Tapas for Two

I ran out of goat cheese or there would not be any bread showing through at all

I love the flavor of anchovies and capers, something this spread uses in spades. My wife, who also likes their flavor, felt that I may have gone overboard with the anchovies. For those of you who prefer a slightly lighter taste cut the anchovies to three. Any good crusty bread works with this. I served this with the bruschetta below one night when we were looking for cool recipes that used up garden tomatoes.

Mushrooms with Capers and Anchovies

  • 4-6 shitake mushrooms stems diced caps sliced thin
  • 8-10 anchovy fillets minced
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp salted capers washed and chopped
  • 2 tbsp dry vermouth
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • Salt/pepper

Melt 1 tbsp butter with 1 tbsp olive oil in a frying pan and saute mushrooms until browned. Add anchovies and garlic and cook until the fish liquifies. Add capers and parsley and cook on medium for a minute more. Add vermouth and deglaze pan. Season with salt and pepper. Serve with crusty bread slices covered in a layer of goat cheese.

Really ripe vegetables and really stale bread, who would have thought it was a good idea

Really good bruschetta depends on really good ripe tomatoes. When it comes to what else goes in it that really depends on the person making it. It also helps to have lots of leftover homemade bread on hand but a good french loaf from the store will work in a pinch. I like to serve the tomato topping separate from the toasted bread so people can spoon on as much as they want.

Bruschetta

For bread

  • 1 loaf Italian, French or other crusty bread preferably stale
  • 1 garlic clove
  • olive oil

Cut bread into 1/4-1/2″ thick slices. Brush each side with olive oil and bake at 350 degrees until toasted flipping once. When done, take garlic clove and rub on each side liberally. If you make enough bread you may need 2 cloves garlic.

For topping

  • 3-6 medium tomatoes
  • 1/2 red onion diced fine
  • 2 tbsp basil
  • 2 tbsp high quality balsamic vinegar
  • salt/pepper
  • olive oil to taste

Mix everything together, season to taste with salt and pepper and spoon over bread.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Tapas for Two

  1. nrhatch says:

    Yummy! During tomato season, I top baguettes, bagels, tortilla chips, etc., with sliced or diced tomatoes, garlic salt, and crushed black pepper. Summertime!

  2. I enjoy making my favorite dishes with my family. Thanks for sharing this recipe today! I enjoyed reading your blog post very much thanks again!

  3. Anchovies and capers are THE two best flavour enhancers – good thinking.

  4. That bruschetta sounds like a really interesting thing to make.. I love the idea of brushing the garlic onto the bread when it’s done toasting!.

  5. niasunset says:

    First of all the photographs are amazing, making us to taste 🙂 But the recipes are so nice too, exactly taking place in my recipe notebook, dear Rufus, Thank you, with my love, nia

  6. The tomatoes look perfect!

  7. Maureen says:

    You could feed me bruschetta every day of the week and I don’t think I could get tired of it. Garlicky, tomatoey, oniony, basilly – delicious!

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    I cannot remember the last time I sat at Zia’s table and she didn’t serve some lightly toasted bread that had been rubbed with garlic. Such an easy yet tasty preparation! And I love your combining anchovies & capers with mushrooms. Great idea!

  9. Looks so fresh and flavorful.

  10. bruschetta is one of those simple little dishes that too often get passed over for something more flashy. Not for me though. Home made bread, your own grown tomatoes and garlic- heaven!

  11. Two brilliant recipes Greg.
    🙂 Mandy

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Shiitake and anchovies, great combo.

  13. It all looks wonderful (and stunning photos), so we´re booking a ticket and heading over for a tapas session!

  14. Charles says:

    There’s something about tomatoes, basil, olive oil and garlic isn’t there? I made a bruschetta topping one day and then realised I didn’t have any bread (oops). Was perfectly delicious as a side salad – so delicious!

  15. Sissi says:

    Mushrooms with capers and anchovies are probably the most original tapas combination I have ever seen! You should patent it!

  16. Both look absolutely yummy. Great post!

  17. I am one of the few people that actually like anchovies! I’ll have to try this recipe out and bruschetta is the perfect addition to your tappas!

  18. Everytime you make something with ripe tomatoes, I run outside and look at my green ones to see if by chance one of them is ripe. Not yet. Very soon I hope. This looks wonderful. Hopefully, I can try it soon. Have a good week.

  19. egg me on says:

    The bruschetta looks simply amazing. I can practically taste it!

  20. TasteFood says:

    This is my kind of summer eating!

  21. anchovy’s aren’t necessarily my thing, but I’ll give this a try simply because of the shitake mushrooms. 🙂

  22. ambrosiana says:

    Your picture is beautiful!!! I really love the presentation!! Whenever you give me anchovies and capers I go to Nirvana!!!!..great recipe!!

  23. eva626 says:

    o0o that looks really good!!! good like very devouring

  24. Lea Ann says:

    Love this post. I will be trying that caper/anchovy idea. Fresh tomatoes are just starting to hit our markets and I might even be picking some out of my garden soon. LOVE bruschetta.

  25. Serena says:

    Oh, these looks beautiful! I would definitely smother the bread with that goat cheese, haha 🙂

  26. Mmmm, I love bruschetta; looks delicious! I wish tomatoes were easier to grow in Alaska…. great photos!

  27. rutheh says:

    My sister would love this for the anchovies no matter how many.

  28. Carrie says:

    Both of these look amazing! I love anchovies too. I wanted to let you know that I put a link to your blog on mine- I know my readers will appreciate your posts as well. Cheers!

  29. kat says:

    Your bruschetta looks so goooood! I usually make mine with just tomato and basil, but now I’ve gotta add red onions to it! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  30. ChefMom says:

    Yum! And I like the added touch of goat cheese.

  31. spicegirlfla says:

    Two great tapa recipes! This is the way to eat through these hot summer days!

  32. randommanda says:

    I always forget to make bruschetta – but with all the tomatoes we have coming in, it’ll be on our standard appetizer menu. Thanks for the reminder – all of your food looks delicious!

  33. Kelly says:

    Your bruschetta is gorgeous and the mushroom mix with capers and anchovy… wow! Love the idea of tapas for two.

  34. Laura says:

    What a great menu! I made bruschetta for my birthday party this weekend. Everything was fresh from the farmer’s market that morning and it was so good! I didn’t use stale bread though. I’ll have to try that next time. Last weekend I made a pasta dish with anchovies and capers. Great combination!

  35. Lisa says:

    Wonderful! I love the simple delicious recipes! Thanks again!

  36. m.d.kitchen says:

    The mushroom one looks so good! I wish more people loved mushrooms because I think they’re so versatile.

  37. beautiful photos and as an anchovy addict I’d love to try this.

  38. karencooking says:

    Both recipes look delicious . . . and it does not help that I am looking at this at 8:00 p.m. as I wait for dinner to be done!

  39. Carolyn Chan says:

    Anchovies and tomatoes. What a GREAT dinner.

  40. ....RaeDi says:

    I love, love, love. Wonderful pics….RaeDi

  41. Pingback: Seven Links (and then some) Challenge | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  42. Pingback: Marinated tomatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  43. A_Boleyn says:

    I would love the idea of bruschetta if not for that annoying raw tomato and onion on top. Oh wait … that’s what makes it bruschetta! 🙂 Guess I’ll have to stick with the mushroom one.

  44. Pingback: Kicking off Tomato Week | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  45. Pingback: Grilled Romas | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  46. Pingback: For the Love of Blog: Rufus Turns Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  47. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Tapas Night | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  48. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Cold Dishes for Summer | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.