Braised Leg of Lamb

You can cut through the bone like butter in some parts

Normally I would make this dish with a cheap cut of beef, since leg of lamb is a little expensive to be braised for so long. A week ago the grocery put a couple of them on clearance and I figured why not live high on the hog. When finished, the meat is so tender it falls from the bone. If you use beef any cheap 4-6 lb roast will do.

This dish works well served with potatoes or any other heavy rustic side dish. The pan juices can be served strained fresh from the pot or thickened with a roux to make a more standard gravy. The recipe below is adapted from The Silver Spoon.

Braised Leg of Lamb

  • 4-6 lb leg of lamb
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp brandy
  • 1 bottle dry white wine
  • 1 leek chopped
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 2 stalks celery chopped
  • 8 cloves garlic
  • 3 whole cloves
  • 2 tbsp fresh oregano chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh tarragon chopped
  • Salt/pepper

Preheat oven to 305 degrees. Melt butter and oil in a large stock pot over medium heat. Season leg of lamb with salt and pepper add to pot and brown all over. Add brandy and bring to heat. Light liquid on fire and flambé for a moment. Cover with lid to put out flames. Arrange vegetables, garlic and cloves around meat and add bottle of wine. Add spices and bring to a simmer. Cover pot and place in oven. Braise until done, about 5 hours. The meat will be fully browned and falling off the bone. Remove meat to a cutting board and let rest for 15 minutes. Meanwhile strain liquid into a bowl pressing as much juice from the vegetables remaining. Serve as gravy or make a roux with ¼ cup butter and 1/3 cup flour add strained liquid and whisk until thickened.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Lamb, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Braised Leg of Lamb

  1. JamieAnne says:

    Wow! This looks wonderful.

  2. Your description of this piece of meat nearly made me drool. Lamb is far and away my favorite meat… particularly when it’s falling off the bone.

    We should have a dinner party. The kind where you cook lamb. 🙂

  3. Kristy says:

    That is some good looking meat! I like the addition of brandy to this too. I’ve never lit liquid on fire before. I watch it done on TV all of the time, but I’m scared to death to do it.

  4. joshuafagans says:

    I’m definitely a big fan of lamb though it’s been a bit warm here for a braise. This might have to wait a few months. The Silver Spoon is a great book though.

  5. Oh yum! Lamb can be quite pricey but when done well it is sooo good. Love this recipe! Thanks for sharing.

  6. A_Boleyn says:

    Brandy/fire … not a situation that I would want to risk knowing my own clumsiness but if someone were to serve this to me I wouldn’t say no. It sounds delicious. Do you think a good quality vegetable stock could be substituted for the white wine … maybe with some white wine vinegar to replace the acidity in the wine?

    I’m not familiar with lamb, as my mom never served it to us, but I experimented once I was on my own and deboned a leg, by trial and error, opened it up into a rectangle which I then spread with pesto, rerolled and roasted over rosemary potatoes and it was amazingly delicious.

  7. Okay, did you just say “why not live high on the hog”? I am convinced now that I can type country slang around you and you will totally understand me lol. I love that! Now back to this braised leg of lamb… I love it! I would definitely try it but now I have to wait till it comes on sale here lol. It is expensive but I can’t wait to try it

  8. Carolyn Chan says:

    I don’t eat lamb but I always say that I wish I did because of dishes like this !! Looks so good…

  9. Very interesting. I’ve never thought of making lamb like this.

  10. I am beginning to suspect you have a camera in my kitchen! I need to make some space in our freezer for the next batch of “Fat Boy” chickens and took a small leg of lamb out of the freezer last night and woke up this morning thinking “how shall I cook it?”. This looks delicious and I love recipes you can prep and then leave cooking slowly…and it has cooled down here so ok to put the oven on. My mum loves The Silver Spoon book…I need to think seriously about buying it.

