Time to make the ravioli

And begin

I’ve always considered ravioli a treat. I used to ask my mom to make these for me on my birthday. Making ravioli by hand is fairly easy, although it can be time consuming. The dough is a simple pasta dough and the filling can be almost anything that floats your boat.

That said, there are a few special ingredients and tools required. For the dough, you will need semolina flour, which can be found at most health food stores with a bulk section. To roll out the dough, you will need a long wooden rod about 1/2″ in diameter. This can be found two ways. Any high-end cooking store will have a long specially designed, extremely expensive tapered rolling stick. Or you can go to any hardware store and buy a 1/2″ diameter wooden dowel that is about 3 1/2-4 feet long for far less and that works just as well. Your decision. To cut out the ravioli you can also buy fancy special cutters or use a drinking glass dipped in flour to make the cuts and a fork to seal the edges. The fancy cutters do it all in one step, which is helpful. (My wife put the ones pictured below in my Christmas stocking one year.)

For the dough, measure out four cups semolina flour on a large stable flat surface. Form into a mound with a well in the center much like children, and some adults, do with their mashed potatoes. In the well crack two eggs and beat until smooth. Add a pinch of salt and bring the flour into the egg. Mix well. Slowly add lukewarm water and knead until dough is smooth and elastic.

Smooth like a baby's bum

Divide the dough into three equal pieces.

Which rolling stick did I choose?

Roll out the dough into a circle as thinly and evenly as possible. By moving the position of your hands more or less force can be applied.

Roll it up

Once the dough is a large sheet, roll it up on the rolling stick. With a firm push, roll the stick three to four times across the counter letting the dough flap back and forth. Unroll the dough and turn it a quarter of the way around. Roll it back up on the stick and push it across the counter again. Continue to turn the dough, quarter turn and roll it until it becomes extremely thin.  If the dough gets sticky add a little flour as you go. Repeat with two other pieces of dough.

The filling recipe will be for another day

Space spoonfuls of filling across the dough sheet leaving about 1 1/2 inches between each one.

All tucked in and cozy

Fold the dough over until the filling is evenly covered.

Just a couple hundred to go

Cut out the ravioli and place on a plate or baking sheet dusted with corn meal. Continue to place filling and cut the pasta out until the sheet is done. Much like biscuits take the left over and roll it out again and then stuff it again until all the filling is gone. Any leftover pasta can be sliced into shapes and cooked along with the ravioli, kind of like this. The ravioli can be frozen and cooked later or cooked immediately in boiling salted water. They take about 8 minutes to cook.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, How to, Italian, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to Time to make the ravioli

  1. greg, you make this look so easy! i’ve always wanted to try making homemade ravioli… and i think i smell another culinary experiment around the corner. 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  2. JamieAnne says:

    How awesome! Great post.

  3. nrhatch says:

    Yummy! Here’s a filling you might want to try: sauteed onion, spinach, and feta cheese.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Hand-rolled? I’m impressed and would never try that myself, I can’t wait to see your filling recipe. Great post!

  5. egg me on says:

    REALLY impressive, Greg! Ravioli is a great treat, and yours look awesome. Can’t wait to find out what you put inside them.

  6. Carrie says:

    I’ve never seen a ravioli stamping tool like that- I thought there were only ravioli wheels. Cool!

  7. Love the step by step instructions and the handy tips (agree about the rolling pins!)

  8. Kristy says:

    I saw your title and actually said “Oh Yeah!” out loud. This is what I’m talkin’ about. Fabulous!!!

  9. midaevalmaiden says:

    I made ravioli last year. The HARD way. Why did it not occure to me to fill them first and THEN cut them? I dont know. I vowed never to make ravioli again. Your way makes so much more sense. I may try it one more time.

  10. joshuafagans says:

    Wow, never rolled the dough by hand. Might just have to give it a try now. Love the photos! Nice work.

  11. How I respect that commitment, but I fear the flesh is weak. Just got to give you A for effort, and I bet they’re delicious.

  12. Very impressive – especially the hand rolling. Am ashamed now to admit to using the pasta machine for this. Looking forward to seeing how you made your filling you clever thing!

  13. rutheh says:

    That is the neatest pasta dough making in the universe! Super series. It is the middle of the night and I have no semolina flour but your post inspires me to consider attempting making my own ravioli for the first time!

