Fig Jam

Yummy yummy yummy I’ve got jam in my tummy.

Three days ago one of my wife’s co-workers gave her a bag full of fresh figs from his backyard. Yesterday they all became over ripe and I was faced with the dilemma of what to do with five pounds of figs about to rot. Normally we would enjoy a couple figs a day for a week and then use what remained in a dessert or roast pork dish. Instead I decided to make a batch of fig jam.

Two problems arose from this solution. First, I had never canned anything and second, I had to discover a way to skin and dice five pounds of over soft figs. Well the second problem was more finding the four hours it took to cut up the fruit than the actual technical cutting. As for the canning I discovered a method for preserves that worked fantastic and required no extra equipment save the case of preserve jars I had to buy.

Basically I boiled the jars in a pot of water just covering the tops for 10 minutes. Then with tongs extracted the jars and poured the hot jam directly in. Then I had to make sure the rims were wiped clean with a fresh paper towel without touching the inside with my fingers. Finally I dipped the lids in the boiling water and placed them on the top of the jars sealing them tightly with the ring pa rt of the top. This required a hotpad to hold the jar as I quickly learned after burning my fingers on the first jar. It also took a little practice placing the lids without touching the inside with my fingers. I had to re-sterilize a few and re-wipe the rims a couple times. Then I just set aside the jars in a cool corner until each pinged in about a half hour. All 10 sealed perfect and after fully cooling to the touch are now resting in my cupboard. If one had not sealed all I would have had to do was eat it first and store it in the fridge.

Here’s the recipe for the jam. I doubled the amounts due to the large amount of figs I had.

Fig Jam
  • 2 lbs fresh figs skinned and diced finely
  • 2 1/4 cups water
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 stick cinnamon broken in half

Boil water sugar and cinnamon till sugar dissovles and creates a simple syrup. Add figs and simmer on low until thick and jam coats back of spoon. Remove cinnamon and pour into sterilized mason jars. Makes roughly five 8 oz jars.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes, Things in Jars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Fig Jam

  1. Bobby Ampezzan says:

    Anyone who would disparage the sippability of good gin (“Martini Me”) has never suffered the barrenness of bliss. In John Cheever’s “The Sorrows of Gin” we are told that gin and its quash of juniper berries is the only elixir for suburban stasis. Gin is the sound of a father’s sigh as he hands over his handsome executive Christmas bonus to his ailing mother-in-law’s hospice caregiver. Gin is the smell lightning makes when it seers the insides of a polluting industrialist. Gin is how you say “gimme” in Mandarin. And a Martini? A Gibson Martini is what Poseidon asked for when the waves tipped the top of Olympus.

  2. Liz says:

    Fig jam can be quite price. I would love to try my hand making your fig jam.

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Preserves | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  4. Pingback: Blackberry jam | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  5. Pingback: Peach Jam with Amaretto | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  6. Pingback: Picking figs, and living to tell the tale | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  7. Pingback: Pickle me this | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  8. Pingback: Pepper preservation | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  9. Pingback: Our most insightful post ever… or not | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  10. Pingback: Lazy Sunday, The Jam Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  11. Pingback: Strawberry Jam with Brown Sugar and Orange Zest | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  12. Pingback: Blackberry Jam with Port | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  13. Pingback: Pickle Me This Again | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  14. Pingback: A Plethora of Peppers Again | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  15. Pingback: Strawberry Jam with Rosemary and Balsamic | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  16. Paulette Mitchell says:

    I just finished making my fig jam, and I being a Louisiana girl felt the need to add a little somethin’ somethin’. That somethin’ was a splash of Wild Turkey Bourbon. It was a whim that ended up being a very good idea, The deep, sweet flavor of the Bourbon was an excellent compliment to the figs and cinnamon. Thank you for the great recipe ,I hope you don’t mind my minor tweaking.

  17. Pingback: Blackberry Jam with Thyme | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  18. Pingback: Apple Cranberry Jam | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: Mint Strawberry Jam | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  20. Pingback: Spicy Dill and Spicy Sweet Dill Pickles | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Pingback: Basil Blackberry Jam | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: Peach Butter | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Warm Figs and Prosciutto | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Pingback: Pear Jam with Ginger | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  25. Pingback: Pickled Carrots | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  26. Pingback: Plum Jam | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  27. Pingback: Plum Jam – The Militant Negro™

  28. Sheeva says:

    I don’t peel my figs at all. I do “de-stem”, cut them up in quarters or eights, put them in a pot with the sugar and strips of fresh lemon peel, brandy and some course salt. I let it sit for a hour or so at room temperature stirring occasionally and then turn on the stove to med-high heat until it bubbles;
    I lower to medium, stirring frequently – occasionally mashing – and when jam thickens, take off heat. Depending on amount of figs et al, should take about 30 to 60 minutes. Then process jam as usual. By the way, I use the black Mission figs which are my favorite. You’ll find that this method is much easier; peeling takes away the good stuff. P.S. I found your fig jam when searching for new Peach jam recipes and I’m now going to try your’s with Amaretto. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