  11. Good post, and I love the “Silver Spoon”. Long cooking lamb would be anathema in France – a 2.5kg “gigot” would cook for 40 minutes at the most! However, there is something very appealing about the recipe, which reminds me of Greek cooking.

  12. Love tender meat dishes. And the gravy looks delicious!

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    Now I am getting hungry, this is real nice meal indeed. I only use lamb leg on special occasions, I wanna eat at your place

  14. Charles says:

    Never cooked a lamb-leg before but it’s not something to be eaten every day – quite pricey alas. I loves me some tender melt-off-the-bone meat though so this looks right up my alley 😉

  15. niasunset says:

    I don’t eat lamb, but your recipe, especially with all these delicious ingredients, should be so tasteful. Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  16. rutheh says:

    Your post and recipe are timely, with our change of temperature and seasons. Getting ready to cook like this for groups who will gather in so we don’t mind the coming of the winter months.
    Looks comforting. Will share with our New Zealand neighbor who loves lamb.

  17. This looks absolutely delicious! While I sip my coffee and munch on toast at 5:30 a.m. I am thinking your braised lamb would be oh so much better. : )

  18. ceciliag says:

    Oh lamb! One more month and we will have lamb in the freezer and again this looks like a dish i can leave to cook itself while i work. So i shall return to this page, clutching my bottle of wine in the very near future.. c

  19. Mmmm, I do love good lamb. Leg is pretty much reserved for family dinners and restaurants these days – the last time we made one for just the two of us, I felt horribly guilty when we didn’t eat all the leftovers…

    One caveat to your ‘any cheap beef roast’: as long as it has good marbling. A lean roast doesn’t do so well in this case.

  20. Is that lamb “well done”?
    WOW… It looks like it is.
    Here we all like our meat well done (actually I don’t really like meat at all)…and it’s hard to find decent recipes that say to cook it all the way…. !!

  21. This looks seriously delicious. Beef isn’t quite the same as lamb – lamb is in a class of it’s own. Delicious!

  22. Amy says:

    I love lamb, and this looks super tender. Now if only I could find some on sale…

  23. ChgoJohn says:

    What a lucky find getting leg o’ lamb on sale! Braising it was a great idea and it looks delicious. Great post!

  24. spicegirlfla says:

    Mmm… this I love! Tender lamb just falling off the bone! This will be great for a weekend dinner, slowly cooking for hours. I’ll pay the price for a dinner like this!!

  25. Joanne says:

    Every time I decide it’s time to give up on lamb, I see something like this! I made lamb shanks recently and they were so stinky and gross! The sauce was so good too, such a shame. I wonder if it was secretly mutton and the grocery store tried to sell it as lamb lol.

  26. Stefanie says:

    I love lamb and this looks so good! Gotta love tender meat that falls right off, just asking to be eaten 🙂

  27. Caroline says:

    I can’t stop staring at that gravy….seriously. Can’t. stop. Looks delicious!

  28. ambrosiana says:

    Great reminder that I should cook lamb!!! I also love Silver Spoon since you never go wrong with it! Bravo!

  29. I have done grilled lamb but never braised! I am loving the sound of it along with all those seasonings! I am kinda jealous though- our meat department is great but they are always running out of the lamb. I never knew it was so popular until i started cooking with it more! Those legs look amazing:)

  30. Sissi says:

    As much as I love rare lamb cutlets, I adore lamb leg meat falling off the bone. It’s funny because last week my butcher had lamb leg on special price too and… I have also baked it for several hours on low heat, but after tasting it (it wasn’t bad) I thought: next time I will cover it! This is exactly what you have done! It looks heavenly and must taste incredibly good.

