Grilled Zucchini with Goat Cheese

I am sure this is less fatty than a Big Mac

This only works with a really soft cheese, which is why I like to use goat cheese. The cream cheese like consistency works into the slices really well and the flavor pairs very well with the sweetness of the zucchini.

Grilled Zucchini with Goat Cheese

  • 2-4 large zucchini
  • 2 tbsp goat cheese per zucchini
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • Olive oil
  • Salt/pepper

Cut long slices down each zucchini without going almost all the way through creating what appears like an open book when pulled apart. Leave the rough base on the end and don’t cut all the way through it while slicing either. Push as much cheese as possible in between slices. Place on a sheet of tin foil, drizzle with olive oil and season with parsley, salt and pepper. Wrap each separately and grill over direct heat until done, about 15 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Grilled Zucchini with Goat Cheese

  1. Maureen says:

    Yummo ! I love goats cheese and paired with zucchini sounds delicious. I like that it can be tossed on the grill while you’re bbqing other things. This is a good one!

  2. The Wookie says:

    Sounds yummy. That’s definitely my next grilled side dish.

  3. What a great and cheesey idea! Delicious!

  4. ChefMom says:

    Now there’s an idea for the leftover goat cheese I have in the fridge. This looks heavenly! I love grilled zucchini – and anything stuffed with cheese. 🙂

  5. charlywalker says:

    This picture made me blush……
    I do love zucchini..it only took me 20 years to spell it correctly…

    Love this!

  6. Amazing recipe!
    I make potatoes like this but with spices instead of goat cheese..
    this looks like a true treat!

  7. Tori says:

    I ❤ me some main-course-worthy zucchini. I am now contemplating whether this can be made with homemade queso fresco.

  8. My mouth is watering! I love grilled zucchini and goat cheese but I’ve never had them together like this. I have to try it sometime! I know it’ll be wonderful! 🙂

  9. Great idea. Looks appetizing!

  10. Great idea – never thought of doing it like this before….you clever thing!

  11. Simplicity always comes out tops – what a great idea and any excuse for Pete to have something more to braai (barbecue) is always good.
    🙂 Mandy

  12. gisellecagli says:

    Where do you get these ideas? Your way of cooking is so Mediterranean! Goat cheese and zucchinis is a winner!!! Loved the parsley addition!!!

  13. Charles says:

    I’ve done a similar thing with eggplant and brie before (or was it camembert, I forget…). Wouldn’t have thought to try it on zucchini though – must give it a try. I love the stripy effect too – looks like a new species of vegetable or something! 😀

  14. fatisrecipes says:

    Wow. This is a really interesting dish. Never seen/heard of it before. I’m not a zucchini fan, but I’m sure the family would love to try it.

    Thanks for sharing and exposing me to recipes that I don’t know of! 😀

  15. This looks so good! Goat cheese is the best!

  16. SimpleP says:

    That recipe will turn anyone into a veggie eater 🙂 Can never have too many zucchini recipes, and that’s an original one I’ve never seen before.

  17. jenlenew says:

    ahh this looks so good! i love goat cheese!

  18. spicegirlfla says:

    I could just imagine how creamy tasting this will be! This is my style of food! I’m going to add this to my weekend grilling plans. Great idea!

  19. Another great idea for all that garden zucchini.

  20. WALSTIB says:

    Looks good! Summer squash are starting to roll in at the farmers market, and it wont be long before I’ve got more than I know what to do with. I’ll be referring to your guide for help, so keep the summer squash ideas coming.

  21. Kelly says:

    Greg, your production is simply staggering! This is so cool… I would have never thought of massaging zucchini with goat cheese – and that it would produce a successful result – you continue to amaze!

  22. eva626 says:

    o0o that looks good! i dont like cheese. but do you think yogurt will do?

  23. Oh i can just taste the amazing flavors of the goat cheese with the sweetness of the grilled zuc! Wow, what an amazing side dish or just main dish in my opinion.

