Butterfinger cookies

Get your own stack

One of my wife’s coworkers handed her a Butterfinger recently and instead of eating it, she tucked it in her purse brought it home and put it in the pantry. (What can I say? She married me.) The other night she whipped these up. There’s some disagreement in our household about the cookies. It’s not quite a full-blown controversy. But in any case, I think the cookies are fine as is and she thinks they needed a bit more gooeyness, in the form of peanut butter or toffee chips. The texture is very similar to peanut butter cookies, since that’s essentially what they are. Make sure to let them cool enough on the pan before putting them on a rack so they don’t crumble.

Butterfinger Cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 Butterfinger (the standard size)
  • 1 Hershey’s (or equivalent) dark chocolate bar (around 4.25 ounces)
  • sugar for dusting (optional)

Melt chocolate bar in the microwave or stove top and set aside. Break up Butterfinger, we leave it in the wrapper and whack it with a crab mallet. Set aside. Mix butter and peanut butter in stand mixer, or with a hand-held one until combined, about a minute. Add sugar, honey, baking soda and baking powder. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl if necessary. Add egg and vanilla, beat until incorporated. Beat in as much of the flour in as you can, then stir in the rest. Incorporate the Butterfinger crumbs, melted chocolate and (if you’re using them toffee or peanut butter chips) stir until mixed well. Shape dough into one-inch balls. If desired roll in sugar. Place two inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Use a fork to flatten and  make crisscross patterns. Bake at 375 degrees for seven to nine minutes. Cool on cookie sheet and then transfer to rack.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Butterfinger cookies

  1. Jessica says:

    I’ve never been a big Butterfinger fan, but these sound yummy!

    p.s. I totally have the B&W version of that plate. 🙂

  2. Adding Butterfingers to cookies? This party just got interesting.

  3. fatisrecipes says:

    Yum, these look good! 😀

  4. They look delicious and the picture is really good!

  5. Pat says:

    Ok, checking your post before breakfast!! “Are cookies good for breakfast?” I sure hope so because these need to be tried and sampled immediately!

  6. sujathanair says:

    Never seen Butterfinger candy here in Dublin but then again, never looked for it..am sure it’s lurking somewhere on a supermarket shelf 😉 If I find them or something similar, will definitely give this recipe a shot…love the picture of the stack!

    Also, thanks for stopping by my first ever post and leaving a comment…felt great!

    • You’re welcome. Your blog’s looking great. My wife and I loved Dublin, Butterfingers or not. And ricotta cheesecake is one of our favorites.

      • sujathanair says:

        Thanks! :D…Dublin’s a great place with great people (and by that I mean the Irish ;)).

        I have really bad sweet teeth and will fall for anything sweet which explains why I started off with a cheesecake 🙂

  7. Let them cool before eating? You must be crazy. 🙂

  8. Babygirl says:

    I love how you said there’s a controversy in your house about cookies lol. In my family it’s always one particular food item too lol. Nice recipe.

  9. charlywalker says:

    n oh man….I just put on ten lbs looking at this post…

    I can almost smell them….

  10. joc1400 says:

    I suppose if you accidentally drop one of these cookies on the floor, your spouse (and other witnesses) have every right to shriek, “Butterfinger!” 🙂

  11. lajola says:

    mmm.. very nice! (:

  12. Laura says:

    Definitely getting my own stack of these! 🙂

  13. Kaley says:

    These look delicious… I’m not a cookie expert, but I think I’ll have to try these out!

  14. Alison says:

    These look great! I am definitely going to have to try them out. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  15. AvocadoPesto says:

    I love butterfinger candy bars! I will have to try these cookies!

  16. bluemixer says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. These cooking look awesome!!! I love butterfingers. Candy/Cookie combos are becoming more and more popular, and I’m loving it. 🙂

  17. anything with peanut butter, chocolate & honey has got to be yummy. great cookie glamour shot!

  18. Sounds delicious. Love cookies!

  19. These look terrific! Great picture too.

  20. nancyc says:

    I’ve never seen a recipe for Butterfingers cookies–they sound really good!

  21. Justine says:

    wow, these look great! i must try these soon….

  22. These look delicious! I’m definitely going to have to try the recipe.

  23. Leah says:

    These look delicious. I am such a cookie monster, I can’t wait to try out the recipe!

  24. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  25. Lasairiona says:

    I’m taking a bunch of butterfingers home to Ireland for a friend in January, I just share this recipe with her…new reader, referred from Savory Simple! 🙂

  26. Wetonna Bruce says:

    In the instructions, I take it that you beat the butter and peanut butter together. The recipe has margarine. The chips, in the instructions, are you talking about the Hershey bar and equivalent or the peanut butter or toffe chips in the preface? Sounds like a great recipe.

  27. Pingback: Favorites of 2011 and Happy Birthday to me!!! « eASYbAKED

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.