Chocolate pecan pie bars, courtesy of Amy’s mom

By Katherine

Hopefully those are the only snowflakes this season

You all know Amy right? Well if you don’t go check out her wonderful blog Elephant Eats. She featured these bars as part of her pre-Christmas cooking festivities. They were in her mom’s recipe box. I made some changes, not because the bars weren’t already perfect, but because I seem to be incapable of not reaching for the bourbon when I break out the pecans. I also reduced the sugar in the topping, figuring the corn syrup would suffice, but threw in a bit of maple syrup. I never seem to have chocolate chips on hand, so I used dark chocolate. The result was a bit more pie like. Hers had a lovely crisp looking top that made them more stackable and the layers popped more. It’s easy to see why they made it into the recipe box.

Chocolate Pecan Pie Bars (adapted from Amy’s mom’s recipe box)

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups corn syrup
  • 4.25 ounce dark chocolate (we use Hershey’s)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 ounce bourbon
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 2 1/2 cups chopped pecans

Grease bottom and sides of 15β€³x10β€³x1β€³ baking dish. In a stand mixer on medium, beat flour, sugar, butter and salt until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Press into the bottom of prepared pan. Bake at 350 for 20 min. Meanwhile, in a three-quart pan, stir corn syrup and chocolate on low until melted. Remove from heat and allow to cool for about 10 minutes. Stir in maple syrup, bourbon, eggs and pecans. Pour filling over hot crust and bake at 350 until firm around edges but slightly soft in center, about 30 minutes. Cool in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. Store in refrigerator until ready to serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Chocolate pecan pie bars, courtesy of Amy’s mom

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    They look wonderful. Kind of like a pecan butter tart but in bar form. πŸ™‚

  2. Carolyn Chan says:

    Looks so darn good !

  3. Yuri says:

    Pecan and chocolate together. Oh my!

  4. Amy says:

    Aw shucks, guys, you’re so sweet giving me a shout-out πŸ™‚ thank u! I have to say that your addition of bourbon probably makes this even better than the ones I made…good thinking πŸ˜‰ I hope you enjoyed ’em!

    • Amy says:

      Oh and P.S.- mine looked like they were smoother on top and stackable because my pics were taken with frozen bars πŸ˜‰ I didn’t have time to take them the day I made them but they were equally as gooey…but not too wet to eat with your hands πŸ™‚

      • katherine says:

        They looked so cool that way. We loved these and so did our guests, served them at a wine tasting party before Christmas. (Yes, we get behind/ahead on posts!)

  5. These do look good! And some of my favorite ingredients – chocolate and pecans! Perhaps when I’m off my fruit kick!

  6. Melodie says:

    these look really good! Nice work!

  7. Kristy says:

    Brandy and pecans sound like a good combo to me. πŸ™‚

  8. BrainRants says:

    It has bourbon, must be awesome.

  9. Maureen says:

    ay yi yi… first day back and you offer me these?? How will I ever keep my resolve on eating healthier? I couldn’t resist these if they were on a plate near me! No way. They look delicious.

    Amy’s mom is my hero πŸ™‚

  10. I do know Amy, and I know of all the secrets in her mum’s recipe box. I want them! I think the bourbon is a welcome addition πŸ™‚

  11. An excellent recipe, as long as there’s enough bourbon for the baker as well as the baked goods. You know, so both can be Baked by the end of the episode.

  12. Sticky, nutty, bourboney…..perfect!

  13. Tandy says:

    oh wow, a sucrose free recipe I can try for sure πŸ™‚

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    Yes, the one thing wrong with the chocolate-pecan-bourbon pie was the delivery system. Being hand-held, even if a bit sticky, these bars will resolve that problem once and for all. Great recipe!

  15. Charles says:

    Duuuude, you’re evil. Evil, evil, evil. I’ve been wanting to go back to this adorable American coffee shop I found in Paris for a while because they make pecan slices a bit like this. First time I tried one I nearly fainted, they were so freaking good.