  24. ChgoJohn says:

    What a great idea! It looks like it’s time to pull out the rennet and make another batch of goat cheese. I can’t wait!

  25. myblogject says:

    Looks bloody lovely. I love goats cheese. I like courgettes too. Not sure about a zucchini though hehe 😉

  26. nrhatch says:

    Looks like you crammed a bit more than 2 tablespoons of goat cheese into that zucchini’s pages. 😉

    The more cheese the merrier . . . .

  27. ....RaeDi says:

    Amazing, looks good….RaeDi

  28. niasunset says:

    Seems so delicious 🙂

  29. My mom’s garden is bursting with Zucchinis. I can’t wait to try this new to me, and fabulous way to prepare them. YUM!

  30. Caroline says:

    Ommm simple and delicious–my favorite kind of recipe. Also, weird fact, I had a dream last night that all of us bloggers had some sort of convention where we all made our best dish, hung out, etc. It was pretty fun haha.

  31. Cool! Love zucchini, love goat cheese, wondering why I hadn’t thought of this myself!

  32. Greg, this is brilliant! I bet you could do the same thing with a small eggplant (Japanese eggplant or a small Italian eggplant). I’m growning zucchini and eggplant in my garden and can’t wait to try your recipe when my veggies come in!
    I’ll slice zucchini real thin, lightly grill it and sprinkle it with crumbled feta cheese or spread some ricotta cheese and roll them up with a tooth pick for a healthy snack/appetizer. Love simple healthy recipes!

  33. karencooking says:

    I will definitely try this . . . looks delicious!

  34. Young Wifey says:

    Haha, looks like you did grilled zucchini too!

  35. This looks great! I am not a huge zucchini fan, though I use the veggie in many dishes; this seems like a great way to prepare it. I love goat cheese! Thanks again for stopping by my blog too.

    • Someone else suggested Japanese eggplant if you don’t like zucchini. I’ve found with vegetables, after a certain point you just know what you don’t like. My wife will not eat cauliflower no matter how it’s cooked.

  36. Mmm, what a mouth-watering concept! I adore roasted zucchini, so with the smoky char of the flame, I can only image that grilled zucchini is that much better. Must try this with meltable vegan cheese. 🙂

  37. It’s zucchini! It has to be good for you! 😉

  38. ....RaeDi says:

    I love zucchini! Any way you use it, this looks good enough to eat….RaeDi

  39. Oh wow- do you think this would go well with Feta?

  40. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow what a really tasty veggie treat, I can make this easily tommorow for dinner, lucky to have those ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing will do pair this with some grilled meat.

  41. This looks awesome! A must for summer grilling!

  42. koshercorvid says:

    I tried this with some leftover Mizithra cheese and roasted garlic last night, with a sprinkling of bread crumbs on top. My husband actually ate them instead of his lamb-stuffed pita (his second-favorite Mediterranean dish) and we have declared this dish the new, healthier hasselback. Yum!

  43. Yuri says:

    So beautiful 😀 can we call this “hasselback zucchini”? I’ve always wanted to make hasselback potatoes but the zucchinis are more appealing to me. Thanks for sharing!

  44. Inspire says:

    Never occurred to me to do this — it sounds like it would be fanatastic! We just happen to have some zucchini, and a huge log of herbed chevre in the fridge, so guess what I’m making tomorrow?!

  45. ericascime says:

    I have bookmarked about a million grilled zucchini recipes in the past week or so and have not yet made one of them! However, this looks and sounds too good to be true so I’m going to have to get off my ass and make it! Thank you!

  46. Pingback: Baked Falafel + WIAW | Sprint 2 the Table

  47. Korena says:

    Great idea, I love zucchini! I usually halve it, top it with olive oil, parmesan and basil, and then broil it, but next time I’m doing this…

  48. PhobicFoodie says:

    oh wow. i’m definitely trying this soon!

  49. Pingback: Seven Links (and then some) Challenge | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.