In-N-Out

Now that's a tasty burger.

Normally, I’m the first person to pass on stopping for fast food. I know a lot of people like it. After all fast food is full of fat and a single bite can have a complete day’s worth of calories. The problem is we don’t have to struggle to find food anymore, but many people still choose this option on a daily basis. Don’t even get me started on children’s meals. One day Ronald McDonald and Joe Camel will be seen as the same type of marketing ploy. Sure eating fast food on occasion is not going to hurt you, as long as you normally eat healthy and exercise.

The thing is most fast food tastes pretty bad. Seriously, stop eating it for a month and then try it again.

So I have always skipped fast food. That is unless I happen to be in a state that has an In-N-Out.

In-N-Out is fast food, but everything is fresh, hand made on the spot and the menu is simple. The fries are cut from real potatoes and the shakes are made from real ice cream. But it’s the three and only three burgers that take the gold star. The Double Double (In_N-Out’s name for a double patty), cheeseburger and hamburger are your choices. Of course from there you can add or subtract a list of condiments and toppings. There is even a secret code menu for different styles for those in the know. They say that if you can describe what you want, In-N-Out will make it happen. I always get a Double Double animal style and a strawberry shake. Animal style is one of the secret ways a burger can be prepared. We only make it out to California once a year or so. My next fast food fix will be a while coming.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Rants, Restaurants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.