    Any idea if I can just sub sugar for corn syrup? We don’t get that stuff in Europe (nor Hershey’s either, thank God, but that’s an easy substitution with some delicious Swiss Lindt πŸ˜‰ )

  16. Oh, man pecan pie is my favorite and now you’ve added some chocolate! I’m literally so excited to bake some. I just love how they are into “pre-portioned” bar sizes! However, once I get a hold of these yummies, I’m guessing it will be tempting to stop at just one bar! πŸ™‚

  17. These are a “must” make!
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  18. niasunset says:

    WOW! Can I have some… You are amazing. Thank you, Have a nice day and weekend for you both, with my love, nia

  19. spicegirlfla says:

    Oh you naughty girl, Katherine! Have you not heard that everyone is watching their calories after all that holiday splurging?? And here you go with this little sinful treat!! Twist my arm tho and I’ll take a bite or two…especially with your little tweaks, I definitely approve and like!!!

    • katherine says:

      You know what I messed up the crust. It held together, but I had a brain lapse and used half the butter, doh. So they were practically healthy Linda!

  20. zestybeandog says:

    WOW, looks fantastic and I love the portion size!

  21. spree says:

    The addition of bourbon, maple syrup and dark (very dark!) chocolate sounds awfully good to me! Nicely done, improv, Katherine!

  22. TasteFood says:

    These look delicious!

  23. Mmmmmm….did I mention Mmmmmmm. They look like they would melt in your mouth. I definitely want to be your neighbour!

  24. Courtney says:

    Yum! And I love the idea of dark chocolate and bourbon added. Lots of interesting flavor combos.

  25. Oh, wow. Wowwowwow…I’m in love.
    Will have to put this in the ‘try it soon’ file!

  26. These look fabulous!

  27. JamieAnne says:

    Those look so tasty. I almost licked my screen. Almost.

  28. Hehehe…you never have chocolate chips on hand, and I never have bourbon! These look delicious and might well warrant buying a bottle! πŸ™‚

  29. I may have fallen asleep last night.. but I know I wasn’t going to miss this post.. especially since it’s chocolate :). Katherine I LOVE THIS. Never cared for pecans but I can take them out right? Love it.

  30. oh this just brought back so many memories of my late grandmother. She was queen of all things pecan as she had a large property with literally 30 or more pecan trees on them. I grew up picking pecans ! These bars look amazing

  31. ceciliag says:

    Of course most importantly you could not go 10 minutes without putting the bourbon in SOMETHING! Oh these look really good. I tried to grow a pecan tree, twice actually. Won’t do it out here. Love these, have fun .. or at least have more fun!! c

  32. I love bourbon in any recipe. It just adds that special touch and tastes great, too. I must try these.

  33. I love Amy’s site and these bars look fantastic… meanwhile, had to smile about the snowflakes line… we just got 20 cm (close to 8 inches!! No outdoor grilling for this girl 😦 ) I will say though, that it’s extraordinarily beautiful outside right now.

  34. wow! amazing! can’t wait to make these.

  35. Love how you added bourbon into the mix. These look so tempting!

  36. nancyc says:

    Those look so good! It’s been awhile since I’ve made pecan pie bars…these sound great with the chocolate!

  37. These would make me VERY HAPPY!

  38. Karen says:

    Pecans, chocolate and bourbon…sounds great to me.

  39. rsmacaalay says:

    Those pecan pies looks so divine! I think I can eat a dozen of those easily.

  40. peasepudding says:

    They look amazing, I could just enjoy o e this coffee right now.

  41. SimpleP says:

    Those look so good!

  42. How do you say “pecan”? It is much debated down in Dixie, but any way you say it is good. These bars look amazingly wonderful. Thanks for sharing this recipe. T

  43. Stef says:

    Pecan pie in bar form – delicious. And dangerous…

  44. Pingback: Birthday Chocolate Pecan Pie Bars « Zestybeandog's Blog

  45. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  46. Pingback: O Christmas Treats! | bake me away!

  47. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  48. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.