Gnocchi with Vodka Cream Sauce

Fresh tomatoes are important

Fresh tomatoes are important

So now that everyone has practiced making homemade gnocchi here is another sauce possibility. For a how to go here.

Vodka Cream Sauce

  • 1 batch gnocchi
  • 3/4 cup minced red onion
  • 4 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 1/2 cups finely chopped Romas (about three)
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup vodka
  • 5-7 basil leaves shredded
  • 2 tbsp butter

In a large saute pan heat butter. Fry onion over low heat until golden brown. Add garlic and cook until fragrant. Add Romas and cook until they begin to release their juice. Add vodka. Raise heat to high and reduce by half. Add stock and basil and cook on medium until reduced by half. Add cream and cook until thickened. Season with salt and pepper and gently toss over cooked gnocchi.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gnocchi with Vodka Cream Sauce

  1. G’day! What a warm and welcoming dish for today, true!
    I now have this on my list to do!
    Cheers! Joanne
    http://www.facebook.com/whatsonthelist

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Delicious … another reason to try to make some gnocchi.

  3. Love gnocchi….comforting sauce idea.

  4. Oh, yes…Vodka sauce is a favorite!

  5. Wow…this looks decadent!!!

  6. nrhatch says:

    I could eat that! :mrgreen:

  7. billpeeler says:

    I’m a sucker for dishes like this. That sauce looks heavenly.

  8. C. Roy says:

    Awesome – I’m a total sucker for Vodka Cream Sauce – we lived in Malta for a while and they had the best pasta there due to their location not far from Italy. I used to often order Pasta with Vodka Sauce at our favorite restaurant – and now I can make it home. Thanks Rufus !

  9. tandre07 says:

    Very cruel guys. You know that I’ve cut my carbs and this week you guys are killing it with awesome pasta recipes, crostini, cakes. SMH!

  10. Kristy says:

    My all time favorite pasta dish…at least it’s on the short list!

Leave a Reply

