Glazed carrots with mint

What's up doc

This is one of our go-to side dishes. It’s especially great with pork or chicken and no matter how pathetic the produce drawer is looking we always have carrots on hand. We hadn’t made it in a while, but when we saw these whiskey glazed carrots and these honey vanilla glazed carrots over at The Driven Cook and these honey glazed carrots with a citrus kick at The Orange Bee, well let’s just say our memory was jogged.

Glazed carrots with mint

  • 6 large carrots, sliced thin (about 1/4 inch thickness)
  • 1-2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp fresh mint, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Toss in mint and stir to coat. Remove from heat and let sit for maximum minty freshness. Meanwhile, steam carrots until tender, about 5-8 minutes. Set aside. Return skillet to heat and add honey and brown sugar. Stir or whisk to incorporate and allow to thicken, about two minutes. Toss carrots into the mix and stir to coat and warm carrots, about two minutes. Serve warm.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Glazed carrots with mint

  1. Maureen says:

    Oh how I love carrots. Glazed with mint sounds so good. I’d probably slice a few grapes in there too just because I can. 🙂

  2. Yuri says:

    I’ve never had glazed carrots. This recipe and the other ones you mentioned sound so good. Want to try em all!

  3. nrhatch says:

    Yum! I love carrots . . . glazed and unglazed. Sometimes with glazed, I had pecans.

  4. BrainRants says:

    This would work great with pork or birds. A keeper.

  5. This would make a tasty dessert, as far as I’m concerned! But then I’m never averse to a sweet side dish, either.

  6. rutheh says:

    Carrots are the go to dish around this household, too. Tonight I sautéed grated carrots and zucchini for the family but these would have been nice/

  7. I often do “sweet” carrots as a side dish although I have not yet added the mint – love that idea.
    🙂 Mandy

  8. My mother used to tell me that glazed carrots would make my eyes look pretty. I bought that excuse for a long time until I didn’t.. but I love them now lol. Love your recipe.. I really should make some soon

  9. Oh yum! Can’t wait till my own carrots are big enough to try this!

  10. My Grandma use to make the best glazed carrots but I think after I make these that family recognition will belong to me!

  11. This is one of those times where Rufus would put a caption

    “another example of when vegetables aren’t good for you…”

    These are amazing!!

  12. sallybr says:

    We love glazed carrots, I’ve been making them with agave nectar sometimes, or with a little maple syrup for a change. They go well with so many types of main dishes!

    I tend to eye ball everything, somehow it always works 😉

  13. carrots and mint are perfect partners aren’t they. I can’t wait till spring, when I get the new pickings/thinings and pan fry them with mint and butter, oooooo so sweet ! In the meantime I’ll have to rattle the freezer door when I get home and make some of these 🙂

  14. Sissi says:

    The combination sounds very original and flavoursome. I must remember to test your recipe.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    What’s not to like about glazed carrots? This is another of your recipes headed for my recipe file.

  16. Courtney says:

    Love glazed carrots! Never had them with mint before…

  17. I have never added mint to my glazed carrots! You and Katherine always make me think of new ways to think of food. So glad you both share your ideas with us!

  18. Carrots are one of those vegetable sides that can really jazz up any meal, I suspect it’s due to their gorgeous bright orange colour that doesn’t seem to fade no matter the cooking method. Mint, Honey and Sugar sound like a very refreshing combination. Nice one again.

  19. spicegirlfla says:

    I agree, if there’s one thing always found in my fridge, its carrots!!

  20. Kristy says:

    Mint got me to eat some peas…I wonder if it will get me to eat carrots. Hmm. Might be worth a shot. 🙂

  21. Thank you for the mention – honey makes everything yummy!

  22. I always have carrots on hand too. Love the addition of mint

  23. I’ve never thought to pair carrots and mint. Very interesting!

  24. Now I know these taste good from experience. Haven´t been stalking you or anything, but it´s how my mum does hers!

  25. Wow, thanks for the mentions! I appreciate it. By the way, yours sounds GREAT with mint! Wish we still had some fresh stuff around here, but it’s awfully cold and snowy.

  26. Nothing like buttery glazed carrots, it ‘s absolutely awesome. Love your use of mint though as we normally just add parsley or chives 🙂

  27. Amy says:

    Mmmm, my mom used to make glazed carrots like this. They look great!

  28. Michelle says:

    Those look great. We had glazed carrots last night, too!

  29. 2girls10potatoes says:

    My boyfriend loves mint! I will have to make this for him.

  30. Oh yum! I love carrots and I’ve never combined them with mint before, but I’m going to have to try it now.

  31. niasunset says:

    I love carrots…. This recipe seems to be so delicious too… Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice week, with my love, nia

  32. Nice recipe with Healthy ingredients.

  33. This sounds lovely! Carrots are one thing I can get my mom to eat – not sure if she would eat these, but they might be a delightful change! She becomes more and more child-like. I know Ritchey and I will love them!

  34. No way these aren’t good. Sounds like have carrots are to you guys what scallions are to me.

  35. Young Wifey says:

    I just saw this floating around on Pinterest yesterday, not knowing it was coming from you! Don’t you just love seeing your stuff there? It’s always a big compliment!

  36. Pingback: Carrots and Parsley « A Cup of Tea With This Crazy Nia

  37. Alisa says:

    I haven’t made this in awhile…it looks wonderful! Will try this one with sweet potatoes. I love this 🙂

  38. I always have enough mint to supply juleps for the Kentucky Derby. It just takes over my whole yard. I will definitely try this because I love carrots, too.

  39. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Round of Comfort Food | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  40. hahaha, i just came from the kitchen having chopped lots of carrots!!! to find your post – ok! that’s for Lunch. Thanks. Carina

  41. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: More Cheese Please | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  42. Pingback: Green Beans and Toasted Almonds | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.