  14. Thank you!
    I love ravioli but I have never made it at home..now I can 🙂
    I can’t wait for the filling recipes

  15. Another fabulous post 🙂

  16. You of course make something that is NOT easy look simple!!!! This must be so delicious!

  17. fatisrecipes says:

    Oooooooooo, I’ve been wanting to make my own pasta since … over like 3 months ago!
    But I’ve watched on TV that it’s a lot harder to use semolina to make pasta than it is to use flour… is that true?

    Thanks for the recipe, now at least I’ve got one that can guarantee me a success – that’s if I ever find the time to do it!!

  18. ericascime says:

    Wow, I am going to have to keep an eye out for a ravioli cutter like that! Looks like so much fun!

  19. Sissi says:

    The most impressive of all your posts! Not only in the terms of your evident excellent ravioli making skills, but also by the step-by-step, perfectly illustrated instructions. As a kitchen tools and accessories’ fan I am amazed by your ravioli cutter. I wouldn’t mind it under my Christmas tree either 😉

  20. “All tucked in and cozy.” Can’t wait to find out what. Great series. I’m sure the secret is in the semolina flour.

  21. You make it look so easy! There’s no doubt these are delicious. Makes me hungry.

  22. ambrosiana says:

    Pasta fatta in casa!!!! Wow!!! Excellent!!

  23. Amy says:

    I’ve always wanted to make ravioli. The closes I got was using wonton skins for the pasta part. I should def give this a go sometime soon…you make it look easy!

  24. Kelly says:

    I’m utterly impressed. I’ve never had the patience to make my own pasta but this is really grand. I love the step by step illustrations and I can only imagine how satisfying the result would be. Love the watch band tan lines 🙂

  25. Super impressive! Beautifully photographed too and I love your pasta cutter.
    Have a happy weekend.
    🙂 Mandy

  26. I love your step-by-step photos! Very impressive!

  27. spicegirlfla says:

    Great recipe! your dough looks so supple and perfectly prepared. Other than cooking classes, I’ve not made homemade pasta dough. Looking forward to your filling recipe!!

  28. Judy says:

    This just went on my bucket list. 🙂

  29. Fantastic post! I saw the opening picture and knew you were up to something good. Love the additional pictures as well.

  30. Ginger says:

    You have out done yourself this time! What a brilliant tutorial! Fantastic, well done and exceptional post! Great job to the both of you, I love the ravioli cutters Kathrine! Where you the photographer? Cheers and happy Friday!!

    • katherine says:

      Hi Ginger, Yes, I took the photos. Greg helped me set them up, I’m trying to become more proficient with his camera a huge Nikon D200 that has always intimidated me. The ravioli was a surprise too, my sister was visiting and we went over to Memphis without Greg. I knew he was up to something because we don’t normally have ricotta in the house and he bought some. Anyway, he called when we were headed back and asked if I could help him with a how-to post. I hung up and about 15 minutes later, yelled “He’s making ravioli!” I think half the Delta heard!

  31. These ravioli look pillow soft! Yum! I’m jealous because I have nowhere near the counter space I need to properly make my own pasta.

  32. Very, very good post.

  33. TasteFood says:

    Great how-to, Greg. You make it easy – thanks.

  34. Amazing! My son-in-law asked me how to make ravioli a month or so ago, and I had to admit I’d never done it from scratch – like Amy, I’ve only used wonton skins… I’ve already given the kids a ‘heads-up’ about your tutorial.
    Not sure I’m brave enough to try it myself…

  35. Andrea says:

    These look fabulous! I am working up the nerve for my next ravioli go-round to make my own pasta – but supposedly it’s done with an eggless pasta dough.

    You have inspired me!

  36. Joanne says:

    This is fantastic! I’ve never made fresh ravioli like this, I cheated and used wonton wrappers LOL. I will try this though!

  37. This is on my list of things to do and I swear your recipe sounds and looks so amazing that when I get around to it I am using your recipe! Will link it back to you so everyone realizes what a genius you are! It looks incredible- great job

  38. I haven’t made raviolis in so long. Now I can’t figure out why. I use one of those hand-crank machines, not electric, to roll out the dough. I didn’t even know people do this part by hand. You have inspired me to get back to my pasta machine.

  39. Courtney says:

    I love your ravioli tool! May have to get one of those for Hubs – cuz I don’t think I’m quite up to homemade raviolis yet. 🙂

  40. Charles says:

    No fair Greg, I wanted to see a picture of the “cut” ravioli (or even one after being cooked)! Looks beautiful. Despite constantly wanting to I *still* haven’t got around to making my own pasta. Maybe I should do that first before venturing onto ravioli. Looking forward to seeing the filling recipe too!

