Potato Puffs

They can be used as pillows. Tasty fluffy pillows

These beauties are adapted from a recipe in a book we’ve had so long the spine is loose. It’s called Potatoes & Rice. What can I say, we like our carbs. We couldn’t find the title on Amazon, probably out of print. But the authors, Alex Barker, Sally Mansfield & Christine Ingram, have a number of other books.

Potato Puffs

  • 3 medium-sized potatoes (about 10-12 ounces)
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp chopped parsley or herb of your choice
  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup shredded Gruyere
  • oil/butter

Skin potatoes and cook in boiling water until tender. Mash with 1/4 cup milk and two tablespoons butter. Salt and pepper to taste, keeping in mind the cheese is a bit salty. Stir in herbs. Heat oven to 400. In a blender or food processor, combine 1 cup milk, eggs and flour. The batter should be about the consistency of pancakes. Place about a 1/2 tsp oil or butter in the bottom of four six-ounce or six four-ounce ramekins. Place on a baking sheet and pop in the oven to heat oil, about two to three minutes. Pull out and swirl ramekins to coat the sides. Divide half the batter into the bottom of the ramekins. Top each with about a tablespoon of the mashed potatoes and divide the cheese on top of the potatoes. Pour the remaining batter on top of the potato and cheese mix. Bake for about 15-20 minutes until the puddings are golden and puffed. Serve warm. The potatoes can be mashed ahead of time.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Potato Puffs

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    The photo link is broken but reading that made my mouth salivate ! YUM

  2. Carolyn Chan says:

    OK photo is up and now I’m hungry as well.

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    I’ve never heard of anything like this recipe. I’d be curious to see what it looks like under that puffy top. 🙂

  4. An interesting side dish for just about anything. Is it soft inside? I think my meat and potato teenagers would put this one on top of their list.

  5. TasteFood says:

    These are brilliant – and very dangerous!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    The tops look like they have just the right amount of crunch. Now that’s perfection!

  7. nrhatch says:

    Oh, my! Those are BRILLIANT! 😀

  8. Very cool… they’re almost a heartier version of the yorkshire pudding! Love it! And now you have to keep posting all of those recipes since we can’t buy that book:)

  9. Tandy says:

    these looks seriously awesome 🙂

  10. Purely.. Kay says:

    This just looks wonderful, fattening, delicious, and carby.. I LOVE IT! My top of dish let me tell ya 🙂

  11. kat says:

    i love that you made them in tiny ramekins! always super cute 🙂

  12. Oh wow, I love this! You know I´m a HUGE potato fan….I need that book 😦

  13. Must have NOW!
    🙂 Mandy

  14. BrainRants says:

    Mmmm… carbs….

  15. Eva Taylor says:

    These look great, Greg. No reason why I couldn’t adapt them to be carbless! I think I might just do that, thank you for the inspiration! It’s very soufflée like!
    Happy Friday!

  16. Daughter and SIL are coming in this weekend…thank you again for the inspiration! I love bringing out my chantal ramekins…so cute.

  17. sallybr says:

    Words fail me.

    I must make this.

  18. Love it. Anytime the word pillow can be uttered against potatoes in a recipe is a winner in my book.

  19. I just tabbed this and sent this to my mom. This is one serious looking recipe! How fabulous would it be to serve as a side. One question though, you mention milk and butter twice in your ingredients, is this correct?

  20. Michelle says:

    Oooh, so sort of like mashed potato and cheese-stuffed popovers. What a great idea!

  21. egg me on says:

    I’m just lay my head down … right … here … mmm. Tasty little pillows. I think it’s cooler if the book really is out of print. Classic recipes never go out of style, they’re just forgotten for a little while.

  22. Oh….leftover mashed in the fridge right now…might have to do these for dinner!
    Estimate the after-mashing volume for me – a cup? Two? More? I just need an idea of how to adjust for what I have on hand…

  23. Wow! Sort of like a mashed potato souffle! The title, potato puffs, had me worried…

  24. You had me at Gruyere. Wonderful.

  25. zestybeandog says:

    I love it, these look like my kinda little side dish for sure, I need some cute ramekins like these though! 🙂 Cheers!

  26. billpeeler says:

    This looks brilliantly simple – not a lot of ingredients and it yields such an interesting dish. Will definitely be trying this —-

  27. Andrea says:

    Holy Potato Goodness Batman, these look amazing!

