Your one-stop shop for game day apps

Appetizers that is. We hear there’s some big game coming up, involves a pigskin and pricey tickets. Chances are we won’t be watching, except for during commercials. But the rest of you, at least the rest of you Americans, will be. Here are some appetizers we think are fit for a party:

Bruschetta with Portabellas, Red Bell Pepper and Caramelized Red Onion

Because tomatoes aren't in season

Spicy Shrimp Dip

What a fancy chips and dip container

Classic Guacamole

Really, it's healthy, I mean they are fruit.

Stuffed Mushrooms with Ham and Cheddar

Just pop them in your mouth

Jalapenos Stuffed with Feta

Bring on the spice or go crying home to momma

Cheese Dip

There is something about a bowl full of melted cheese

Devilishly Simple Deviled Eggs

I normally eat about 20 of these

Grilled Apples with Brie (What is February cold?)

The apple could even top circles of toasted bread

Baked Brie (If brushing snow off the grill isn’t an option.)

Garnished and ready to eat

Guinness Dip

Yipee cheese and beer

And here’s some we love from other bloggers:

Beer Battered Pickles from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen (Actually, just check out her football roundup, which includes meatballs, mini corn dogs, mozzarella sticks, pretty much everything. The woman’s a genius and really likes football.)

Sweet Potato Nachos with Chipotle Black Beans from Sports Glutton

Inside-Out Guacamole from Hot, Cheap & Easy

Lightened Up Samosas from Food is Therapy

Roasted Garlic Black-Eyed Pea Hummus from Bake Me Away

Eva’s take on Cheez-Itz from Kitchen Inspirations

Coctel de Camarones — Shrimp Cocktail from Sweet Caroline’s Cooking

Smoked Salmon Canapes on Potato Crisps from Savory Salty Sweet

Hot Buttered Fluffy Pretzels from Fifteen Spatulas

Feta and Aleppo Pepper Straws from MD Kitchen

Mini Barbecue Pulled Pork Pizza with Potato Pizza Dough from Kitchenbelleicious

Jalapeno Popper Dip from Gina Marie’s Kitchen

Sundried Tomato and Zuchini Dip with Warming Garlic-Chili Sauce from Inspired Edibles

Stuffed Beer Cheesy Poofs from Cheers Beers

Parmesan & Herb Zucchini Sticks from Savoring Today

Asian Chile-Garlic Chicken Wings and Baja Chicken and Slaw Sliders over at Pure Complex

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Your one-stop shop for game day apps

  1. Joanne Ozug says:

    Thank you for mentioning my hot buttered fluffy pretzels! I love this whole list. That baked brie is beautiful and I definitely need to try that sometime. PS I won’t be watching either HAHA.

  2. Gorgeous bruschetta and baked Brie. I never watch football.

  3. rutheh says:

    I am sharing this wonderful compendium of “apps” with a lot of friends. Not because they will be watching but because who needs a football game to make this amazing list of delicious fare?
    Well done.

  4. nrhatch says:

    We’ll be watching the GIANTS prevail over the NE Patriots. And we’ll be noshing along with the rest of you ~ pizza, chips, dips, nuts, and (of course) . . . CHOCOLATE!

    Thanks for the great round up.

  5. Oh my goodness my mouth is watering. So many delicious ideas for game day. I will have to give them all a try. I hope they turn out as yummy as yours.

  6. A_Boleyn says:

    Well, I won’t be watching the game either but I wouldn’t mind having this spread of appetizers around to nosh on. 🙂 And then a personal trainer to help me work off the calories.

  7. You never cease to amaze me with your ability to stuff foods into other foods. I imagine it’s only matched by your ability to make people want to stuff food into their mouths…

  8. Just going to check out the bruschetta as I have all the ingredients within arms reach! If they are as good as those stuffed portobellos of yours (love) then I will be a happy girl!! No football here, thank you very much!!

  9. Such a great variety! Can’t wait to check them all out. They all sound wonderful. Thanks so much for this.

  10. ceciliag says:

    Wow, i am not going to be watching a game, (though John and the Matriarch will) but I may show up for the food! great line-up! c

  11. One thing to say….
    GO PATS!!!!
    (I am a football girl, through-and-through!)

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    This is sure going to be a popular site over the next week. I wonder how much miss-directed traffic the “game day apps” is going to bring you? 🙂 There are so many tasty options that even the miss-directs will end up copying a recipe or two.

  13. Wow! Will have to make at least one of these.

  14. Stef says:

    Holy buckets, this is quite the line up! Pretty amazing. Thank you for sharing your ideas, as well as the thoughts of so many others, too!

  15. Amy says:

    Great roundup!

  16. Kristy says:

    Ya just had to put that brie en croute up there again didn’t you! Just when I got the cravings out of my system. 😉 Fabulous round-up.

  17. Thanks for the mention, you have a great lineup here! Enjoy the commercials and the food!

  18. Lea Ann says:

    Great post. Lots of good ideas in a one-stop shopping way. That bruschetta looks ALMOST as good as that caper anchovy goat cheese thing you made last summer. And people always ask for the recipe. It’s been my favorite go-to appetizer. I’ve also had that wrapped brie idea bookmarked for a long time. I just haven’t had the chance to try it. And you can’t beat deviled eggs.

