Strawberry Jam with Brown Sugar and Orange Zest

One jar already down

Strawberry season came early this year. I changed the original recipe to include a mix of sugars and some orange zest. If you are new to canning go here for a how to.

Strawberry Preserves

  • 9 cups fresh strawberries
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • Zest from 1 orange
  • cinnamon stick

Wash strawberries very well. Hull and dice into small pieces. In a large pot (6-8 quarts) mix sugar, zest and berries. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Add cinnamon and gradually turn heat to high while stirring. Cook until reduced in half, 20-25 minutes. Quickly fill and seal canning jars and allow to cool to room temperature. Preserves will set fairly quickly once off the heat.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Things in Jars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Strawberry Jam with Brown Sugar and Orange Zest

  1. How did you know that I have some strawberries that need to be used very soon?
    I love the mixture of sugars and flavors,
    making this today!

  2. Tandy says:

    I love the idea of orange zest in the jam πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds a lot easier than using that fruit gel stuff I remembered from when I was a kid.

  4. Could you make just like this and use as a refrigerator jam? I am thinking that might be easier for me in Asia as finding jars and all the things needed might be a pain here. I like the idea of adding the orange and cinnamon. Yum!

  5. losangelas says:

    Great recipe, thanks! I recently bought a huge bag of cinnamon sticks, later on thinking what to do with so many… at least I now have a purpose for one of them…. πŸ™‚

  6. Yvette says:

    Sounds delicious and love the extra zing! x

  7. Fantastic idea adding orange zest.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  8. Mad Dog says:

    Very seasonal and nice twist with the orange πŸ˜‰

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    The ground is barely defrosted in my parts; I can’t help but feel extreme envy here.
    😦

  10. I like the addition of orange zest! Nice work!

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve used lemon zest but think your idea of using orange is better. I’ll have to give it a shot next time. Thanks.

  12. ceciliag says:

    This sounds like a wonderful mix of flavours. I love the orange zest. I had better go out and check the strawberries this morning and pick before the birds do!! c

  13. Meredith says:

    It looks like you barely had a teaspoon left to photograph!

  14. nrhatch says:

    YUM! Enjoy every sweet bite.

  15. Andrea says:

    Looks fabulous!

  16. Lovely and it looks like ti has set really well, I often have problems with runny strawberry jam 😦

  17. Rachel says:

    Oh yum… do you think I could sub in blueberries? Hmmm…

  18. I love that you’ve used brown sugar and cinnamon.. I’m going to have to get canning soon, or the berries will be gone for another year!

  19. TasteFood says:

    I am sure this will taste great. Love the flavors.

  20. You make it look so easy, here’s some jam I just ‘whipped up’. I’m jealous and envious πŸ™‚

  21. I’ve always wondered what jam cooked up with brown sugar would taste like. I may have to try…

  22. Send me some of your strawberries! πŸ™‚

  23. Kristy says:

    The orange zest sounds delicious with strawberries. I’m going to remember that one. πŸ™‚

  24. Carolyn Chan says:

    Love the sound of the orange zest with the strawberries, would give it that extra zing !

  25. egg me on says:

    Oh jam! This is one jammin’ jam!

  26. SimpleP says:

    Oh wow that sounds good! What a yummy combo!

  27. Michelle says:

    Sounds like a great combination.

  28. billpeeler says:

    Love, LOVE strawberry jam – I’m sure the orange zest just makes it pop right off the biscuit!

  29. One word – YUM!!!!

  30. Pingback: Simple seared fennel & pumpkin salad « Two Spoons

  31. Pingback: watermelon rind jam « Chef in disguise

  32. Pingback: Strawberry Jam | Chef in disguise

  33. Pingback: Strawberry Jam with Rosemary and Balsamic | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.