Red Curry with Shrimp and Green Beans

Break out the company chopsticks

Kroger has had some really crazy stuff on clearance lately. This last trip found some coconut milk and red curry paste marked down.

We used rice noodles but this would work equally well over white or brown rice. To cook rice noodles just divide as much as needed in a bowl and cover with boiling water. Then wait until the noodles get soft and stretchy, about 20 minutes.

Red Curry with Shrimp and Green Beans

  • 1 lb shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • 2 1/2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp red curry paste
  • 3 tbsp fish sauce
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 3 cups white mushrooms quartered
  • 2 cups green beans snapped into bite sized pieces
  • 1 lime
  • 2 jalapenos sliced into thin strips
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro chopped

Pour 1/3 coconut milk in a wok or large chef’s pan. Cook over medium heat until it separates and appears oily on the surface. Add the curry paste, sugar and fish sauce and mix well cooking for a minute. Add the mushrooms and cook for two minutes. Add the remaining coconut milk and zest of the lime and bring to a boil. Add the greens beans and half the cilantro. Cook for four minutes then add the shrimp, half the jalapeno slices and juice of the lime. Cook until shrimp is done, about four minutes. Serve curry over a bowl of rice noodles or rice garnished with more jalapeno slices and cilantro.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Indian, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Red Curry with Shrimp and Green Beans

  1. cht7 says:

    Oops! This looks so good! Seems pretty easy to make too. Will have to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Shrimp red curry … very yummy and I like having it over the noodles instead of rice.

  3. Kristy says:

    Kroger! I haven’t been to a Kroger in ages. This looks delicious. I think I’d prefer the noodles, but rice sounds good too.

  4. Wow… This looks great. I love the idea of serving it over noodles instead of rice πŸ™‚

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    That is such a great looking dish, Greg. Using red curry, for me, makes it really special. Another great recipe!

  6. rutheh says:

    Looks enticing as always! Nice colors. I think Kroger is great but we don’t have one in Pittsburgh.

  7. What a fabulous curry recipe. In my stock cupboard I have coconut milk, and fish sauce in the fridge. I think it needs to get done:)

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    Curry and shrimp, whats not to like in that delicious plate

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    We had Thai last night! I’ve never tried red curry, we always do the green curry. Sounds like something I have to try.

  10. billpeeler says:

    Love, LOVE anything with curry and anything with coconut milk. This looks great – and the shrimp appear to be the star of the show – love this ——

  11. Mad Dog says:

    I haven’t been to Koger in 20 years! I was always surprised at the differences between the stores in Atlanta – I think they were good at looking at their demographic and stocking the shelves accordingly.

  12. deliciously spicy!

  13. TasteFood says:

    I love red curry with shrimp. Great recipe.

  14. I wish my husband liked curry. Maybe like you wished Katherine liked mayo?

  15. I’ve never seen the Blytheville Kroger have clearance items like that. Jealous.

  16. spree says:

    This is so everything that I love! Really fabulous-sounding recipe Greg!! This is going on the list of musts!

  17. Fantastic – my perfect dish!

  18. Mmm, crazy for spicy red and green curries!!

  19. egg me on says:

    Kroger! Ah, that makes me miss home. Who needs take-out when you can make this? Great stuff.

  20. Carolyn Chan says:

    Delicious meal in a bowl!

  21. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: One Dish Wonders | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.