Fuzzy screwdrivers

Picture a beach in the background

Screwdriver too boring? Fuzzy naval too fruity? Why not combine the two?

Fuzzy Screwdriver

  • Fresh orange juice
  • 1/2 ounce vodka
  • 1 ounce peach schnapps
  • 1 tbsp pureed peach (optional)

In an eight-ounce tumbler combine liquors and puree, stir to incorporate. Add ice and fill with fresh orange juice.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Fuzzy screwdrivers

  1. I bet this would make one helluva pool-side popsicle or slushie…. maybe with a little mint and one of those little umbrellas. Can you tell I need a vacation?! :)

  2. rutheh says:

    Great post to see on my last day of vacation. MMMMM.
    And the corks in the tray under are way cool. Did you make it? I saw an ad for a wooden frame for a bulletin board, a tray or a trivet in the SKY MALL magazine once, you fill them up with wine corks. With so many screw on lids and plastic corks it might be more difficult to collect the proper corks.

  3. Bartender I’ll take 6 please!

  4. Can I drop by for cocktail hour?

  5. I needed a screwdriver earlier today but not this kind lol.

  6. You’re determined that we should all partake of the falling down water – looks delicious.

  7. Holly says:

    It’s not even 8am. This looks like breakfast – awesome!

  8. Sissi says:

    I am ashamed to say I have never had the famous Screwdriver. I should start with the basics then and afterwards move to your lovely modified version! (Now I know thanks to your peach margarita, puréed peach was definitely created to be a part of cocktails!).

  9. Delicious – especially with the peach!

  10. Love the combination! You did it again!

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    If it gets the adults to eat more fruit, then I’m all for it.

  12. Looks cool and refreshing! Cheers!

  13. Kelly says:

    Love the cork tray. Vodka? possibly in my next life :) This is a really neat idea – I particularly like the addition of peach puree to give it a true, natural taste. The other night I ordered a virgin strawberry marg at a Mexican resto (I was driving home from the lake), fully expecting it to be garbage. Well, to my utter surprise, it was made with strawberry puree (frozen strawberries) and one of the best drinks I’ve ever had!

  14. Okay, I’d probably drink vodka if it were mixed with peach. The traditional screwdriver tastes too harsh for me! I’ve also tagged you to play the “Seven Link Challenge” over on my blog! Hope you can join in!

  15. egg me on says:

    I’m not usually a fan of fuzzy navels, but this combo looks great. I’ll have to try it!

  16. Lea Ann says:

    I just stopped by to let you know that the Shitake mushroom/goat cheese/caper on bread recipe was a huge hit at my party last night. Every one raved. Great recipe and thanks for sharing it.

  17. Karen says:

    Yes please, I’d like one! :-)

  18. spicegirlfla says:

    Yet another perfect combination! Fuzzy is too navel orange for me and I’m definitely a peach lover; sounds like a great brunch drink! Like maybe this weekend…

  19. TasteFood says:

    I’ll definitely take mine fuzzy.

  20. Yummy. I like mine fuzzy too :). Is that a cork table you have/made in your house?

  21. JamieAnne says:

    I love peach drinks! Yum!

  22. Caroline says:

    We literally have TWO large Ziploc bags of corks and a full cork holder sitting at my house (can you tell I come from a family of winos?) I’ve been wanting to use them to make something, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m thinking your cork board looks pretty dang awesome. Oh, and that drink is great too. :)

  23. nrhatch says:

    Yum! And the trivet looks terrific. :D

  24. Awesome!! I could really use one of these right now ;)

  25. My book club, which also happens to be pseudo drinking club, would love this. How refreshing in the throes of summer.

  26. Kristy says:

    I haven’t had a screwdriver or fuzzy navel in AGES! This looks tasty and of course, I love the hot plate. :)

  27. Yudith says:

    Oh yum! I need this for tomorrow…

  28. Peach puree – yummy. A couple of these and my head will be a bit fuzzy.
    Have a happy weekend. :-) Mandy

  29. Charles says:

    Looks like a great combination. I’ve always love orange and peach (and peach schnapps too… Shh, don’t tell anyone… I’ve been mocked enough in my youth for preferring that over “rawr, BEER!” :)

  30. leadinglight says:

    peach and vodka…mmm

  31. This is my kind of drink! I like the idea of peach puree with the orange juice. I swear you two would make great bartenders, you should open up a bar!

  32. Sounds like a great idea to me. I could sure drink a few of these!

  33. Pingback: Life’s a Peach | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

