Sunday Suppers: Farmers Market Specials

We’re knee deep in okra and the purple hulls are showing up at the farmers market. This is a great Southern pairing. Don’t forget the sweet tea.

Stewed Okra

Bacon fat is good for you

Bacon fat is good for you

Purple Hulls

We put out the extra fancy drinking glass for this meal

We put out the extra fancy drinking glass for this meal

Cheddar Cornbread

Yes that is a cast iron skillet divided into slices for cornbread

Yes that is a cast iron skillet divided into slices for cornbread

Peach Cobbler

Simple cleanup skills there

Simple cleanup skills there

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Farmers Market Specials

  1. Boy, if that doesn’t scream Sunday Afternoon in August, I don’t know what does…I can hear the cicadas in the sweetgum trees… 🙂

  2. cecilia says:

    My mother in law would love this kind of feast, i especially need to learn how to make this cornbread for her.. Have a lovely lazy sunday ! Love from the farmy.. c

  3. nrhatch says:

    Now I am in the mood for cornbread . . . and peaches!

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Not a fan of okra, but I’ll take a slice of that corn bread with a good hunk of sweet butter!

  5. Karen says:

    Boy does this dinner remind me of home. Love each a every dish.

  6. Kristy says:

    Love, love, love the cobbler!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Those purple hulls are just as intriguing now as they were when I first read your recipe. Still haven’t seen any in the market, though. Maybe I need to check another market. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.