Bloody Mary

So many vegetables make it a health drink, right?

In the senior year of college my roommates and I threw some fairly wild parties. Parties that didn’t end till the next day at the earliest. I discovered that my body required certain food stuffs and vitamins to keep going but the idea of eating usually turned bad two hours in. How to replenish my strength to continue going was solved by accident when I drank a Bloody Mary early one morning in between tequila shots. For the rest of the day I felt energized and ready to party like it was two days earlier when the party started. Later I realized the tomato juice and spices provided the much needed nutrients and vitamin boost my body needed to survive and thus continue abusing itself.

Nowadays I rarely go on weekend long benders (only four times a month) but tomato juice has become my hangover cure of choice. Yes it is absolutely disgusting, thick and repulsive going down, but its effect is almost instantaneous and lasts all morning at least. Of course it is always best administered as a component in a drink called the Bloody Mary. Some dubious internet research into the name brought me to a few sites that I pray had nothing to do with beverages, but thanks to all the crazy sexual deviants residing inside the World Wide Web (Mormons etc.) I can’t be sure even of that.

Overlooking the name and its many meanings, at least the drink is fairly simple and straightforward. At least if you buy a premade mix. Of course that leads to a drink that tastes like it was made by a bartender at a chain restaurant, otherwise known as a shoe salesman or hack. Over time and a lot of error I have discovered the perfect recipe. At least the perfect one for myself and if Samuel Beckett is right then it is perfect for everyone else as well. Enjoy.

Bloody Mary

  • 5.5 ounce can tomato juice
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • ¼ tsp fresh horseradish
  • 1 tsp Louisiana hot sauce
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • ¼ cup brine from a jar of pickled pepperincinis
  • 3-4 ounces quality vodka (I prefer Stoli)
  • Salt/ fresh pepper
  • Pint Glass
  • Stalk Celery
  • Olives

Crack enough fresh pepper to cover the bottom of glass. Add horseradish, lemon juice, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Mix till even. Add brine and tomato juice. Mix again. Add salt to taste. Add vodka till glass is 7/8 full. Fill with ice and garnish with celery and 2 olives if you have them. Remember the garnish should be eaten with the drink.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bloody Mary

  1. rutheh says:

    I would try it if you made it but have never tasted a Bloody Mary I enjoyed. I know people who swear by them. And I like tomato juice on occasion but almost never buy it. Ever. At a brunch I would choose the Mimosa over the BM. Hmmm. But you know what I mean.

  2. Pingback: Pepper Vodka | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  3. ....RaeDi says:

    Thank you Greg… I was going to check your site a couple of times before and when I was reading your post yesterday I just asked… it was nice of you to do this for me! It does sound good! I love a good Bloody Mary and I think this one has a lot of spirit even without the ‘spirits’ for me! I will give it a try and let you know!

  4. Pingback: Tomato Martinis | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  5. Pingback: Chipotle Pintos | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  6. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Breakfast for Dinner | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  7. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Booze Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  8. Pingback: In Our Kitchen: Pickling, Garlic and Eggs | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

