Red Meat and Caffeine

By Katherine

Black and yellow, black and yellow

On Valentine’s Day, I had planned to make this fantastic stuffed beef tenderloin that She Cooks He Cleans shared. But the butcher was only selling whole tenderloins about as long as my arm, and doing the math gave me heart palpitations. Instead I took home two New York strip steaks. They were so big we actually ate them on different nights, but the rub will cover two large steaks. We paired this with the lemony asparagus, since we’d already had a nice starch.

Coffee and Peppercorn Crusted Steaks

  • 4 tbsp peppercorns, all black is fine or use a mix of colors
  • 1 tbsp whole espresso beans
  • 1 star anise
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp fresh chopped parsley
  • salt

Place espresso beans, peppercorns and anise in coffee grinder and grind until incorporated. You’ll want a nice even coating on the steaks, so try to make sure all the peppercorns are blended. Set two tablespoons of butter out in a bowl on the counter to soften. Add a pinch of the coffee mix and the parsley to the bowl. Mix to incorporate when softened. Put the other tablespoon of butter in a large cast iron pan set over medium heat on the stove. Preheat oven to 375. Salt both sides of the steaks. Then coat each side with the peppercorn mixture, making sure the coat is fairly even. When the pan is hot, sear the steaks on each side until a crust forms. About three-four minutes per side, depending on the size. Ours was more than a pound. Transfer to oven. Cook for about another five minutes, or until the temperature measures 120 for rare or about 130 for medium. Let rest for about five minutes. Top each steak with a tablespoon of the herb butter before serving.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Red Meat and Caffeine

  1. OMG, this looks fantastic. I’ve had coffee rubbed steaks before, it’s the best flavor combination! I will have to make this sometime soon!

  2. sallybr says:

    OH, I love this recipe! I am sure it tastes awesome! One of my favorite recipes of a few years ago was a coffe-crusted pork tenderloin. IN fact, the crust was made with ground coffee and dried mushrooms.

    since then, I am always searching for ways to use coffee with meat – so your post goes into my bookmarks!

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    What an interesting combination !

  4. onewomaninaricefield says:

    I think I just heard angels start singing! This looks GREAT and I LOVE an excuse to cook with coffee.

  5. Looks stunning. Agree with Carolyn, very interesting combination… Would you guys call it a favourite?

  6. Allison says:

    I can’t imagine a crust of coffee on my steak… will have to give it a try!

  7. ....RaeDi says:

    What a combo, T will love… it looks delicious!

  8. Mmm…meat…drool…

  9. Lovely dish to make for your Valentine’s sweetie:) And it turned out perfectly!

  10. Kas says:

    Dang that looks/sounds good! What a neat combination, and you can’t go wrong with red meat and espresso … What would we do without those two vital ingredients?? 🙂

  11. Purely.. Kay says:

    Even though the meal didn’t go as planned for you Katherine.. I think you did an incredible job. I mean this meal looks wonderful. Yup.. I’m drooling too

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    That steak was cooked perfectly. With your shrimp & grits as the starter, and this steak as the main, you guys did Valentine’s Day right!

  13. Very interesting. I am not a big coffee lover BUT think I would definitely give this a try.
    🙂 Mandy

  14. BrainRants says:

    I’ve used coffee with meats – great flavor. My question here though is how to get the anise and pepper flavor out of the coffee grinder? I don’t want that in the morning.

  15. aFrankAngle says:

    Because of the flavors added to the meat, what wine did you have with this? Did it go well?

  16. I´ve had a coffee massage in Bali (left me feeling hyper rather than relaxed 😉 ) but never a coffee rubbed steak. I love the sound of this!

  17. The crust on that steak looks amazing! I look forward to trying it.

    Thanks for the shout-out on the tenderloin roast. IF you can ever find whole tenderloin on sale, that’s a great time to get one and cut it into steaks and a small roast to freeze for later. It will still give you palpitations up front, but it will save $$ in the long run.

  18. spicegirlfla says:

    Gorgeous sear on the steak! I’ve added in coffee to my sauces, but had never used the actual ground espresso beans!! What a fabulous idea!!

  19. Coffee and cocoa are wonderful ‘spices’ with red meat. My mom read about putting left over coffee in the roast beef gravy years and years ago and everyone thought she was nuts. The background flavours really enhance the rich meat flavour of beef. Tenderloin is crazy expensive in Toronto as well. I usually buy a couple on sale when it’s about $7.99 a pound…it’s usually between $15-20 a pound! I have one in the freezer right now but I need a room full of people to make it…

  20. Kristy says:

    You had me at caffeine. 😉 This looks delicious. I love a good rub. What a fun Valentine’s Day you guys had. I love it!

  21. Sounds like a lethally good combination!

  22. I love the touch of anise in with the espresso. This looks so good!

  23. Yup…that is the ideal sized steak for this glutton. Great simplistic flavors for the meat as well. Love it.

  24. Amy says:

    What a great combo. I totally want a juicy steak tonight!

  25. zestybeandog says:

    This looks fantastic, I love use of coffee on this recipe as well! Mouth is def watering!

  26. Great combination of spices for that beautiful steak, the crust looks perfect!

  27. Great shot -a really rude piece of meat – comme il faut

  28. I have never seasoned with coffee before and always say I am going to try it. Your steak looks perfectly seared and crusted and the rub sounds like it really add such a layer of flavor!

  29. Rachel says:

    Oh my goodness yum. For a non-foodie (but avid familial fan), I appreciate the exact details. We have switched to decaf coffee but I hope the result will be the same. I really do need to visit soon.

  30. Courtney says:

    Ahhh, I’ve been waiting to see this post… and it’s all that I imagined and more. This looks absolutely mouth-watering! Well done! (or rare, if that’s your taste 😉 )

  31. Another wonderful sounding recipe and I’ve wanted to try a coffee rub, plus was eyeballing NY strips in the market the other day. I feel some grilling coming on!

  32. Christine says:

    OMG. That looks ahhhh-mazing

  33. Holy cow!!! beautiful. And glad you reminded me about the lemony asparagus, because i have been meaning to make that and have all the ingredients in!

  34. Karen says:

    Your steak after the beautiful shrimp and grits…what a great celebration you had.

  35. This looks so good: the flavor combination of coffee, star anise and peppercorns has merit. Sigh. Now to go eat something plebeian for lunch.

  36. I’ve always wanted to try this as a rub. It looks fabulous! Love the combination of flavors, just need a nice red wine to wash it down!

  37. Pingback: Narnia in Hutchinson, Kansas and Flat Ruthie Goes Backstage With Cast | Cardboard Me Travels

  38. Charles says:

    I’m really curious as to the coffee flavour with the steak – I can’t imagine what it must be like, but the concept sounds fab. Steak and caffeine reminds me of something else I saw once… steak cooked wrapped up in tobacco leaves or something so it had a little nicotine kick in it. That sounded just so interesting!

  39. I love caffeine,too, and this sounds so good.

  40. Wowsers, being a coffee addict that I am I would love this. Forget the kids and everyone else. Sorry kids and everyone else.

  41. I just made this for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it! A great flavor combo, thanks for the recipe!

  42. Pingback: Bearnaise Sauce | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.