! I love a shot of Sambuca in my espresso so I know this will be so good!! It was an ideal choice to follow a lasagna dinner…so Italian!!

  23. i have a bottle of sambuca sitting and waiting for a recipe just like this! btw, the chocolate crinkle cookie looks wonderful. love the food styling here.

  24. Anything with coffee & Amaretto is just heaven! We had a cocktail at the resaurant I can’t remember what we called it but it was more like a dessert. It was kahlua, amaretto, creme de cacao and cream, shaken and served with a chocolate straw, oh yeah!! One of your gorgeous cookies would be nice too 😀

  25. Just remembered I have a bottle of Illy coffee liqueur in the cupboard, definitely going to be granita’d now!

  26. ChefMom says:

    As you know, I’m not so big on chocolate, but the coffee sounds fantastic! The perfect after dinner drink for me.

  27. Jessica says:

    What an impressive looking dessert! I bet your company was happy. 🙂

  28. Now that would be a wonderful way to end a meal…especially if you have guests over. Great photo.

  29. My parents had a dog named Sambuca! And although I am not a big fan of black licorice, I do like ice cold Sambuca. Great post, beautiful photo.

  30. Pingback: Seven Links (and then some) Challenge | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  31. Pingback: Fiery drinks for fall | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  32. I’m down with the coffee and Sambuca, but I think Amaretto is absolutely revolting in all forms (hate Amaretti cookies, too — they remind me of children’s cough syrup).

  33. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  34. Pingback: Cookies for Santa | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  35. spree says:

    Such a beautiful, kind of “impressive” dessert…very pretty to look at! And beautiful flavors! So in the mood for this!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.