How to Make Potato Gnocchi

Ready for some sauce

Ready for some sauce

Gnocchi can be a little daunting at first but, like all handmade pasta, practice makes perfect. This is my basic potato gnocchi recipe. Once cooked the dumplings can be tossed with any number of different sauces. For one such example go here. How to follow the recipe.

Potato Gnocchi

  • 2 lbs russet potatoes
  • 1-2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh nutmeg
Really over bake the potatoes

Really over bake the potatoes

Wash and dry potatoes, prick with a fork and bake at 400 degrees until really done. A knife should pass all the way through and the skin should almost be paper. Scoop flesh from skin and mash with a fork until smooth.

Just pile it on

Just pile it on

Add 1 cup flour, salt and nutmeg and turn mixture onto a counter. Quickly form it into a rough mass.

Getting close

Getting close

Slowly work a little bit of flour at a time into dough until it forms a smooth ball that is slightly sticky. Make sure to knead gently and do not overwork dough.

Perfect

Perfect

Place dough in an oiled container, cover and refrigerate for one hour. Dough can be left in refrigerator for up to 8 hours.

Slice and dice

Slice and dice

Flour a work surface and divide dough into 4-5 equal pieces.

That is a really neat compostition

That is a really neat composition

Roll out each ball into a rope about 3/4″ thick on a lightly floured counter.

Watch those fingers

Watch those fingers

Cut the dough ropes into small pieces about 1/2″ wide. The size of these pieces will affect the final size of the gnocchi. I like mine to be about 1 1/2″ long when done. If you want smaller gnocchi then cut the pieces into 1/4″ size.

Nice technique

Nice technique

Gently roll each dough piece into a tight log. I like to use a grater to create a light dimple effect in the gnocchi but they can just be rolled flat as well.

They do not have to be uniform

They do not have to be uniform

Place each gnocchi on a greased baking sheet and repeat above steps until all have been made.

A rolling boil

A rolling boil

Bring a pot of salted water to a rolling boil and then drop in gnocchi about 10-12 at a time. Do not overcrowd the pan. The dumplings will sink to the bottom at first. Once they have risen to the surface continue to cook for about one more minute. Do not overcook or they will fall apart. Using a slotted spoon scoop out the gnocchi and place in a large bowl. Continue to cook in batches until done. Finish gnocchi with your choice of sauce.

That is a wrap

That is a wrap

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, How to, Italian, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How to Make Potato Gnocchi

  1. G’day I have made potato gnocchi before and yours looks delish, true!
    Think the secret is the potato ricer too! 🙂
    Cheers! Joanne
    http://www.facebook.com/whatsonthelist

  2. TasteFood says:

    Great tutorial!

  3. Ruth says:

    Excellent series of photos on the “how- to” . I won’t be doing it but if I wanted to, you know I could with your great post to guide me.

  4. A_Boleyn says:

    Those look like some pretty tasty potato gnocchi and they didn’t fall apart in the boiling water as some accounts have described. My luck … mine will probably do that. Love the sage and brown butter sauce.

    After much researching, I am going to use 2 egg yolks/2 pounds potatoes when I try to make them. And a ricer to get a nice even mash.

    • The main reason gnocchi will fall apart when boiling is that they are over boiled. Just remember to remove the pasta about 1 minute after it has floated to the top and you should be fine. The other reason is if the dough does not have enough moisture in it. Although if it has too much then the gnocchi will have a gummy texture which is even worse. Getting the dough consistency correct takes a little practice but always go lighter on the liquid to start.

      • A_Boleyn says:

        Thank you for the additional information. I imagine the water shouldn’t be at a hard rolling boil either. I am going to make gnocchi … I’m just not sure exactly when that’s going to happen at this point.

      • Let us know how it turns out. My first go was a bit gummy, but still edible. At least if you mess up, it’s potatoes and not something way pricier. Not that you ever want to waste any food or money.

  5. Great tutorial.
    🙂 Mandy

  6. Love all those step by step photos. Really nice! I love creamy bechamel sauce. What about you?

  7. Cecile says:

    I love the idea of using baked potatoes when making Gnocchi ’cause I bet it gives the Gnocchi a real flavor boost!! Pinned it, of course!

  8. nrhatch says:

    I’ve never made gnocchi because the baked potatoes smell so good that I end up eating them “as is” . . . with just a bit of butter. 😉

  9. Looks good! It will have to be a weekend project though.

  10. Lauren says:

    Love the step-by-step! Homemade gnocchi has been on my to-try list for EVER… maybe it’s finally time.

  11. Excellent “how to” – and thanks for the reminder of how much I love them, time to get making some 🙂

  12. Purely.. Kay says:

    You make gnocchi making look simple. I am still a little nervous to try it but you give me hope Greg 🙂

  13. Kristy says:

    Love the cheese grader technique!

  14. Amanda says:

    Oooh I love making gnocchi on my days where I just want to spend some time in the kitchen. Did you know you can freeze them too? I just make a big batch and freeze them before you boil them. Works great!

  15. Pingback: Gnocchi with Vodka Cream Sauce | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  16. A_Boleyn says:

    I did a fast batch of potato gnocchi this afternoon using only a pound of russets. I was preparing for failure … imagining shreds of potato in my pot of water (which I forgot to salt, by the way) but they held together and tasted so light and fluffy that I now know that the purchased ones were gummy compared to mine. I also have to add more salt to the gnocchi themselves. Now I have to think of a nice sauce to pour over them. They’re resting snuggly in a container in the fridge in the meantime. 🙂

  17. Pingback: How to make potato gnocchi from scratch | Chef in disguise

  18. Pingback: Pumpkin Gnocchi | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.