  31. ceciliag says:

    Popping back in.. I saw a comment of yours on another post about all the wonderful things you can do with green tomatoes, I am hoping this means you have a fried green tomatoes recipe up your sleeve! out with it!! c

  32. Just subscribed to your blog and I think I am a fan already.

  33. ....RaeDi says:

    Greg, this is absolutely beautiful, the picture, the lamb, the gravy…. everything! I love it and lamb too. I am not showing this to T he will want it tomorrow night for dinner and I do not think I could find lamb on sale right now (will have to use beef,) love it so but it has gotten so expensive! We’ll be pulling up a chair any day now! ….RaeDi

  34. Lea Ann says:

    I’ve prepared leg of lamb exactly once in my life and it was wonderful! Must dig out my version and blog about it .. now if only I could just get a leg on sale. With the price of lamb maybe we should change that old saying to “living low on the lamb” Just doesn’t have the same ring does it.

    The Silver Spoon is a great resource with some wonderful recipes.

    • Everything is expensive these days when it comes to food, so the stuff that’s always expensive is even worse. We really lucked out and sometimes we just compare the prices to what we’d pay eating out and bite the bullet…

  35. sonsothunder says:

    Flambe’ed And Braised…sounds delicious.

    Thanks Greg.
    Fried Green Tomatoes, for us has always been pretty much like everything else in the southern U.S. and, apparently Scotland…Batter, and fry…wet batter works good, but not necessary.

  36. This is a homerun! My grandmother use to make a beautiful roasted leg of lamb and this reminds me of it. She would serve it with noodle kugel and roasted potatoes and carrots. Your lamb looks and sounds divine. I can almost smell the heavenly aroma that must have infused your kitchen. Someday I’ll have to post her “famous” noodle kugel recipe.

  37. I really want to eat more lamb and this looks like a briliant recipe. Unfortunately, we just received 160 pounds of beef and 90 pounds of pig from our local farmer…hence we are on a beef/pork diet until I can clear some space in the freezer. Not the worse thing in the world though.

  38. egg me on says:

    Braised meat! Awesome. Let’s bottle up that gravy. I’ll pay for it!

  39. crustabakes says:

    i love the term “meat falls of the bone”! this looks delicioussssss

  40. Andrea says:

    THis looks amazing. I guess it’s time to dust off that cookbook! Lamb in sale!? Boy, are you lucky! I wish that would happen here!

  41. sydandpia says:

    Need to make it a point to try this dish sooner than later, tnks for such a great post.

  42. Leg of Lamb, Lamb Kabobs, Lamb in Pita, Roasted Lamb, Grilled Lamb…Baaaaaa….I like lamb. Your recipe is easy looking and very juicy…I don’t like dried out lamb….very juicy and delicious is what you have done with lamb…Bravo.

    • I was worried at first, because I like mine pink. But this was so tender! When we were in Scotland, Katherine was going gaga over the lambs. I said, guess you won’t be ordering lamb tonight for dinner. She said, don’t be ridiculous.

  43. Sandra says:

    I can’t wait to try this.

  44. BRILLIANT recipe! What a decadent meal! Fabulous.
    Have a super day.
    🙂 Mandy

  45. Oh my! it looks and sounds heavenly
    can I say that again…WOW!

  46. TasteFood says:

    I love lamb and this braise sounds wonderful.

  47. spiderpaw says:

    Too ironic. I was just asking Sheila yesterday about cooking some lamb. Back in the UK we ate a ton of it, always with mint sauce too. Here at home we have never made it. This looks too good to pass up.

  48. nancyc says:

    I’ve never made lamb before, but this sounds like a great recipe!

  49. I have to admit, until recently, I was not a lamb eater. No, I had no ethical reasons why not to eat the cut little furry buggers, just olfactical reasons. I just didn’t like the way it smelled. Then one day, I was at a cocktail party and they served lamb Popsicles — YUM. And they didn’t smell! The difference seems to be Ontario lamb smells bad, but New Zealand lamb does not. I am now a converted lamb eater. Thanks for the recipe, Greg.

  50. zestybeandog says:

    This looks amazing, I’m done looking at your blog (for today) b/c now I’m starving and it’s only 9:41am! 🙂

  51. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Meat and Potatoes Never Get Old | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.