Shrimp with Mango Salsa

I love shrimp

This can be a main course served over rice instead of a salad as well.

Use the shrimp shells and leftover vegetable matter to make a broth for another meal.

Shrimp with Mango Salsa

Shrimp Boil

  • 1 lb shrimp deveined, tail still on
  • 4 garlic cloves cut into quarters
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 3 jalapenos, sliced into thick strips
  • 1 orange
  • 1 lime
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • Salt/pepper

Squeeze juice of half lime and orange onto the shrimp and season with salt and pepper. Let shrimp sit in juices for 30 minutes stirring occasionally. In a large pot heat one tablespoon olive oil and saute onion and jalapeno until softened. Add garlic and saute one minute more. Add wine, juice from remaining halves of lime and orange and chicken stock and bring to a boil. Turn heat down to a simmer and cook liquid for five minutes. Add shrimp stir well cover and remove from heat. Let shrimp cook until done, about 10 minutes. Drain reserving juice and shrimp. If serving over rice add juice to cooked rice before serving.

Mango Salsa

  • 1 mango skinned and diced fine
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 2 cayenne peppers minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh cilantro chopped roughly
  • 2 tbsp minced red onion
  • 1 lime juiced

Mix everything together. Place shrimp over spinach greens and top with salsa.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Shrimp with Mango Salsa

  1. nrhatch says:

    What a gorgeous dish! Chow, baby!

  2. This sounds completely wonderful.

  3. So colorful and delicious! Plus, allows me to hold on to the last days of summer πŸ™‚

  4. Carolyn Chan says:

    Great pairing with the mango and shrimp !

  5. Chilli and mango are a great combination. Never thought of that, and it must be wonderful with those big prawns.

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    That photo is incredible! This would make a perfect lunch.

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow again, something so drool worthy.

  8. Jessica says:

    I would win the best daughter award if I made this for my parents. Yum.

  9. Oooh yeah! Perfect combination and I just saw mangoes, for the first time this season, on Monday! Bring on summer and this recipe!

  10. Scrumity.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  11. sallybr says:

    Gorgeous photo! What a coincidence, yesterday we went to a restaurant for dinner and I asked little chicken soft tacos with mango salsa – it was so refreshing, I immediately wanted a reacipe for the salsa. You read my mind, didn’t you? Made the post just for me!

  12. sallybr says:

    Oh, man… it’s not reacipe. It is recipe. It is very early and the coffee hasn’t kicked in yet. Apologies

  13. ambrosiana says:

    I love mango with seafood! Next time try mango verde …it is fabulous!

  14. That is wonderful looking Greg.

  15. MMMM! Lovely! I want some right now…. Even though it is only 930 am.

  16. Kristy says:

    Simple and fresh. I love anything with shrimp. And the kids will love it too – especially with the mango.

  17. Ah, shrimp and mango…the last days of summer are flying by…

  18. Purely.. Kay says:

    I am such a shrimp lover and anything with shrimp in it is my type of meal. Guess what I can’t wait to make? This recipe πŸ™‚

  19. Mad Dog says:

    I could eat those now!

  20. I am loving that mango salsa! This meal makes me sad that summer is coming to an end!

  21. Eva Taylor says:

    Wish I had seen this yesterday, would have made a delightful lunch today.

  22. Looks absolutely delish!

  23. This looks delicious! I just might have to try your recipe for dinner tomorrow night!

  24. Whoo Hoo!! Fabulous – love mango salsa and fresh gulf shrimp.

  25. jdewitt8 says:

    Yum! Can’t wait to try this recipe. We’ve been making lots of shrimp dishes lately- especially grilled shrimp and the salsa would be a fantastic addition.

  26. Yum + Healthy πŸ™‚ What more could you want…especially with summer around the corner Down Under πŸ™‚

  27. Lovely.. shrimp and the colors and flavors! Excellent to make into a salad.. or on a tortilla;) xx

  28. peasepudding says:

    what more could one want for …lime, coriander, ginger and chili, my favourite combination

  29. Pingback: Seafood Frenzy Friday (Week 34) and ONLINE Pampered Chef PartyCarrie’s Experimental Kitchen |

  30. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Summer Salad Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.