Cookbooks galore in Notting Hill

Not only did my wife write this post she also took the photos.

A couple of fine choices

Before last week, everything I knew about Notting Hill came from watching Hugh Grant make puppy eyes at Julia Roberts. Now, I know it has its own tube station. It’s amazing how travel can open one’s eyes. The colorful neighborhood ended up being one of my favorite (err, favourite) to visit in London. And one of the things that made it so fun was a bookshop. No, not the one where Hugh Grant worked, one called Books for Cooks. Foodie Heaven. (Actually, the whole area was, but more on that later.)

No streaks on this window

The tiny shop makes use of its space. Some 8,000 books line the shelves and fill tables in the center of the store, from cookbooks to essay collections on the history of various cuisines. They also have a test kitchen in a little alcove. (On the day I went a table was right in front of the bread book section, so I staked out charcuterie and came back another day.) In any case, recipes from the cookbooks on the shelves are tested daily. Many of the ingredients are from vendors lining Portabello Road, the main drag through the Hill. The store has even compiled its own series of cookbooks, first published in 1995.

Conveniently across the street

And if all this makes you just a little hungry, take heart. The Spice Shop is just across the street and coffee shops, fish mongers, butchers and grocers abound. Happy Eating!

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Restaurants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Cookbooks galore in Notting Hill

  1. Bethea says:

    Wow! That’s so exciting! I can’t imagine having a test kitchen for cook books. Or a whole store just full of cook books, for that matter.

  2. What a great place to visit. I could get lost in there for hours. That pasta recipe below on here looks great, too. Have a good week.

  3. Babygirl says:

    Wow, this Food Heaven sounds like a fun place to go. This will be on my list when I travel to London. Nice post.

  4. ChefMom says:

    I’d definitely like to visit this area on our next trip to London. What a blast!

  5. Katherine says:

    Thanks BabyGirl! And B, you’re so right the place smelled to die for!

  6. eva626 says:

    AWESOME…i always buy food books…and recipe ones! spice store..very cool!!

  7. saminacooks says:

    That is too kewl!

  8. Errign says:

    Notting Hill looks amazing, even just from the movie – what a place to visit!

  9. devikakumar says:

    your post makes me want to visit london again, and also makes me wish that new york city had a store like this one. would love to hear more about notting hill and the food that you found.

  10. meelswa says:

    Loved the movie and never thought about the real place…until now! Thanks for this great post…and for stopping by my blog! 🙂

  11. Laura says:

    Wow, what a cool store! Do you live in London?

  12. Sara says:

    I never managed to visit there when I was in London. It was always closed for the day when I was over there. So thanks for the post, though it’s just resulted in me kicking myself a bit…

  13. What a lovely little shop – one that combines my two loves – books and cooking!

  14. The Spice Shop!!!!! One of the best shops in the world, and I love the lady who is working there! Oh how much I miss Notting Hill.. must visit London soon!

  15. I need to stop at that shop….need to put it on my bucket list! Wonder how many of the cookbooks I have blogged about?

  16. I wonder if I was already hungry or am I craving after reading this.. 🙂

  17. Pingback: Madhur Jaffrey’s lemony lamb | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Pingback: Tandoori-style chicken with mint | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: Indian stir fry night | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.