Shrimp tacos with green and pink tomato salsa

Big chunks of feta

Down here a lot of people get second crops of tomatoes and some green ones can hang on pretty long. We’re not lucky enough for that to have happened in our garden, but we are lucky enough to have a friend who well into November gave us some of the last of her tomatoes, an assortment of small green ones and a few that had just started to turn red. They were a shade of pink you normally see only in grocery store tomatoes in February, but were far better tasting. She also gave us a bunch of green peppers, the last from her garden. She owns horses and says she has a mystery fertilizer and we’ll leave it at that.

Shrimp tacos with green and pink tomato salsa

For Shrimp 

  • 1 pound large shrimp, deveined (16-20 count)
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • small jalapeno
  • 1/3 bunch cilantro, washed, stems intact (they taste fine blended)
  • 1/2 medium onion chopped, (about a cup)
  • juice from one lemon
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt/pepper to taste

Put shrimp in a large bowl. Pour lemon juice and one tablespoon olive oil in a blender and throw in the rest of the ingredients. Blend until pureed, pulsing and adding additional tablespoon of olive oil as needed at first. Pour over shrimp and marinate in refrigerator two to four hours. Grill over a hot fire until done. If you’re in Chicago or New England and there’s four feet of snow on the ground, you might need to shovel first.

For salsa

  • 4 cups diced green and pink tomatoes (about 3/4 of ours were green)
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup diced onion (about half a medium onion)
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 small jalapeno, seeded and diced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped coarsely (or finer if you don’t want it in your teeth)
  • juice from half an orange or one lime
  • salt/pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients and allow to set for a few hours. (Yes, you can serve immediately if you want.) Make sure to taste the salsa. If you’re using more green tomatoes or all green tomatoes you may need to add more citrus juice or olive oil. Green tomatoes can be sour.

To assemble: Divide shrimp among warm flour tortillas, top with feta or your chosen cheese and salsa.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Mexican, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Shrimp tacos with green and pink tomato salsa

  1. Kristy says:

    Oh yum! We used to make these all the time and haven’t in a while. I think this will have to make a reappearance. And no snow yet…although the grill did get put away already. 😦

  2. TasteFood says:

    Fantastic recipe and photo!

  3. Oh hell yes! I love seafood tacos.

  4. Delicious, I’m sure.

  5. I can almost taste the tomatoes, they are prob sooo sweet… we’re back to the watery grocery store variety up here:( I do, however, have a covered barbecue so would be able to grill through the winter… this looks like such a fresh take on taco’s.

  6. kat says:

    Yummy! Now that’s a big taco!! Such a great pic! 🙂

  7. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love the look of the beans with them too!

  8. rutheh says:

    Sadly no fresh tomatoes here in the Burgh. No snow to shovel here either. At least not yet!
    What a good friend to share her peppers and tomatoes. I think you have inspired Wednesday’s post with the mention of mystery fertilizer. Stay tuned…..
    Oh yes, the tacos look delicious!

  9. Appetizing photo! The beans look as good as the taco

  10. Yeah.. mystery fertilizer my butt.. I know what it is lol. But these shrimp tacos look amazing. I haven’t made this simple dish in a long time. Time to have this meal on a lazy weekend

  11. Tacos aren’t something we normally eat, no more excuses as this recipe has just won me over.
    🙂 Mandy

  12. Sounds really good. I’ve been introducing Hubby to Southwest flavors, and this might have to be next

  13. Tandy says:

    I love the use of the green tomatoes here – maybe I will end up with some left overs this summer 🙂

  14. Gorgeous – a little memory of summer. And those beans look amazing too…do we get a recipe for them?

  15. Delicious! Can’t wait to give it a go, summer’s full blast down here, we can do with some cool recipes…

  16. So that’s what a taco really looks like. I now realise how pathetic are the Tex Mex versions of tacos that we see in Europe.