  28. Mad Dog says:

    Fantastic – I bet I could eat a lot of those!

  29. OMG those look fabulous! Definitely going on my list of things I have to make!

  30. Oh wow, pure carbicide! This is such a gorgeous thing, I have to have it. Sunday sounds good then I can enjoy my carb coma afterwards!!

  31. Courtney says:

    You can’t go wrong with potatoes, ever. That sounds like a great cookbook. 🙂

  32. This sounds like a totally innocent way to eat potatoes. Potato Puffs! They must be light and calorie free, no????? Ahhhh….

  33. needtotaste says:

    These would make a fun brunch. These would make a brunch fun!

  34. Although I love potatoes and all kinds of potato dishes, I’ve never heard of this cute potato puffs yet! Ohhh I need to try this for sure. Adding Gruyere? I’m totally in. Looks so good!

  35. kitchenbelleicious says:

    no words- just CLASSIC! I will be making these this weekend. I can;t believe I have never seen this before but I LOVE IT TO PIECES

  36. Every time I try to double up the carbs in a meal or dish, Liz gives me an evil look. I need to hang out with you guys more often.

  37. Have a Great Weekend!!!

  38. Caroline says:

    Who doesn’t like carbs? I’m sure all of us foodies are in agreeance that you’ve gotta have ’em once in a while. These potato puffs look well worth the extra calories…yum!!

  39. Karen says:

    Greg, this sounds delicious as I am a real potato girl. I have a question. If each ramekin only gets 1 tablespoon of potato mixture and you only have six at the most, could you do with less whole potatoes?

  40. Jessica says:

    Wow, these sound amazing. I’ve been meaning to try popovers, but think these might be even more tempting.

  41. Mary says:

    These sound delicious! I just pinned the recipe to try soon. Love your ramekins too!

  42. Kristy says:

    First of all, anything in a ramekin wins me over. Second of all, the golden brown color on these – fabulous!!! I’d eat all five of those pictured, and probably the ones not pictured as well. 🙂

  43. These puffs are such a delicious idea – like a souffle but for savoury? I am so in 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Colossal Caramel Peanut Monster Cookies

  44. themoviespecial says:

    These sound and look so good that I might actually have to try to make them myself!

  45. ....RaeDi says:

    I am a potato person, any way you make them, and I have had this in Charleston, SC years ago, thank you for the recipe! Love the photo!

  46. These look too good – mashed potatoes and Yorkshire puddings in one!

  47. Pingback: Fizzy cake « Two Spoons

  48. Oh boy! I could go for some of this right now. Like I said, our family loves potatoes anyway you fix them. Have to make these for the whole family.

  49. It reminds me of butterscotch icecream.

  50. This is beautiful. I need it now!

  51. KBL says:

    Well Greg, I didn’t have the Gruyere, nor the ramikins but the substitutes I used worked well. I have these little 6oz. glasses that came with tiramisu in them. (yum) So they totally work for baking. And I mixed three cheeses. I did price the gruyere, at $8 for a half pound and all the other cheeses we had in the house I couldn’t justify it this time. So I went with some swiss, a wee bit of NY extra sharp cheddar and some Boar’s head white cheddar with horseradish in it. i was looking fo rhat little bit of extra tang. The one I actually ate I couldn’t taste the cheese at all.

    I was also wondering about that one tablespoon of potatoes. I couldn’t imagine where the rest went! So I piled the potatoes on thicker. Not bad, really. I needed deeper dishes & more cheese however. I also think my batter could’ve been thinner, but I was low on flour so substituted 1/3 cup whole wheat for the extra 1/3 cut of flour. I realized it would probably need more milk, but we were out. Still not bad. It did take longer to bake, maybe because of the substitution of glasses for the ramikins, they had wide sloping sides, not vertical.

    Some of the pototatoes managed to escape, and the batter was a bit doughy on the bottom of the one I ate (maybe needs a 2nd egg too?) But all in all quite tasty. Much like the yorkshire pudding we’ve made (substituting butter) and puffs. I’ll see what the roommate says when she returns later.

    I can;t wait to try these again, without modifications!

  52. Pingback: Potato Puffs «

  53. Pingback: Do the mashed potato, now do that twist! | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  54. Misky says:

    Greg, do you think I could achieve the same result with this recipe using a small-ish souffle dish? I want to try this on a pre-Christmas test-run.

  55. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Leftover Magic Part #2 | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  56. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Thanksgiving Leftover Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.