In Our Kitchen: Sweet Potatoes

They need to age

They need to age

The garlic came in the mail so it was time to pull the sweet potatoes. Although they did yield a pretty good harvest I will not plant them again unless there is an isolated space for them to grow. I thought mint was invasive but sweet potatoes take the cake. Anyway they have to age for a month or so before trying so they should be ready in time for Thanksgiving.

When will Kohls stop paying me to shop there

When will Kohls stop paying me to shop there?

Speaking of the mail, Kohls sent another $10 dollar coupon in the mail so once again we searched the store for items under that amount. I got a new candy thermometer and coasters in the clearance aisle for free this time. When will they require a purchase of at least $11 to use the coupon?

That is a big pot

That is a big pot

Whole chicken went on sale so it was time to stock up, butcher it up and make stock.

Used up quite a few

Used up quite a few

A coworker unloaded a mess of pears on Katherine and even after making jam and a few other things there are still quite a few left. What to do what to do?

To get a peek inside other bloggers’ kitchens hop on over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for her monthly roundup.

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in How to, Rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to In Our Kitchen: Sweet Potatoes

  1. Francesca says:

    Lovely big stockpot, perfect for your seasonal change.

  2. My Kitchen Stories says:

    Pears how lovely. Tart, cake?. Jam would be great what about chutney?. I’ve never grown any kind of potatoe but I hear that as you say sweet potatoes are out of control

  3. That’s a huge pot!!! What a beauty.

  4. Hehehe…my neighbour planted sweet potatoes in his back patch a few years ago and he’s still pulling them out now! And is there anything better than homemade stock? 🙂

  5. Love Sweet potatoes. We actually eat more of them than the white these days.Those pears look delicious too.

  6. Kim Bultman says:

    Greg & Katherine, your stock pot full of simmering goodness is so appealing. (So is whatever’s next to it in the pan on your stove!) Poached pears with wine & spices would be a lovely way to use up some of your bounty; I serve mine over slices of flourless chocolate cake. 🙂 FYI, Maureen (Orgasmic Chef) has a “Baked Pears in Puff Pastry” recipe you might like, too. Thanks for the tip on “invasive” sweet taters!

  7. Lovely, lovely pears. I’d make a quick pear crumble – just peel and core (no pre-cooking) or, cook them down to a thick pear paste (cheese) to have with cheese.

  8. Kirsty says:

    Oooooo I love pear. What about baking pear halves until soft, drizzle with butterscotch sauce and nestle next to vanilla ice cream? Just saying. 🙂 🙂

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    My friend T gets those coupons too, crazy that there isn’t a minimum purchase. I had no idea sweet potatoes needed to age, why I wonder…must ask Google! Pear jam sounds wonderfulreminds me I need to make new stock!

  10. SeattleDee says:

    Sweet potatoes need aging? hmmmm, never knew that, but haven’t grown any either. I love pear season to fill the freezer with small loaves of sourdough ginger pear quick bread and a few batches of chutney.
    http://otm-inthegalley.blogspot.com/2013/10/sourdough-ginger-pear-quick-bread.html

  11. ladyredspecs says:

    There is nothing better than homemade stock, you have the perfect pot for it

  12. Gretchen says:

    I’ve been there with too many pears. We have two trees and can never use them all up, even with the boys eating them right off the tree still rock hard!

  13. caramelised pears in a walnut, blue cheese and rocket salad is delish! i didn’t know sweet potatoes were invasive, nor that they took a month to mature. have fun with them.

Leave a Reply

