Brownie parfaits with chocolate mint sauce

Sure you could share one with someone else if you really wanted to

Since Monday is Labor Day in the good old U.S. of A, we thought we’d make a dessert that doesn’t require much effort and can serve a crowd. Sure it calls for brownies, but we suspect there may be some lurking in the back of your freezer. Or is that just us? Oh and we just know those of you with ice cream makers (lucky dogs) will want to whip those out. So maybe it’s as much work as you make it. But it sure beats going to work.

Brownie Parfaits

  • Brownies (about one per person)
  • ice cream (we like mint chocolate chip, two scoops please)
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 4.25 ounce bar of dark chocolate
  • 10-12 mint leaves

In a two-quart pan over low heat warm milk and mint leaves until the mint is infused, about 10 minutes. Be careful not to boil the milk and not to let a skin form. Meanwhile in the top half of a double broiler over simmering water, melt chocolate and butter. Once melted and when the milk is all minty, pour the milk into the double broiler. Whisk until incorporated and the syrup has just thickened, about five minutes.

To assemble parfaits layer chunks of brownies and scoops of ice cream in parfait glasses. Drizzle with syrup. Repeat as needed.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Brownie parfaits with chocolate mint sauce

  1. sallybr says:

    Let me get this right… did you just call me a lucky dog? 😉

  2. nrhatch says:

    Brownies and chocolate and mint . . . oh, my!

    Happy Labor Day!

  3. Parfait is just the way to celebrate an extra day off I say.
    ….my freezer is clearly lacking…it’s brownie-less.

  4. Ha! Like the dessert and the rickrolling of ice cream maker owners!

  5. Sounds a delicious dessert – perfect for a day when you haven’t got to go to work.

  6. We don´t have Labour Day here but what the hell, I´m going to make a couple of these and celebrate with you anyway!

  7. Sissi says:

    It sounds and looks fantastic. I love the mint flavour combined with chocolate, so I’m sure the syrup is perfect with brownies.

  8. We don’t celebrate Labor Day here so could you please enjoy one of these on my behalf please.
    Have a happy weekend.
    🙂 Mandy

  9. kat says:

    OMG that looks sooo good!! Bye bye skinny jeans lol 😦

  10. Wait – you actually have browines left over to FREEZE? That’s the one sweet I’ve never scaled-down, or frozen half a batch of… Hubby swears he’s ‘not really a fan’, and yet they disappear…must be fairies, or something.
    Love the sauce recipe – I can see this one getting drizzled on all kinds of things…

  11. Charles says:

    I can’t believe you just rickrolled us! 😀 lol, Great looking parfaits Greg (what’s the difference between a sundae and a parfait actually?) I love mint choc chip ice-cream… my absolute favourite and brownies and sauce… heaven!

  12. Stef says:

    Love the sentiment that this recipe is as much work as one chooses to make it; such is the case with so many things in life! I hope you choose to have a relaxed holiday. 🙂

  13. rutheh says:

    Butter, dark chocolate, ice cream? If I had it in the house I would eat it right now for breakfast!
    YUM

  14. Brownies, ice cream and chocolate sauce – what more could you want? And MINT chocolate sauce at that! This will be dessert Friday when our friends are coming to dinner – if I can wait that long!

  15. Thanks! This one is going into my culinary arsenal for that WOW factor. My group of misfits with salt, spicy hot peppers & vinegar pallets need some sweetening up and this should do the job.

  16. ceciliag says:

    Very pretty and very scrummy, Love those glasses. I hope you have a great labour day I mean Labor Day. c

  17. I’ve been craving ice cream for days and resisting… but now it seems I’m meant to give in! Yummy!

  18. JamieAnne says:

    Looks great! Have a super weekend Greg and Katherine!

  19. Amy says:

    uhhhhhh, yes please.

  20. Rachel says:

    How absolutely *parfait*! I’m a mint-chocolate girl myself… mmmmmm!! Is anyone here a fan of Bluebell ice cream besides me? I actually visited their plant last year – it was worth the drive for the samples! (grin)

    Safe and happy weekend!

  21. Judy says:

    One parfait, two spoons, one romantic afternoon … love this!

  22. ChgoJohn says:

    Ice cream, brownies, chocolate-mint sauce. You guys are killing me! What a great combination!

  23. Christina says:

    Well hello Brownie Parfaits! This looks great for Labor Day. I might need to get out my ice cream maker and make this happen! 😉

  24. ambrosiana says:

    This is not fair!! I can get great gelato here but brownies are like ET food in Italy!!! At least in Rome!! Simply delicious!!! Lovely photo!!

  25. TasteFood says:

    I will happily eat this on a holiday or any day.

  26. Colline says:

    This is so decadent! And worthy of indulging in any time of the year!

  27. easybaked says:

    AH! MUST try the mint sauce– these look SO good!!!!! 🙂

  28. rsmacaalay says:

    Holy guacamole batman! I so love that dessert, good its getting warmer here so I can enjoy cold desserts like that wonderful parfait.

  29. Share? are you kidding?

  30. Did someone say chocolate? I know I wasn’t missing this post, no matter how busy I’ve been :). I’m not a huge mint person, but that won’t stop me from partaking in this delicious Brownie parfait. I love this

  31. Kelly says:

    hee-hee, love the idea of brownies lurking at the back of the freezer – where all the good stuff goes. The mint sounds great.

  32. niasunset says:

    Yummy! I would like to have one of them, dear Rufus 🙂 Happy Day, Thank you, with my love, nia
    (By the way I am a cat lover BUT I love DOGS too! )

  33. Them’s some dangerously good looking deserts!

  34. I saw this the other day and had to wait to comment until I had just eaten. I am such a nut over sweets and could totally live on them. This is the best looking dessert I have seen in a long time. I could eat this 3 times a day!

  35. Gosh I love mint and chocolate combined! Looks so delicious!

  36. ....RaeDi says:

    That is a wonderful idea of putting the mint in the milk…. RaeDi

  37. canalcook says:

    These look great,I’ll have to whip these out at a dinner party soon

  38. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Espresso Brownie Parfaits « Cityhippyfarmgirl

  39. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Just in Time for Labor Day | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.