  19. spicegirlfla says:

    Nice,nice!! Now I know where to go to grab some ideas!!!

  20. k.m. says:

    I am SO HUNGRY after reading this post (well, it doesn’t help that I haven’t eaten breakfast yet and it’s after noon…). Everything looks great, especially the Guinness dip, which I think I might make for the big day, depending if my boyfriend needs to work that day or not (he’s the football fan, though his beloved team isn’t playing). Otherwise if it’s just me…baked brie! Because why not?

    Also, thanks for mentioning my feta straws.

  21. I want to eat all of these for dinner. Thanks for giving my smoked salmon canapés a mention, and double thanks for rounding up all these great recipes.

  22. Wow… I didn’t even know there was a game! Now I have to find the channel so I have an excuse to make a few of these:)

  23. randommanda says:

    This post is perfect!! I’m bringing an appetizer to a Super Bowl party – so now I have some great ideas! That beer dip looks awesome… and I love baked Brie – although mine never looks as pretty as that. 😉 Thanks for the ideas!

  24. What a mouth watering roundup..bookmarking this post because there are so many recipes I want to try

  25. thanks Guys! I am so honored you mentioned my bbq pork pizza recipe! I must say you have a mighty fine list of amazing recipes i can’t wait to try.

  26. It’s the bruschetta and the apples for me please…. not if only I would get you guys to come over and cook for me as well….lol…

  27. niasunset says:

    WOW! these are all so beautiful, so beautiful dear Rufus, you are amazing. Thank you, Thank you, I will visit them all, have a nice week, with my love, nia

  28. Courtney says:

    Love the app round-up! Lots of great, tasty dishes to try out.

  29. GREAT recipes! Can’t wait to try the Guinness and Cheese Dip!

  30. Great round-up for the big game and many thanks for the love my friend.

  31. Can I order a serve of all of them… takeaway please?

  32. Why thank you for the mention guys :). And I must say… you have made me so hungry, that I got up and made my own deviled eggs LOL. Seriously. No joke.

  33. ....RaeDi says:

    Here it is late at night, catching up and now you have made me hungry, really hungry, love your post and your pictures!

  34. WOW, what a list of tasty treats!
    🙂 Mandy

  35. Love the bruschetta because I adore mushrooms, but the jalapenos stuffed with feta have me intrigued. I actually saw some fresh jalapenos at the market the other day but I was not game enough to try, excuse the pun.

  36. SimpleP says:

    Many thanks for including the Cheesy Poofs among such amazing choices. How on earth do you pick and choose? They all look so good!

  37. New England is in the Bowl, so I’m supposed to care, but I care more about what is on the plate and in the food bowl. Will be hitting these recipes hard come the weekend!

  38. Thanks for the shout out! This is an awesome post full of so much inspiration for game day 🙂

  39. zestybeandog says:

    These all look like winners in my book!

  40. Caroline says:

    Wooo thanks for the shout out! All of the appetizers you picked sound incredible. I wouldn’t even want to watch the game if all of this delicious food were in front of me.

  41. Pingback: game day ready. [pizza dip] «

  42. egg me on says:

    Ohhhh man. I want to make all of these. I totally forgot about your Guinness dip! Yippppeee, beer & cheese!

  43. Holly says:

    Too many words too many thoughts… ah these are an amazing round up!
    What’s the game? I’m totally unsporty… I’ll just sit at the buffet table instead!

  44. I think your house will be the place to be on game day! Yum!

  45. Oh my, what a great round up of apps for game day! How in the world do I decide which ones to make?!

  46. Love all the game day ideas…the apple and brie is a gorgeous one…based on the fanfare over the blogosphere, I’m guessing football is big in the States ;).

  47. jeanne says:

    Okay, so I have to admit that I thought your topic was game day “phone” apps…I am literally rofl at my myself…On a more sober note, these apps look fantastic!!!

  48. Christina says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I am loving all these appetizers…especially the bruschetta! I might have to give those a go on Sunday! 😀

  49. Thanks so much for the mention!!!! I will bring the guac….can I come to yours on game day?

  50. suzy staten price says:

    Love this!

  51. Great list guys! We have been kind of pre-occupied with life and such, this list is perfect to catch us up!

  52. Holy cow! Yum yum yum! I wouldn’t know what to dig into first…all of this stuff looks great guys!

  53. Jessica says:

    Wow, thanks for including me in this yummy roundup! The food is the only good thing about Superbowl Sunday. Well, I guess the commercials, but that’s what youtube is for.

  54. losangelas says:

    OH yum yum yum! it all looks delicious, thanks for the recipes!

  55. Carolyn Chan says:

    The mind boggles with all those choices!

  56. Pingback: Your one-stop shop for game day apps | Sad Man's Tongue Rockabilly Bar & Bistro – Prague

  57. Thank you so much for the mention, Greg. I’ll have a few more goodies tomorrow!

  58. Pingback: Go Team Go! And the Super Bowl Sunday Feeding Frenzy! « Kitcheninspirations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.