Kale, Spinach and Bread Casserole

By Katherine

Cheese makes anything good

A coworker recently gave me a huge bag of kale her father had pulled from his garden and had planned to compost. I need a little help embracing greens sometimes, so I turned to our well-worn copy of The Complete Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking, a cookbook that’s sadly out of print. This is adapted from one of our favorite recipes in the book called Spinach Bread and Butter Casserole. The original calls for ciabatta — we used leftover sourdough — and lots of butter, hence the name. Now, I love butter as much as the next gal, unless that gal is Julia Child, but you’re supposed to butter each piece of bread in the dish, which adds up fast. Since I cut the butter so much, the extra cheese I added was a wash right?

Kale, Spinach and Bread Casserole

  • 1/2 pound spinach, rinsed
  • 1/2 pound kale, washed and trimmed
  • 1 pound sourdough, French or ciabatta, sliced thin
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • roughly 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 red onion, sliced thin
  • 4 ounces mushrooms
  • salt/pepper to taste
  • 4 ounces Gruyere, shredded
  • 2 ounces blue or Stilton cheese, crumbled
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 1/4 cup milk (skim is fine)
  • grated fresh nutmeg to taste

Blanch greens in boiling water for two minutes. Drain well, pressing out extra water. Use olive oil to grease a 9 by 13 pan. Spread bread slices along the bottom and sides of the dish. Fry the onion and mushrooms in butter for about five minutes, then add greens, salt, pepper and grated nutmeg to taste. Remove from heat. Cover the bottom layer of bread with spinach mix. You’ll have some left over. Cover with half the Gruyere and all of the blue cheese. Cover with remaining bread and cheese. In a small bowl mix eggs and milk. Pour over bread mixture and let sit for at least an hour to let the bread soak up the custard. Preheat oven to 375. Put the dish in a larger roasting pan and pour boiling water around it. Bake for 45 minutes or until risen and golden brown.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Kale, Spinach and Bread Casserole

  1. That looks realllllllllly good. Normally not a huge bread fan, but that looks fabulous!

  2. Carbs and cheese and butter, oh my! Sounds great.

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    Spinach, kale, gruyere, and stilton … together again! What a great combo of flavors!

  4. Sounds so tasty – never made something like this before.
    🙂 Mandy

  5. Jessica says:

    Wow, that sure looks good!

  6. Good comforting dish, but I can’t see that cutting back on butter and adding a lot more cheese can really help in the cholesterol war:)

  7. Purely.. Kay says:

    I am completely loving all the kale recipes I’ve been finding. And I LOVE spinach.. so this is perfect for me Katherine

  8. OOh that sounds good – all my favourite things in there at once!

  9. Great combo of flavors and great vegetarian delight. Is it starting to get a little bit cooler again where you live? Many people have seem to be making stews and baked dishes this week. Maybe its the weather?

  10. niasunset says:

    cheese makes anything so good…. This was so nice Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice day, with my love, nia

  11. Sounds good. I love greens!

  12. BrainRants says:

    This would make a really great side to a large hunk of roasted meat.

  13. zestybeandog says:

    This looks amazing, def my kind of dish! I love the cheesy kale and spinach goodness! This looks a lot like a pizza or a drunk pizza! I love it! I wish a had a piece right now! 🙂

  14. Mmmmm….looks delicious! Will be good for breakfast too. 🙂

  15. egg me on says:

    This recipe is right up my alley! And what a great way to get some extra greens. Extra cheese never hurt anyone. 😉

  16. Good Vegetarian dish with the health factor.

  17. This looks really good! I love meals that could be an anytime of the weekend day kind of thing 🙂

  18. Heaven…great ppost Rufus!

  19. P. Graham says:

    Fantastic! I was looking for another cool vegetarian dish besides eggplant parmesan (which I’m having tonight lol) Thanks for sharing 🙂

  20. Tandy says:

    Another must try recipe for sure!

  21. This recipe is timely for me: I have spinach, arugula and collard greens in the house. Thanks.

  22. Oh, I love this! It sounds kind of like a savory bread pudding and I always have greens on hand, both in the garden and in the CSA box. I will try this, and thanks for a new way to eat more greens!

  23. Courtney says:

    I’m like you, Katherine – gotta find a way to work in some greens somehow. This looks gorgeous and of course the cut in butter makes up for the cheese. 🙂

  24. chefconnie says:

    That casserole is very beautiful.

  25. nrhatch says:

    Yum! The anti-oxidants in greens will counter-balance the cholesterol in the cheese . . . right? 😉

  26. This casserole looks devilishly good. Yes, butter out = cheese in. Simple math.

  27. Gorgeous! I could eat the whole lot, spinach cheese & nutmeg is one of my favourite combos and perfect for this miserable weather we are having here just in time for the Easter processions! Looks like the crucifixion will be cancelled again!!

  28. Eva Taylor says:

    That sounds absolutely decadent, even though it has kale and spinach.

  29. Caroline says:

    Oooo I love kale, and what a great way to use it. That’s one heck of a casserole. Pretty sure I could eat a very large portion!

  30. Yes, YUM! The virtuousness of kale with the lovely decadence of cheese!!

  31. i will trade you my bread pudding today for your bread casserole? Deal/ it looks amazing

  32. k.m. says:

    I love kale, I can’t believe someone was just going to compost it all! Glad you saved it and gave it new life in this bread casserole.

  33. Hmm, I’ve never made an actual bread casserole. Yours sounds tasty with kale.

  34. ceciliag says:

    I have kale growing back from last year , this will be a fantastic weekend lunch! c

  35. Oh my, greens have never looked so good!

  36. Lauren says:

    I neeeeeeeeed some of this.

  37. Awesome sounds dish…some much goodness wrapped into one. And yes the extra cheese was necessary.

  38. This dish sounds divine! I love all the flavors with the gruyere, stilton,kale and spinach. A little dangerous for me to be around this, I would end up eating it all.

  39. Norma Chang says:

    Like all the ingredients in this dish, cannot wait to transplant my greens into the garden and start harvesting.

  40. Mad Dog says:

    That looks amazing – I’m a confirmed carnivore but I’d cook and eat that 😉

  41. Kristy says:

    Now this is heaven to me and the perfect way to eat greens in my opinion. 🙂

  42. Love all the ingredients in this dish. Can’t wait to try it. Sounds amazing.

  43. Pingback: Strawberry Orange Almond Crisp and a Terrific Casserole | bits and breadcrumbs

  44. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: One Dish Wonders | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  45. Dona Ahrens says:

    It doesn’t mention what to do with the left over spinach mix??

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.