Buttercup Squash Risotto

As you wish….

Repeat after me: Risotto is easy to make, risotto is easy to make….

Buttercup Squash Risotto

  • 2 cups Arborio rice
  • 1 buttercup squash
  • ½ cup white wine
  • 7-8 cups fresh chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • cinnamon stick
  • fresh grated nutmeg to taste
  • ¼ cup grated Romano
  • Salt/pepper

Cut buttercup squash in half, scoop out seeds and cook squash halves face down in a roasting pan with 1 cup water at 350 until tender, about 30-40 minutes. Wash seeds and dry them. Place on a baking sheet and coat with olive oil, salt, pepper, and cinnamon sugar. Roast in oven until brown and crispy stirring often. Remove squash from pan and scoop flesh into a bowl. Mash to a puree with a fork or masher. Reserve the squash halves for serving, or discard. If you’re reserving them leave some flesh intact. Pour stock in a sauce pan and heat to a simmer. Heat olive oil in large saute pan. Toss in cinnamon stick and cook on high for one minute. Add rice and mix well to coat in the oil on medium heat, about two minutes. Turn heat to medium low  and add wine and cook until it evaporates. Add simmering chicken stock about a cup at a time. Each time the rice absorbs most of the liquid, add another cup of stock. When about four cups worth of total liquid has been absorbed add the pureed squash. Season with nutmeg, salt and pepper but do not add too much salt because the Romano is slightly salty. Continue to add stock until rice is creamy and has no bite. When rice is creamy add cheese and stir. Turn off heat and allow risotto to sit off the heat for about 10 minutes. Serve in squash halves or your fanciest bone China.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes, Rice/Risotto and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Buttercup Squash Risotto

  1. What an interesting and different risotto! I love the combo of the sweet/savory spice with the cheese and squash. Gotta try this one, perfect for fall.

  2. Carolyn Chan says:

    I LOVE how you serve it in the squash and and also use everything, including the seeds, which are yummy ! Looks so warm and comforting.

  3. rutheh says:

    Oh Oh Oh. (Risotto is easy to make Risotto is easy to make…) I LOVE it. But have never ever made it. I think I should. You inspire me. Looks delicious.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve not tried a squash risotto before but have been tempted. Yours here with its cinnamon and nutmeg really sounds good. I have to google buttercup squash. I’m not at all familiar with it — but I will be.

  5. rsmacaalay says:

    Very nice risotto recipe, never had this one before

  6. My Kitchen Stories says:

    I love squash risotto. Simple and perfect combo of squash nutmeg and cheese

  7. Gorgeous – and yes, it is easy to make. Even easier if you do it in the oven….but not quite so “authentic”!

  8. Marlene says:

    Looks good…is it Paleo?

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    Chef Michael Smith has a similar recipe but he chops the squash into all cubes, roasts them and adds it to the risotto. It’s very tasty!

  10. egg me on says:

    Risotto is super-duper easy to make! I love that you serve it in a squash. Very classy. Very autumnal. Very good.

  11. gassengirl says:

    That sounds great! My husband doesn’t like squash (which I love), but he does love risotto. I wonder if I can win him over with this… Unlikely, but I’ll still try. =D Thanks for sharing!

  12. Mad Dog says:

    Butternut squash is too sweet for my taste buds, but i love the picture 😉

  13. Lauren says:

    What a beautiful presentation. Bonus points for using the whole squash!

  14. sallybr says:

    Gorgeous presentation! Never thought of doing it this way… awesome!

  15. Caroline says:

    Helpppp I’m still scared to make it. I bought the Arborio rice a while back to try and force myself to make it, but to no avail. Yours sounds spectacular!!

  16. TasteFood says:

    I love the presentation of this risotto!

  17. Good call on the edible “dish”!

  18. nrhatch says:

    Yummy looking dish. 😀

  19. You always come up with the prettiest seasonal dishes and ways of presenting food. I will try this one for sure.. I’m pinning it now!

  20. Is buttercup squash the same as acorn? I have not heard of it. This looks amazing and I love the way you served it. It would be so nice on a fall inspired table.

  21. Kristy says:

    Buttercup squash?! Sounds and looks amazing to me. You know we love our risottos. I’m putting this on Mike’s list of things to make. 🙂

  22. I love squash risotto but I have never pureed the roasted squash. I shall have to try that next time. Love the bowl! 🙂

  23. spree says:

    A stunner of a risotto! Have long meant to make a squash version, but you’ve just given me the nudge I needed.

  24. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: What’s for Dinner, Pumpkin? | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  25. Pingback: Creamy Stovetop “Risotto” | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  26. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fall Garden | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  27. Pingback: Savory Fall Favorites | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  28. Pingback: 20 Best Buttercup Squash Recipes (Bright & Tasty) - Tasty & Healthy Recipes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.