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    These hit all of the right notes for me as-is, but you grill the shrimp and these become no ordinary tacos. Using feta to top ’em off is a real nice touch, to boot! BTW, I do not shovel my snow — I have a snow blower, purchased just last week to replace Old Faithful that was stolen last Summer.

  18. Oh, gross…mystery fertilizer. Yeah, my grandfather had the same mysterious fertilizer when we owned horses. Blech.

  19. egg me on says:

    Green tomatoes in November???? That must really be some mysterious fertilizer! But I’m not going to think about that and instead focus on how good these tacos look.

  20. afrankangle says:

    Not only am I in on this one, which would you like me to bring to the party – a sauvignon blance from New Zealand or a Gwertztraminer? Well … at least I hoping one of those would work. 🙂

  21. zestybeandog says:

    I made shrimp tacos last night myself! Always a good and easy Monday night meal! Yours looks great!

  22. Christina says:

    Mmmmm…I love shrimp tacos!! Makes me think of warm weather! 🙂

  23. spicegirlfla says:

    I love how colorfully healthy these look! I’ve never seen a pink tomato! I’m so girly…I’d love to serve pink tomatoes!!!

  24. nrhatch says:

    I love homemade salsa! Ole!

  25. Oh my you eat well at your house.

  26. Kelly says:

    Great looking tacos… the salsa sounds delish. I love garden gifts!

  27. Eva Taylor says:

    We’ve been getting dumped on with rain in southern Ontario, Greg. JT tells me it would be two feet of snow with all the rain today! I’m just glad it’s not. The tacos look fantastic and I love how colourful the salsa is. Cilantro is really one of my favourite herbs; I just can’t get enough of it.

  28. Sissi says:

    Haha! I love the “mystery fertiliser” bit! I have just bought some small tomatoes from Sicily… They are strangely aromatic and delicious, so I can imagine how your friend’s tomatoes and peppers can taste. I have always dreamt of living in a warmer climate: tomatoes at the end of November sound so magical.

  29. Don’t you love the very different taste of a green tomato? Your tacos look great!

  30. Caroline says:

    What a nice friend, that was sweet of her. These tacos sound delicious, and great decision on the large chunks of feta! All I need is a grill now. Ohhh apartment living.

  31. spree says:

    AB-SO-LUTE-LY beautiful!

  32. rsmacaalay says:

    A lot of people say fish tacos are the best, well I am not one of them for me this will be the best.

  33. Joanne says:

    Yes please!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE seafood tacos…fish tacos…shrimp tacos…well, really any tacos.

  34. Christy says:

    Haha, yeah, wise choice to leave the story of the mystery fertilizers as it is, or your imagination could really ‘run’ wild :p
    I’ve tried fish tacos but not shrimp tacos yet, and I am looking forward to after reading your post and looking at the photo!:D

  35. k.m. says:

    Tomatoes in November?! No way we could grow them up here that late. I think I’ll just have to make do with shrimp tacos sans tomatoes, but I’m sure they’ll still be great.

  36. Pingback: NYC Signage Captured by my Sister « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  37. That is one good looking taco
    I love the addition of feta on top

  38. You had me at ‘green and pink sauce’ – what a lovely turn of phrase! I reckon my green thumb is probably sufficient for growing green tomatoes… and not much else 🙂

  39. Charles says:

    So colourful (both in name and in reality!) Looks really fresh and delicious – hey, I got an idea for you… wait until the first frost and then you can make black tomato salsa! Yummeh!

  40. We were fortunate to have an extended tomato season here and then ended up with a kitchen table full of ripening tomatoes…thus we had another few weeks of tomatoes.

    Tasty looking taco there!

  41. niasunset says:

    WOW! It looks great and should be so delicious too, Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  42. SimpleP says:

    Great! I need some light healthy food to trick me into thinking its warm outside :o)

  43. Good grief these sound good…I have had a long day with no dinner and I just read this and I am now ready to eat this blog.

  44. Oh my! These look and sound so good. My girls would love these, too. Will have to send them this one.

  45. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Cinco De Mayo Preparation | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.