  41. Rachel says:

    So pretty… and what a cool tool! I have a little “roller” that looks like a small pizza cutter with a crimped edge, but this, well, this is truly nifty! Where did you get it?

  42. Korena says:

    I’ve always been too chicken to roll pasta dough out by hand, but you make it look easy. And delicious!

  43. Yuri says:

    wow, homemade AND hand-rolled pasta… I’m impressed 🙂

  44. I love your ravioli. I haven’t had homemade ravioli in such a long time. I love this. Have you ever heard of fried ravioli? I had it once and it was delish!

  45. Karen says:

    Really enjoyed the post and your series of photos.

  46. Jenni says:

    This post is moving me to make homemade pasta. I’ve never thought of giving it a try because it seems that I am crazy busy all of the time. But, I’m going to do it!

    It looks delicious.

    Jenni

  47. These look delicious! I enjoy the instructional vision of the hands….how about a video of u or Katherine showing us how to do it live? 😉

  48. I love the first photo of your hands, you look like you are excited to get started! I don’t know how you do it, but you sure make this recipe look simple. I bet they tested as good as they look. Where did you get the ravioli cutter? It’s so adorable!

    • Katherine’s pretty sure she got me those at Williams and Sonoma. They were a Christmas present one year. Nothing beats the year we were shopping and she told the person not to bag my gift and instead put it in her purse so I wouldn’t see it. That particular gift a wusthof meat cleaver. I can imagine her explaining to security, but I have the receipt!

      • Great, I’ll go check out W&S. I can just picture that the sales lady must have had a laugh! Good thing security didn’t ask to see what’s in her bag! lol

  49. Alli says:

    I love homemade ravioli too, but it certainly it a treat as you say for the time it make to do it. I’m very I’m impressed you roll the dough by hand rather than through a pasta machine.

  50. rsmacaalay says:

    You make things look easy to make, I never had done one of this before but looks like I wanna try now

  51. onewomaninaricefield says:

    Ravioli IS easy to make! It’s a bit time consuming, but it’s definitely not hard. Gnocchi is the same way. Have you made that yet? Every once in a while I invite a bunch of girls over and we spend an afternoon just making batch after batch of gnocchi. At the end of the day we split the cost of ingredients and the gnocchi between us all. Makes it go much faster. Next time I’ll try it with ravioli.

  52. Holly says:

    Wow there look amazing. Love the cutter tool too

  53. Ravioli! They look amazing! And so simple… hopefully when I finish the college next year in Florence I will b an expert…so we can share tips:)

  54. SimpleP says:

    Wow. That’s impressive. Beautiful dough, great tutorial. Looking forward to the second half of the show!

  55. Pingback: Shrimp and mushroom filling for ravioli | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  56. Carolyn Chan says:

    Greg I bought a pasta maker ages ago and used a recipe that made it very difficult to knead. I love my ravioli to be really thin and don’t trust my rolling pin skills – do you think I could use your dough recipe and roll it through the pasta maker ?

  57. This is an excellent blog post for someone like me that has never attempted ravioli. When I get near a W Sonoma store I’ll have to pick up that tool. Thanks for sharing!

  58. It always seems so simple enough, but I am too nervous to make my own ravioli. I tried making some mezzaluna once before and that did not turn out all that well 😦

  59. niasunset says:

    Dear Rufus and Katherina, to be hones, I have never thought to make homemade ravioli, even we have “Mantı” similar with yours, but your photographs and explanations how made me to try once… You are amazing. Yes, I know now, you are inspirational Kitchen Chefs… I want to search these ravoili stamps, I hope I can find. And then, will come back again with mine 🙂 Thank you, with my love, nia

  60. Jenny liu says:

    Dumpling!!! my favorite food! Thanks for sharing~~

  61. Mel says:

    Me likes this post! Katherine, I love that you put these cutters into Greg’s stocking – that is a fantastic stocking gift. And Greg – your blog has me hungry, as usual (though only a mere 30 minutes have passed since my significant Italian dinner this evening!) – and things always look deceptively easy on your blog!

  62. Pingback: Wonton with Sundried Tomato & Basil Sauce | Suburban Foodie Original | Suburban Foodie

  63. Pingback: Ravioli dei Bartolini | from the Bartolini kitchens

  64. petit4chocolatier says:

    You and Chicago John have it going with the homemade pasta and cheese!! Actually everything Italian!!

  65. Pingback: Ravioli, Tortelli, Mezzalune, a Marriage | Gourmandistan

  66. Pingback: Rufus Reruns: Ravioli from Scratch | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  67. A_Boleyn says:

    Making ravioli is so time consuming but worth it. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.