Citrusy biscotti two ways

All I need now is an espresso

These two cookies feature our favorite ingredients marmalade and limoncello. Linda over at Savoring Every Bite, aka the biscotti queen, inspired us to come up with the marmalade ones. The limoncello ones, pictured below, are all hers. OK, the recipe is, we ate the cookies. You can see her recipe here.

Orange Biscotti

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cup flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp marmalade
  • 1 tsp orange flower water
  • 1/4 cup milk

For glaze

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup marmalade

Preheat oven to 375. In a stand mixer, cream butter and sugar until incorporated. Add eggs and marmalade and mix again until incorporated.  Add remaining dry ingredients and milk and blend until incorporated. Spread batter on a greased cookie sheet in two batches forming roughly two-inch by 12-inch logs. Bake for about 20 minutes, until cooked through and golden on top. Remove from oven and let cool slightly. When cool enough to handle cut into diagonal slices. Lay them flat on the pan and return it to the oven. Cook for about 10 minutes more, flipping cookies about half way through to brown both sides. In the meantime, mix ingredients for the glaze. If the marmalade is thick, you may need to add honey to the mix, a teaspoon at a time. Ice cookies when cool enough to handle.

Make it a pot of espresso

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Citrusy biscotti two ways

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    2 great citrus-y biscotti in one post! We’re not worthy! I loved Linda’s for the limoncello and now yours for the marmalade. And that glaze makes both look far too tempting. What a post!

  2. BrainRants says:

    Oh for god’s sake, tell me how much money it takes to get you here to be a live in chef. *scream*

  3. rutheh says:

    When these are baking, the fragrance in the kitchen must be heaven! Made biscotti yesterday but they were not as exciting as your recipe.

  4. rsmacaalay says:

    I love this always with a freshly brewed coffee.

  5. Rose water and marmalade..these must smell heavenly and taste even better

  6. Oooooh, these would be perfect for my morning milk coffee! Heavenly!!!

  7. Holly says:

    Ah amazing! I’d love these to be at home waiting for me!

  8. Ohhhh….. yes indeedy. Not home for another week, but I think these (both kinds) need to be looked at in greater detail.

  9. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!

  10. I love biscotti but rarely make them because they are so hard to stop at one. I imagine that is doubly true of your version…

  11. Gorgeous – and I love the glazes!

  12. I love limoncello… it is a little dangerous in the wrong hands with the right mixers…

  13. Just beautiful! I’ll bet they taste as good as they look!

  14. Charles says:

    Digging that frosting, and it’s made with marmelade too? Incredible. I could totally take a few of those with my cup of coffee right now 🙂

  15. Judy says:

    I love citrus flavors and on a recent post I used the word citrusy and my spell check didn’t like it one bit. I used it anyway, just because it is a great descriptive word. BTW, these look amazing.

  16. TasteFood says:

    Love biscotti – thanks for the new ideas!

  17. ceciliag says:

    Oh yes biscotti and coffee! just lovely, and with that citrus hit.. mm. c

  18. Just drinking my coffee and am lacking biscotti….not a good start to the day.

  19. Young Wifey says:

    Looks fantastic!!! I made a citrus biscotti too, but mine has white choc chips and dark choc chips in it!

  20. nrhatch says:

    Oh, my . . . those look FABULOUS! 😀

  21. Colline says:

    These look delicous – and show me what is lacking next to my cup of coffee!

  22. Courtney says:

    Wish I could reach through the screen and have some this morning! Looks lovely!

  23. These look excellent! I love making biscotti around the holidays and can hardly believe we’re almost at that time of year!

  24. Kas says:

    YUM! You can’t go wrong with a good biscotti.

  25. Mariann says:

    Biscotti one of the simple and great tasting pleasures when taking a break during the day! Biscotti is great with coffee..but, soo good with tea, too!
    Cheers,
    Everyday Tea
    http://www.everydaytea.wordpress.com

  26. Mariann says:

    Biscotti is such a wonderfully versatile treat with coffee or tea!
    I saw your post and grinned, I just posted about oranges in my blog about tea!
    Love you’re using orange flower water…definitely elevates this biscotti to extraordinary!
    Cheers!
    Everyday Tea
    http://www.everydaytea.wordpress.com

  27. Kristy says:

    I would love a glaze on biscotti! How absolutely delicious. I love the orange peel on the top and the use of orange flower water as well.

  28. Now you’ve hit on two of my favorite things in the world…biscotti and marmalade, surely a combo made in heaven! I love making biscotti and am definitely going to try these…and the limoncello ones, too. I made orangecello last year and I bet it would sub well.

  29. OMG! Lemon anything is my favorite! I have a bottle of Limoncello in the freezer. But what I want to know is when do you guys go to work, or do you? The best Limoncello I ever tasted was a bottle of homemade on a boat in the Cinque Terre, floating from Manarolo to Monterosso. Heaven on earth – I’m quite sure the Prosecco had nothing to do with the greatness of the day!

  30. Amy says:

    Yum, I love biscotti…and citrus!

  31. Of course not being a big bread eater lol.. I may consider making this for my sister on her birthday. I think she may love this

  32. Glaze on biscotti. Great idea!

  33. Sissi says:

    Beautiful photos and delightful recipes! The limoncello ones look a bit softer and very moist… (or is it my imagination?).

  34. Another marmalade biscuit for me! Perfect!

  35. egg me on says:

    Lookin’ good! That bit of candied orange on top looks great.

  36. spicegirlfla says:

    Now marmalade is a new one for me!! and you know I will be baking up a batch of these for my biscotti jar!! I’m putting it on my baking list! You know, I stopped turning my biscotti on the 2nd bake many years ago simple placing them straight up for 20 minutes, instead of the 10/10. I really can’t tell the difference! Thanks so much for the mention and I’m thrilled you made them!!

  37. These biscotti look very tasty, I never thought to do them with marmalade (I love the tanginess of marmalade). It’s very odd, I had thought I had posted a comment here already, but our internet at home has been spotty at best, so it may not have taken. I have yet to try a recipe, my neighbour makes us a batch at Christmas every year and they are soooo yummy with an espresso.

  38. limoncello! yes, please.

  39. Can’t wait to make these this weekend!

  40. ambrosiana says:

    These are delicious!!!! I would eat them with a frothy cappuccino!!!!!

  41. SimpleP says:

    I make biscotti every year for the holidays. This is totally going on my cookie list. Citrus and limoncello…love it!

  42. Jessica says:

    Beautiful! Orange flower water sounds fancy.

  43. How is it you make cooking and baking look so darn easy! And of course all turn out looking to delicious to eat. My baking and cooking… ehh…not so much. Love these. : )

  44. This looks just wonderful and I bet it is, too!

  45. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  46. Pingback: “Those” Biscotti | bits and breadcrumbs

  47. Pingback: Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti « homemadeadventure

  48. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: More Biscotti for Santa | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.